Monday, December 30, 2013

Review: Pieces For You by Genna Rulon


Title: Pieces For You (For You #2)
Author: Genna Rulon
Source: Received from author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:

Samantha Whitney survived unimaginable tragedy only to discover she had been betrayed by a man who claimed to love her. Shattered, Sam spends months at a safe haven trying to piece herself back together. Ready or not, the time has come for her to return home.

As Sam struggles to resume a life that no longer feels familiar, she finds unwavering support in an unexpected, familiar face. Confronting Sam’s raw emotions and open wounds head-on, Griffin manages to take two steps forward for every step she retreats.

But when Sam is once again threatened, Griffin must decide how far he is willing to go to protect the woman he wants…knowing the cost of her safety is the risk of losing her.

Pieces For You is a captivating journey of survival, healing, and sacrifice—teeming with honesty, humor, unexpected twists, and love’s unsurpassed endurance.begin to plague Sam, it is Griffin she is forced to turn to.


 

Review:





Pieces For You is the second book in the For You series by Genna Rulon. I was really looking forward to reading this, and it's just as good as the first – maybe even better! It's a New Adult book that follows Sam – who was brutally raped in the first book. This book focuses on Sam's rehabilitation and on the difficulties of starting a new relationship after you've been raped.

With how well written this book is, you would think that either A – The author is a rape victim herself, B – the author is a therapist, or C – the author did a whole lot of research. The way Sam deals with everything seems pretty spot-on to me, though I can't say for sure since I haven't dealt with her situation. Sam has a lot of growth throughout the book. She's a great, strong character and her story is inspiring.

Sam's relationship with Griffin was so sweet. During the first book, he had a crush on her so it was nice to have Sam see him in a new way in this story. She was dating someone else in the first book and didn't really see Griffin in that way. He is so sweet and gentle with Sam. He is perfect for her. He forces her to take things nice and slow. Once things do take off between them, it's pretty sexy and swoon-worthy. Oh, and I liked how the author added in some scenes from Griffin's point of view. I always love to see what the guy is thinking.

Just like in the first book, there is a lot of mystery and suspense added in with the romance. There is also a nice amount of humor. I really like the author's writing style and can't wait to read more. There is a new character in this book named Meg. I really liked her. She has a mysterious past that I find intriguing and I would like to see her find love. I was thinking that I would love to see a book from her point of view. So... I went stalking on the author's website and found that the next book is about Meg and it will come out in March! I really can't wait!

Visit the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Free eBooks!



**Note - I have no idea how long these will remain free**

Title: Angelfire (Dark Angel #1)
Author: Hanna Peach


They walk among us. With blades and blood magic, they have kept us safe and ignorant − so far.

Earthbound for centuries and ruled by the Elders, these dark angels hunt at night, disappearing to their hidden cities before dawn. Alyxandria is a young angel warrior with a fondness for customized knives and illegal night-races. If only she could overcome the taint of her parents, who abandoned her to become Rogues.

When Alyx saves Israel, a gifted mortal with a past, she is forbidden to see him again. But she can't help herself, drawn to him through their Guardian-bond, an ancient and long-forgotten bond − if he dies, she dies. But why does he need protecting? And from who?

Alyx begins to dig into the Elders' secrets − two thousand years of secrets, which begin with the death of the Archangel Raphael. She is not prepared for what she uncovers. Who can Alyx trust when Good and Evil are no longer clear?

The war for Earth begins.


Free on Amazon or B&N


******************************


 Title: A Taste of You (The Epicurean)
Author: Sorcha Grace


A young food photographer's appetites are awakened when she is swept off her feet by a handsome billionaire gourmand.

Beautiful and talented Catherine Kelly is starting over as a food photographer in Chicago. With her painful past buried in California, she’s focused on her career and is hungry for little else. Until she meets a wealthy bachelor with arresting blue-grey eyes filled with enough tragedy to match her own. William Lambourne is rich, powerful, and gorgeous -- and as talented in the kitchen as he is in the bedroom. From the moment they meet, William is determined to discover the perfect recipe to unlock Cat’s resolve, awaken her senses, and make her his own.

Book 1 in The Epicurean series, A Taste of You will leave you hungry…for more!
 


Free on Amazon and B&N


******************************



 Title: Never Forget (Memories #1)
Author: Emma Hart


New Adult Contemporary Romance - Only intended for readers age 17+ due to sexual situations and strong language.

A city girl.
A small town boy.
A summer they'll never forget.

Spending the summer at her Grammy's in Lilac Bay, Devon, is city girl Alexis 'Lexy' Edwards' idea of hell. That is, until she reconnects with her childhood friend, Jen, and meets Alec Johnson.
Alec is the kind of guy Lexy knows she needs to stay away from. He's the village flirt, ridiculously hot and very dangerous to her self control. But there's a problem – she can't seem to keep him out, even though she knows he'll break her heart.
As Alec slowly strips away Lexy's defences and the two embark on a summer romance she never wanted, their feelings grow to more than either expected. But nothing lasts forever, and reality intrudes.
As her world is shaken to it's core, Lexy's self made prediction comes true when she discovers she's spent six weeks surrounded by secrets. Kept out by her family and the only guy she's ever trusted, she falls apart.
And when Grammy tells her that 'you might not end up where you wanted to be, but you'll always end up where you're meant to be,' she has to figure out if her meant to be is back home in London, or if it's been in Devon the whole time.
 


Amazon and B&N


****************************** 


 Title: Meeting Trouble
Author: Emme Rollins


Sabrina can't believe her luck-she's always dreamed of front row seats to see her favorite band, "Trouble," but when she bumps into lead singer, Rob Burns, and he invites her backstage, she finds herself hoping her luck doesn't run out-and that maybe, just maybe, all her dreams will come true. Full 45,000 word novel from New York Times and USA Today Bestseller Emme Rollins ----- Warning: This title the ultimate fantasy come true when a female fan meets a sexy rock star guitar god with enough pluck to make the g-string on your Stratocaster quiver for days. 


Free on Amazon and B&N


****************************** 


  Title: Indelible Love - Emily's Story (Indelible Love #1)
Author: D.W. Cee


Emily Logan - An adult orphan, foodie, and a believer in happily ever after - gets dumped by Max, her college boyfriend of four years, the night of their graduation, the night he was supposed to propose. Her world shattered, she picks up the pieces when she finds love again with Jake.

Dr. Jake Reid - Successful doctor, loving boyfriend, the one who wants to fulfill Emily's happily ever after - falls in love with Emily at first sight and pushes their relationship fast and furious.

Max Davis - Reserved, indecisive, Emily's first love - believes he let go of his first love for her sake, for all the right reasons. Eighteen months after the break-up, he's ready to win Emily's heart again.

Insecure from her broken relationship, Emily can't fully trust Jake's passion and love for her and struggles between Jake, the man who wants to create a future with her, and Max, the man who wants to relive the past. When both men propose, Emily's indecision causes her to lose her true love. Laugh, cry and cheer for Emily as her relationships unfold through culinary delights that begin in Napa Valley and weaves through eateries in San Francisco, Kyoto, Tokyo, Los Angeles, and Paris. Who she chooses for her happily ever after may surprise you in the end.
 


Free at Amazon and B&N


****************************** 


  Title: Drive Me Crazy (Holland Springs #1)
Author: Marquita Valentine


Twenty-four year old Troublemaker Extraordinaire, Melanie Ann Smith, isn’t asking for much out of life: a house without wheels, to travel further than her home state and her best friend’s older brother, Carter Ambrose. Only three things stand in her way: juggling all of her odd jobs, keeping her daddy from gambling away all of their money and getting Carter to see her as a woman. NASCAR racer, Carter Ambrose, has finally decided to take his doctor’s advice and find a new occupation before another wreck on the track kills him. Only his doctor hadn’t counted on his little sister’s best friend, Melanie Ann Smith, crashing his weeks of solitude with her short skirts and platform heels. And that’s not the least of his problems. His mother has decided that she wants grandchildren and the only woman that's good enough for the job-his ex-fiance. Soon Melanie and Carter agree to a temporary relationship. One with benefits that is mutually satisfying in every way, or so each believes. And just when they are ready admit their feelings, family secrets are exposed, threatening Melanie and Carter's fragile relationship. Will Carter risk it all for love, or will Melanie be left holding the trophy for second place? 




****************************** 


  Title: Fabian (Lords of the Dark Fall #1)
Author: C.A. Nicks


Former ruler and tyrant Fabian meets Tig, a poor potter trying to survive in a land ruled by gangs and warlords...
Once immortal, tyrant and ruler of all he surveyed, Fabian Lucimanticus of the distant planet of Anxur is vanquished in battle and made to take the Dark Fall - an abyss that cycles through time and dimensions. With no idea where in the universe he will land, he endures a thousand years of purgatory, loses his immortality and grows a very unwanted conscience. Now human and alone in a strange time and place, he vows to rise again, find his brother Marcellus, who jumped with him, and regain what he's lost. But first he needs to find a mage strong enough to magic him home. Instead, he gets Tig, a poor potter trying to survive life in a land ruled by warlords and marauding gangs.
When she finds Fabian, naked and disorientated in the desert, Tig's first thought is to turn him into the local warlord to a fate of almost certain death or slavery. Her second thought is that his family might pay a handsome reward for his safe return. But as she grows closer to this confused, displaced warrior, she wonders if she can ever let him go.
Fabian wants only to find his brother, go home, and regain his status and immortality. But his new human conscience and meeting with Tig makes him question everything he ever held dear. Can a tyrant really reform? If he found a mage strong enough to get him home will he go, knowing he would have to leave Tig behind?


Free on Amazon and B&N



****************************** 



  Title: Forbidden Forest (Legends of Regia #1)
Author: Tenaya Jayne


Born in shame. Cast from society. Shape Shifter/Elf hybrid, Forest must fight for any respect she can get. Targeted in her youth by a vampire noble who placed an illegal slave mark on her, she is forced to obey him, no matter what.

Slipping the grip of her master and abandoning the prejudice of Regia, her native world, Forest takes a job on Earth, guarding the portal, using her skills as a warrior to enforce Regia's laws. Now, called home for a black ops mission, Forest must put aside her own prejudice to transport the vampire prince, Syrus, through enemy territory in a time of war.

Prince Syrus, mage and master of the Blood Kata, wants Forest more than he's ever wanted anything. In spite of their mutual mistrust, their attraction cannot be denied. Through the danger of their mission, and the secrets they both keep, it doesn't matter what they feel. Forest is forbidden. 


Free on Amazon and B&N



****************************** 


  Title: Descended (Fallen Guardian Saga #1)
Author: Debra Ann Miller


Destiny has two ways of crushing us…by refusing our wishes…and fulfilling them.

Vie had no idea when she descended into the small town of Newcastle, Wyoming that she’d find herself mesmerized by the mysterious and alluring eyes of one Carter Stone. And Carter believed he knew everyone that lived in his rural town until the day he locked eyes with Vivian Thorne. He couldn’t help but wonder what was different about this girl he had known all of his life.
He was right, Vie was the beautiful young Guardian that had been sent to their world looking for Carter and she did so merged in the vessel of the Thorne girl. Their meeting sparks a passionate romance between the two and soon after they embark on their journey to uncover the secrets of a past that they begin to realize they both shared. Their forbidden connection unleashes a war with disapproving parties and the lovers find themselves on a mission to uncover the truth of their not wholly human existence and their unbreakable bond.

Darkness falls as Lucian returns to settle a score with them and their lives take a thrilling and terrifying turn. The only way for Carter to stop Lucian and save the one he holds most dear is to unlock the secrets of his past and unleash the powers within him. What are the chances that two raindrops, flung from the heavens, will merge on a windowpane? Gotta be fate!

Deeply passionate and extraordinarily suspenseful, Descended captures the struggles between doing what is expected of you and unleashing your destiny, between fulfilling prophecies and desires, between loyalty and love. 


Free on Amazon



****************************** 


 Title: Darkness Awakened (Order of the Blade: Primal Heat Trilogy #1)
Author: Stephanie Rowe



The Calydons are a race of ancient immortals cursed with a dark side. Each Calydon is destined to meet his soul mate, to be so drawn to her that he is unable to resist bonding with her through the rituals of his race...

...but their destiny is to destroy each other and all they care about the moment their bond is complete.

Quinn Masters will stop at nothing to rescue his rogue teammate. To save his blood brother and ensure his brand of justice triumphs, Quinn will break every rule of his kind and partner with the sensuous, courageous woman destined to be his ultimate destruction.

Haunted by a brutal past, Illusionist Grace Matthews will risk everything to save her kidnapped sister, including putting her life in the sinfully capable hands of an immortal warrior whose ravaging kisses and intense passion propel her ruthlessly toward a fateful destiny she can't afford to believe in.


Free on Amazon  
 




Wednesday, December 18, 2013

After Dark Blast & Pre-Order Giveaway!


The AFTER DARK Anthology featuring Gena Showalter's The Darkest Angel and Kait Ballenger's Shadow Hunter is being released in mass market paperback on December 31 and to celebrate we are giving away lots of goodies.


ENTRY RULES:
PLEASE BE SURE TO READ ENTRY RULES COMPLETELY!

In order to enter, you must email a picture, screen shot or attach a copy of your receipt from your purchase of either the MASS MARKET PAPERBACK or MASS MARKET EBOOK version of After Dark

PLEASE NOTE: It MUST be the MASS MARKET format to be eligible for the giveaway.

Email your receipts to kaitballengergiveaway@gmail.com

PRIZE PACKAGES:

GRAND PRIZE:
Two (2) random entrants will each receive a $100.00 gift card to Amazon.

FIRST 10 ENTRANTS:
will receive a giant SWAG pack that contains a signed bookplate plus bookmarks from Gena along with SWAG from 50+ authors, courtesy of Book Monster Promotions.

FIRST 50 ENTRANTS:
will receive a goodie bag from Kait that includes bookmarks, magnets, pens and other goodies.

FIRST 500 ENTRANTS:
will receive the first chapter of Immortal Hunter, Book #2 in Kait's Execution Underground series for an exclusive peek.

You have until 1/10/14 to purchase your Mass Market edition and submit your receipt. Winners will be announced by 1/15/14.


AFTER DARK
Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Harlequin HQN (December 31, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 037377852X
ISBN-13: 978-0373778522


A Timeless Seduction
A Unique Temptation
And a Whole World of Dark Desires…

From New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter….
The Darkest Angel

Winged warrior Lysander has been alive for centuries, and yet he's never known desire—until he meets Bianka. Spawned from the bloodline of his enemy, the beautiful but deadly Harpy is determined to lead the untouched Lysander into temptation. He may try to evade her attempts, but even the most iron-willed demon assassin can resist for only so long….
And from debut author Kait Ballenger….
Shadow Hunter

Vampire hunter Damon Brock's newest assignment with the Execution Underground is Rochester, New York, a city crawling with the undead. But he isn't the only hunter in town gunning for vamp blood. Tiffany Solow is fierce and ruthless when it comes to slaying the monsters that destroyed her family—and she works solo. But being alone is no longer an option when she meets the mysterious hunter who wants more than just her turf. Forced to unite against the local covens, the line between good and evil blurs when they must decide between their lifelong beliefs…and their newfound desires.

MASS MARKET EDITION AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER NOW:





Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Book Blitz and Giveaway: That One Summer by C.J. Duggan


That One Summer by C.J. Duggan (Summer #3)
Publication date: December 17th 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Loving Chris Henderson would be wrong. Diabolically disastrous. I mean, what is there about him to love? He’s moody, bossy, brooding, a control freak, and that’s on a good day … but there was one achingly obvious fact that haunted my every thought, every minute of every day …

He sure could kiss.

As the countdown to the new millennium begins, there is one thing everyone agrees on: no one wants to be in Onslow for New Year’s Eve.

So that can only mean one thing: road trip!

No longer the mousey, invisible, shy girl from years ago, Tammy Maskala is finally making up for all those lost summers. A new year with new friends, which astoundingly includes the bossy boy behind the bar, Chris Henderson.

She likes her new friends (at least most of them), so why does she secretly feel so out of place?

After chickening out on the trip, a last-minute change of heart sees Tammy racing to the Onslow Hotel, fearing she’s missed her chance for a ride. The last thing she expected to meet was a less-than-happy Onslow Boy leaning against his black panel van.

Now the countdown begins to reach the others at Point Shank before the party is over and the new year has begun. Alone in a car with only the infuriating Chris Henderson, Tammy can’t help but feel this is a disastrous start to what could have been a great adventure. But when the awkward road trip takes an unexpected turn, Tammy soon discovers that the way her traitorous heart feels about Chris is the biggest disaster of all.

Fogged up windows, moonlight swimming, bad karaoke and unearthed secrets; after this one summer nothing will ever be the same again.



Purchase:

 



10 Facts About The Summer Series.

1.       The Summer Series is set in Australia in the 90’s.
2.       ‘Onslow’ is a mythical lakeside town.
3.       ‘The Boys of Summer’ was originally to be a standalone novel, but morphed into a three book series.
4.       C.J’s first job was working in a pub.
5.       Book One ‘The Boys of Summer’ was written in 2011 during NaNo month (National Novel Writing Month) in November.
6.       The Boys of Summer was based on an idea C.J had when she was 11 years old.
7.       Much to C.J’s horror, she seriously considered making The Boys of Summer standalone book to be much darker, even going as far to kill off a character. She decided to go against the idea instead penning a light, fun, romantic summer read.
8.       C.J stumbled into publishing by accident, having formed a friendship with fellow Author Ednah Walters who encouraged her to ‘own what you do’ and publish her writing.
9.       C.J is a fast writer often finishing a novel anywhere from a one to three month period before edits and rewrites begin.
         10.   The Summer Series will feature three novels with a spinoff planned in the
               future.


About the author:

C.J Duggan is an Australian author who lives with her husband in a rural border town of New South Wales, Australia.
The Boys of Summer is Book One in her Mature Young Adult Romance Series.
For more on C.J and ‘The Summer Series’, visit www.cjdugganbooks.com


*************************************

Giveaway:

Enter the rafflecopter below for your chance to win the complete Summer series in ebook format!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
http://xpressobooktours.com/
 

Sunday, December 15, 2013

Review: Grimnirs by Ednah Walters

 Title: Grimnirs (Runes #2.5)
Author: Ednah Walters
Source: Received from author in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

Straight out of the psych ward, Cora just wants her life to be normal. She doesn’t want to see souls or the reapers collecting them. The guy she’s loved from a distance for years moves away without saying goodbye. So yes, she’s nursing a serious heartbreak. It’s no wonder love is the last thing on her mind when Echo storms into her life.

The chemistry between them is mind-blowing.The connection defies logic. Even better, the souls leave her alone when he is around.

Too bad Echo is the poster boy for everything she hates in a guy—hot, beautiful,and cocky. He is also a soul reaper. A Grimnir.
The very beings she wants out of her life. Maybe normal is overrated because Cora wants it all. Answers. Love. A life.




Review:



 
Grimnirs is #2.5 in the Runes series by Ednah Walters. This series is a must read. The first two books were about Raine and Torin, but in this book we get to know Raine's friend Cora better. Recently out of the mental hospital, Cora has to pretend that she doesn't see spirits so that her parents don't admit her again. Back at home, she meets Echo – a sexy guy who acts like he already knows her. He talks about things that they've done together but she doesn't remember any of it. Even the people at school act like she hasn't been gone as long as she has. Things just seem really strange.

Even though Echo is a bad boy, and soul reaper, Cora just can't resist his charms. Though I'm still a bigger fan of Raine and Torin, Cora and Echo have some awesome chemistry. Their story gets really hot and steamy for a young adult book. Echo rates high up there with Torin on the hotness-meter. If you love a bad boy that has a soft side, then you'll love Echo.

I was glad to see Raine, Torin, Andris, and Ingrid in this book. I'd love to read a book from Andris' point of view – whether his love interest is Ingrid or somebody else. He is a character that is particularly interesting to me. Ednah Walters writes great characters and great stories. The world that she has created with this series is amazing. If you like paranormal romance, Norse mythology, young adult, or new adult books – then I definitely recommend this book/series to you. This book is the perfect blend of romance, mystery, and action. You will not be disappointed.

Find the author here:


Purchase this book at the following places:

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Book Blitz & Giveaway: At Any Price by Brenna Aubrey


At Any Price by Brenna Aubrey
(Gaming the System #1)
Publication date: December 9th 2013
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Synopsis:
Achievement Unlocked: Geek Virgin
When Mia Strong, proud geek-girl and popular gaming blogger, auctions off her virginity online, she knows she’ll make waves. But what she will not be making is a love connection. Her rules are set in stone: One night. No further contact.
It’s a desperate step, but it’s the only way she can go to medical school and pay her mother’s mounting hospital bills.
Difficulty Level: Millionaire CEO
Adam Drake, the enigmatic auction winner, is a software prodigy who made his first million at seventeen. Now, in his mid-twenties, he’s sexy, driven and–as CEO of his own gaming company–he’s used to making the rules. Before Mia knows what’s happening, he’s found the loophole in the rules of her auction. Every stipulation she’s made to protect her heart gets tossed by the wayside.
She can’t tell if he’s playing her…or if he’s playing for keeps.
This New Adult book is intended for audiences over the age of 18 due to adult language, sexual content and adult situations.



Purchase:
B&N


Excerpt:

I’m quite capable of understanding sexual attraction, Mr. Drake.”
Adam,” he said quietly, his eyes lowering to focus on my mouth. My heart skipped a beat in its frenetic pace.
Adam.”
Why does it make you uncomfortable to call me by my first name?”
I locked gazes with him, suddenly intensely aware of how close we were standing. I could smell him—a subtle scent, masculine, clean, like the ocean and the hint of peppermint candy on his breath. I could almost feel the heat and power oozing off of him in waves. I swallowed in a suddenly dry throat.
I don’t know.”
I want to give you one more thing to think about.”
And what is that?”
He leaned closer, his head approaching mine. I didn’t have the time to step back nor, I think, the willpower to do it even if it had occurred to me. His mouth met mine in a firm, sure kiss.
It wasn’t overpowering. That was the first thing that surprised me. It was a subtle give and take—gentle, at first, a warm pressure of his lips on mine. Then he took a step closer and slid a hand around my waist, the other going to my back.
He retreated, just slightly, just enough to allow me to pursue him. His mouth moved against mine, teasing, pressing it open. Now his body pressed against mine, his head angled down to reach me, for I was at least five inches shorter than him.
I opened my mouth to him then and his tongue slid in easily. Nothing tentative in this kiss. He knew exactly what he was doing. He was telling me I had the control, declaring the decision mine and then swooping in and taking no prisoners.
His hands stayed put. I was glad of that though I wanted his touch everywhere—my aching breasts, the throbbing between my legs. Goose bumps prickled up and down my arms. His tongue explored my mouth with surety, easy possession. And—to my utter humiliation—I let loose a small whimper at the back of my throat.
The arm around my waist tightened when he heard it, responding immediately, almost instinctively. He pulled his tongue back, as if inviting me to follow him with my tongue. And tentatively, I did.
I’d been kissed before—back in high school when I was normal and I actually dated. But it had been years, now, and I’d never, ever been kissed like this. My tongue entered his mouth and he made a noise at the back of his throat, not quite a growl, kind of more like a huff. It emboldened me. Empowered me. I thrust my tongue, lacing my hands around the back of his neck. Our heads moved together for long minutes and I felt like I hadn’t breathed in a lifetime.
Everything was spinning around me and I—I was spinning too, delirious with want. Like a woman drowning in the middle of stormy sea, in desperate need of a life raft. That sea was Adam Drake and he was pulling me adrift, stranding me in some strange and forgotten land.
When finally he ended it, he pulled away so slowly that I could hardly tell our lips had parted until cool air passed between us. It was then that I saw that he was as affected as I was—flushed cheeks, his breath coming fast, his eyes dark and drunk with desire.



 About the author:

Brenna Aubrey is an author of New Adult contemporary romance stories that center on geek culture. Her debut novel, AT ANY PRICE, releases in December, 2013.

She has always sought comfort in good books and the long, involved stories she weaves in her head. Brenna's favorite author is Jane Austen and favorite novel is PERSUASION.

Brenna is a city girl with a nature-lover's heart. She therefore finds herself out in green open spaces any chance she can get. A mommy to two little kids and teacher to many more older kids, she juggles schedules to find time to pursue her love of storycrafting.

She currently resides on the west coast with her husband, two children, two adorable golden retriever pups, two birds and some fish.



***********************************************

Giveaway!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
 
http://xpressobooktours.blogspot.ca/
 

Saturday, December 7, 2013

Release Event: Grimnirs by Ednah Walters



Book Title: Grimnirs
Series: A Runes Novel
Author: Ednah Walters
Release Date: December 2nd 2013
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Firetrail Publishing
Presented by: As You Wish Tours
Banner Made by: Julia Hendrix



BLURB

One lost love.

One lost best friend.

One hot soul reaper.

Straight out of the psyche ward, Cora just wants her life to be normal. She doesn’t want to see souls or the reapers collecting them. The love of her life, the guy she’s loved from a distance for years, has moved away without saying goodbye. So yes, she’s nursing a serious heartbreak. It’s no wonder love is the last thing on her mind when Echo storms into her life.

The chemistry between them is mind-blowing. The connection defies logic. It doesn’t help that Echo is the poster boy for everything she hates in a guy—hot, beautiful, and cocky. A general pain-in-the-butt. Being around him makes her feel more alive than she’s ever felt before. But more important, the souls leave her alone when he is around.

Echo is perfect for her. Echo might even be her soul-mate. There is only one problem. Echo is a freaking soul reaper. A Grimnir. The very beings she wants out of her life. Maybe normal is overrated because Cora wants it all. Answers. Love. A life. You see, once you fall for a Grimnir, your life will never be the same again.




EXCERPT

“Now see what you made me do.” I eased off the brake. Ahead, Dad’s truck was nowhere in sight.

“Sorry about that,” Echo said, but he didn’t sound or look it. He reached out and lifted the hair on my right shoulder.

I swatted at his hand. “Stop that.”

“Can’t help it.” He planted a kiss on my neck. The car swayed as I momentarily lost control.
“I’m serious. Quit messing with me, Echo.”

“You smell amazing.” He trailed kisses up my neck to my ear and inhaled.

The sensations that invaded my body were downright frightening. Not even Eirik had ever made me feel like this. If I could forget Echo was a lunatic and I was losing my mind, I would have enjoyed the sensation.

I reached up and tried to push his head away, but it was like moving a boulder. Worse, my hand sunk into his hair. It was silky, and for one brief moment, I wanted to run my fingers through it, maybe hold his head in place and savor the moment.

He bit my ear. I squealed and, once again, lost control of the car. “Dang it, Echo. We could get into an accident.”

“But we self-heal.”

I self-healed, too? Nice. No, not nice. I refused to start buying into his crazy assumptions. “I could hurt someone.”

“There’re just Mortals. If it’s their time to go, it’s their time to go. No force of nature can stop that. No, that’s not true. Norns could. You look breathtaking this morning. Love that shade of red on you. Very vampy. What is it you once told me? Red gives you the extra oomph when you are having a shitty day.”

The only person who knew that was Raine. “Who told you that?”




AUTHOR BIO
EDNAH WALTERS grew up reading Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys and dreaming of one day writing her own stories. She is a stay-at-home mother of five humans and two American short-hair cats (one of which has ADHD) and a husband. When she is not writing, she’s at the gym doing Zumba or doing things with her family, reading, traveling or online chatting with fans.

Ednah is the author of The Guardian Legacy series, a YA fantasy series about children of the fallen angels, who fight demons and protect mankind. AWAKENED, the prequel was released by Pill Hill Press in September 2010 with rave reviews. BETRAYED, book one in the series was released by her new publisher Spencer Hill Press in June 2012 and HUNTED, the third installment, will be released April 2013. She’s working on the next book in the series, FORGOTTEN. Visit her at www.ednahwalters.com

Ednah also writes YA paranormal romance. RUNES is the first book in her new series. IMMORTALS is book 2. She just released book 3, GRIMNIRS December 2, 2013. Read more about this series and the world she's created here www.runestheseries.com

Under the pseudonym E. B. Walters, Ednah writes contemporary romance. SLOW BURN, the first contemporary romance with suspense, was released in April 2011. It is the first book in the Fitzgerald family series. Since then she has published four more books in this series. She's presently working on book six. You can visit her online at or www.ebwalters.com.


AUTHOR LINKS

BOOK LINKS



Rafflecopter Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Only For You by Genna Rulon



 Title: Only For You (For You #1)
Author: Genna Rulon
Source: Received through blog tour in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:

All Everleigh Carsen wanted to do was complete her final semester at Hensley University and begin the life she planned. When a wave of violent crime seizes campus, Everleigh is persuaded by her best friend to attend a school sponsored self-defense seminar, where she meets volunteer instructor, Hunter Charles. After Everleigh's biting sarcasm induces Hunter to eject her from class, an explosive relationship is born. Everleigh is determined to forget the striking man, but fate-that fickle shrew- continuously intervenes. Unable to escape him, she casts Hunter as her prime adversary. The only complication...Hunter is resolutely pursuing his vindication...by any means necessary. Verbal warfare ensues, and despite Everleigh's ingenious efforts, in Hunter, she has finally found her equal. Only For You is a compelling tale of friendship, desire, and redemption-brimming with witty characters, intelligent dialogue, unexpected twists, profound sorrow, unfettered hope, and love's unassailable perseverance. This story is appropriate for readers 18+
 


Review:





Only For You is the first book in a new series by Genna Rulon. It's a great New Adult romance told from the view of Everleigh – a college student at Hensley University. After many attacks on female college students, Everleigh’s friend Sam convinces her to take the self-defense course that the school is offering. Here is where she meets Hunter – the hot instructor who kicks her out of class. Feeling humiliated, she is determined to forget all about him...but that's hard to do when he ends up being everywhere she turns.

There's a lot of comical banter between Hunter and Everleigh, and they end up being friends. Everleigh is a great heroine – she is a strong and witty character. She and Hunter have personalities that mesh so well, they fit together like 2 puzzle pieces. Because of some ridiculous reasoning on her part, Everleigh thinks that there's no chance that Hunter could ever be attracted to her (but I won't spoil what that reason is). She falls really hard for Hunter though. The story is only told from her point of view, so you don't really know what is going through Hunter's head.

The mystery revolving the attacks is written amazingly. Not only do you feel a slight creepy vibe throughout the book, but you always feel on guard as a reader because you never know when the next attack is going to happen. The plot is really interesting and the character development is great too. Another character I really liked was Everleigh’s friend Sam. I see that the second book in this series is about Sam, and that makes me really happy.

There's a lot of mystery, comedy, and romance going on – but my favorite part was the romance. Hunter and Everleigh have a lot of passion together. There's a lot of sexual tension leading up to when they FINALLY have their first love scene. It isn't detailed like in a lot of books, but yet it isn't glossed over either. I've been in a bit of a reading slump lately, and this book helped to pull me out of it. It was perfect and the writing was wonderful. I'm really looking forward to book #2!


Find the author here:

Find this book at the following places:


In case you missed my blog tour post for Only For You, check it out HERE. There are some great prizes available to win!