Saturday, March 22, 2014

Free eBooks!!


**Note - I have no idea how long these will remain free**

Title: Bound (Arelia LaRue #1)
Author: Kira Saito


Sixteen year old Arelia LaRue lives in New Orleans where the music is loud, voodoo queens inhabit every street corner, and the ghosts are alive and well. Despite her surroundings, all she wants is to help her Grand-mere Bea pay the rent and save up for college.

When her best friend Sabrina convinces her to take a well-paying summer job at the infamous Darkwood plantation, owned by the wealthy LaPlante family, Arelia agrees.

However, at Darkwood strange things start to happen, and gorgeous Lucus LaPlante insists that he needs her help. Soon, the powers that Arelia has been denying all her life, come out to play and she discovers mysteries about herself that she could have never imagined.

YA Paranormal Romance


Free on Amazon and B&N


***********************************


 Title: Spiritus (Spiritus #1)
Author: Dana Michelle Burnett


A love that refuses to die…

“As I watched him vanish into a soft mist that faded away, I knew that he was no ordinary spirit…I knew that he was a dangerous entity that could be in some corner of another realm planning his revenge, but I also knew that I was hopelessly in love with him.”

When Becca moves into her ancestral home in Corydon, Indiana, her life takes a puzzling and thrilling turn when she meets the ghost haunting the halls. As the seductive spirit lures her closer and closer, she learns about her own past and starts to understand that some mistakes are meant to last.

Becca McAllister has always been different from other girls her age. Never part of the "in crowd", Becca never really fit in anywhere. When her mother dies and her father moves them to the small town of Corydon, Indiana, Becca didn't expect things to change.

But things do change when Becca accidentally makes contact with a one hundred and sixty year old ghost, Alastor Sinclair, that haunts the halls of her new home.

To Becca, Alastor is a seductive spirit that seems to see straight into her soul. To Alastor, Becca is what he was waited a century for--A second chance.

But the closer they get, the more Becca realizes that this isn't the first time she and Alastor have known each other. Worse still, is she the one responsible for his death so long ago? And if so, did he come back for love or revenge?
 




***********************************


  Title: Promises (Syrenka #1)
Author: Amber Garr


Sometimes following your heart can end up destroying the ones you love.

When seventeen-year-old Eviana Dumahl is faced with the responsibility of an arranged marriage and clan leadership, she is forced to choose between the life required of a mermaid and one of a teenage girl simply infatuated with the wrong guy. Kain, her devoted fiancé would make a wonderful husband except that she’s been in love with Brendan, a shape-shifting selkie, ever since they were kids. Choosing to abandon her family, her clan, and her life with Kain will have dire consequences far beyond anything she could have imagined.

A war is brewing amongst the clans and Eviana unwittingly becomes a pawn in the intricate schemes of a twisted mastermind. With Brendan’s life on the line, she has no choice but to involve those who she once considered friends. Amidst encountering senseless tragedies and immense loss, Eviana discovers that she is more valuable as a clan leader than anyone ever suspected. Her survival is not only dependent upon the loyalty of her friends, but also on her acceptance of a life that she had so adamantly tried to escape.

Promises is the first book of The Syrenka Series trilogy following Eviana and her friends through the perils of growing up in a discrete world that inherently threatens human society. 


Free on Amazon and B&N


***********************************


  Title: Dreamer (The Kali Lockton Trilogy #1)
Author: J.L. Durfey


At twenty-four years old, Kali Lockton has lived her life feeling alone. From a very early age, she's had unexplainable visions. Each vision brings on a new mission and a new struggle, and Kali's only desire is to prevent them from coming to fruition--a desire that proves challenging when she can't get anyone to believe her.

Everything changes when a handsome detective, Jared Miles, shows up at her doorstep. For the first time in her life she has someone willing to take risks in order to help her change the inevitable future. However, there is something about him that not only leaves her questioning him, but fighting the walls around her heart that he's slipping beneath.

When her normal visions turn into recurring, elusive, inconceivable things that threaten her very existence, she's forced to turn to him for answers. What she discovers is far more abstruse than anything she could have ever prepared for. 


Free on Amazon and B&N


***********************************


  Title: Fated Dreams (The Affinity #1)
Author: Christina Smith


Do you believe in true love? Sarah Samson doesn't until she meets hers. But for Sarah, meeting the guy of her dreams comes with a price.

On the outside Sarah looks like she has it all--friends, a loving family, and a hobby she's really good at. But if you look closer, Sarah's keeping secrets from everyone in her life, even...Lucas. From the very first time they bumped into one another, she has felt drawn to him. He makes her feel like she's found something she never realized was missing. Life would be perfect if it wasn't for the constant feeling that someone is following her. She feels a presence everywhere she goes, work, home, even...in her dreams.

Sarah suddenly finds herself wrapped up in a dangerous mystery that started eighty years ago involving two tragic deaths. After several attempts on her life, she and Lucas realize they must solve it before history repeats itself.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N


***********************************


  Title: Cycles (Cycles #1)
Author: Lois D. Brown


When Renee discovers that her neighbor, Dr. Dawson, has bags of his dead daughter's frozen blood stored in his basement, she decides it's up to her to uncover the doctor's mysterious past. What she learns, however, is not what she expects. Now she and her friend Sam Miller are on the run, hiding from scientists who want to use what the two teenagers know to change human life forever. 




***********************************


  Title: Enlightened (Love and Light #1)
Author: Melissa Lummis


Loti Dupree’s meager healing abilities have been more a curse than a blessing. What’s the point if she can’t even save her husband from cancer? Harboring a painful secret, Loti flees the life they had in a small Appalachian town for the ashram, the spiritual retreat where she trained to be a yogini. But she finds herself running from more than grief when an ominous nightmare sets her on a dangerous path of self-discovery that challenges everything she believes, and threatens her life.

While dodging psychic attacks from an unknown assailant, Loti races to understand who and what she is before her enemy can catch up with her. To make matters worse, events throw her into the arms of a handsome but frustrating vampire. Love and light are waiting for her—if she can only figure out how to stay alive.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N


***********************************


  Title: Ivan (Her Russian Protector #1)
Author: Roxie Rivera


Desperate to find her sister, Erin goes to the only man in Houston who can help her--Ivan Markovic. The intimidating, tattooed Russian operates one of the most elite mixed-martial arts training centers in the world but it’s his shadowy past and reputed connections with Houston’s underworld that interest her most.

To find her sister, she’ll need the help of her big, scary Russian protector—but asking for help from a man like Ivan carries a steep price, one that might just include her heart.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N


***********************************


  Title: Arianna Rose (Arianna Rose #1)
Authors: Jennifer & Christopher Martucci


Arianna Rose was never like other girls her age. She always knew she was different. But shortly after moving to a new town and starting a new school, she realizes her differences are far greater than she originally imagined. Suddenly empowered with seemingly supernatural abilities, Arianna struggles to discover the meaning behind their abrupt appearance.
In this spellbinding first installment of the Arianna Rose series, Arianna Rose must come to terms with what she is, and how to protect herself from forces that want to destroy her.
Mesmerizing and enthralling, Arianna Rose will leave you on the edge of your seat, eagerly awaiting Part 2.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N


***********************************


  Title: Give Me Reason (Reason #1)
Author: Zoey Derrick


Vivienne Callahan has known only hardship. As if growing up with an alcoholic, drug addicted mother wasn’t traumatic enough, she’s escaped from her physically and verbally abusive boyfriend only to struggle every day to make ends meet as a waitress in a Minneapolis diner.

Along comes Mikah Blake, a handsome stranger who quickly takes an unexpected and persistent interest in her. On the surface, “Mr. Suit” seems to be Vivienne’s opposite: rich, well-fed, successful. As Vivienne will learn, Mikah is more than he seems, and for reasons unknown, he’s determined to be her knight in shining armor. But after having finally found her own two feet after years of abuse, it’s difficult for her to accept Mikah’s help.

Will her body’s unexpected response to Mikah’s touch be reason enough to overcome her pride and traumatic past and learn to love and trust? Or will her past, refusing to be left behind, come back to claim her?
 


Friday, March 21, 2014

Review: Believe by Erin McCarthy

 Title: Believe (True Believers #3)
Author: Erin McCarthy
Source: Net Galley


Synopsis:

Robin used to be a party girl… until she got black out drunk and woke up in bed with her best friend's boyfriend. Now she's faced with being THAT girl, and couldn't be more disgusted with herself. She can't even tell her friends the reason for her sudden sobriety and she avoids everyone until she meets Phoenix—quiet, tattooed, and different in every way that's good and oh, so bad…

Phoenix is two days out of jail when he meets Robin at his cousin's house, and he knows that he has no business talking to her, but he's drawn to her quiet demeanor, sweet smile, and artistic talent. She doesn't care that he's done time, or that he only has five bucks to his name, and she supports his goal to be a tattoo artist.

But Phoenix knows Robin has a secret, and that it's a naïve dream to believe that his record won't catch up with them at some point. Though neither is prepared for the explosive result when the past collides with the present…





Review:





Believe is the third book in Erin McCarthy's True Believers series. I loved the second book so much, I couldn't wait to read this one. This book revolves around Robin – a friend of the main characters from the first two books. Robin had always been a partier, and one morning she wakes up in bed with her best friend's boyfriend – though she doesn't remember a thing. She had blacked out and vows to never drink again.

Robin seems to go through a deep depression over this. She doesn't want her friends to know what happened, so she avoids them. She changes completely. She no longer drinks or parties, and doesn't even care how she looks. She loses weight and is sad and lonely.

One day, one of Robin's friends drags her out of the house and this is when she meets Phoenix. He is definitely not the type of guy she normally dates – he is covered in tattoos and just got out of prison. They both just sort of connect. They can both tell that the other is lonely, and they form a friendship out of the need for companionship. They fall in love, and their romance is both sweet and hot.

I'm not a drinker myself, so I really liked the message behind this book. Getting yourself wasted can have serious consequences. I love how these books don't have cliffhangers, and they each focus on a different character. The fourth book comes out in September – such a long time to wait!!


Visit the author here:


Find this book at the following places:

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Cover Reveal: Breaking Fences by Juliana Haygert

Breaking Fences (The Breaking Series, #2)
by Juliana Haygert 
Genre: NA contemporary romance
Word Count: ~80,000

Release date: June/2014
Cover by: Okay Creations

Summary from Goodreads:
All Beatriz “Bia” Fernandes wants is to prove herself—to her family and friends—though it’s hard to prove anything with an overbearing father and three famous polo-playing older brothers. After her acceptance into college results in a heated family argument, the Brazilian girl leaves everything behind to find her own American dream.

College life away from home is perfect until the people she believes to be her friends turn on her. With lies and rumors threatening to suffocate her, Bia turns to her only freedom. Riding.


But one thing gets in the way of her escape. Garrett Blackwell and his bad cowboy attitude. Working at the ranch is his obligation, bugging Bia is his newfound hobby. His thick skin and easy grin don’t hide what Bia already knows—this misunderstood and lonely cowboy fights his own demons. Brushing horses’ coats and mucking out stalls shouldn’t be this sexy, and it isn’t long before he becomes a part of her distraction.

However, escaping won’t solve her problems, and it’s up to Bia to break down the fences around her and prove her strength—not to her family and friends, but to herself … and for Garrett. Because standing on her own doesn’t have to mean standing alone.

** Companion novel of Breaking the Reins. Can be read out of order.**


Check out the Pinterest board!

 


Companion Book:
(cover linked to Goodreads)

About the Author:
New Adult author and contributor at NA Alley blog.
While Juliana Haygert dreams of being Wonder Woman, Buffy, or a blood elf shadow priest, she settles for the less exciting—but equally gratifying—life of a wife, mother, and author. Thousands of miles away from her former home in Brazil, she now resides in Connecticut and spends her days writing about kick-ass heroines and the heroes who drive them crazy.

Author Links:
    photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png  photo iconpinterest_zps6fcf02a7.png

Cover Reveal Organized by:

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Blog Tour and Giveaway: Tempus by Holly Lauren


Title: Tempus
Author: Holly Lauren
Genre: New Adult Fantasy

Chapel Ryan isn't crazy. At least, that's what she's been trying to convince herself of for most of her life. But after being hallucination-free for three years, Chapel finds herself facedown on her English classroom’s gritty linoleum floor. When she looks up, everyone around her is suspended in animation. Mouths hang open mid-yawn, feet hover mid-cross, Ms. Freeman’s arm flexes mid-sentence diagram. It's another hallucination. Or, is it?

Chapel prepares to tear herself back to reality when something happens. Something that has never happened before in any of her hallucinations--someone moves. And not just any someone—it’s the new guy with a scar over his lip and a reputation as black as his perfectly styled hair. And all of the sudden Chapel's white-knuckle grip on her life has slipped, and with it, her assurance that what she's experiencing isn't real.



Purchase here:


**********************************************



Guest post
 
How to get a book published.

Now that my first published novel is out and about (the most terrifying and awesome feeling ever), folks are getting curious.

How long did it take you to write it? (1 year to write, 1 year to edit)
Where did you get the idea? (A dream)
Where did you find the time? (Time isn’t change on the ground that you find, you make time)
Does it come in large print? (Not yet, Grandmother, but you’ll be the first to know)

But the main question people want to know, and one that I wanted to know before I had this opportunity, is how in the world does a person go about getting a book published.

My Story:
2006: I wrote a book. It was terrible. I queried it and got rejected.
2008: I wrote a book. It was slightly less terrible. I queried it and got rejected.
2010: I wrote a book. It was bearable. I queried it, got a little interest, but no representation.
2011: I wrote TEMPUS. I queried it, got a little interest, but no representation. Something in me KNEW this book was worth fighting for. So in …
2012: I spent a year re-dreaming TEMPUS. I sent out manuscripts to people I trusted for feedback. I got a critique partner. I edited, cut down, edited, cut down.
2013: I queried TEMPUS again. This time, Kitty Bullard reached out to me and asked if I’d like her wonderful publishing house, GMTA, to publish TEMPUS. I was in bed. I pressed my face into the pillow and screamed for joy.
2014: TEMPUS was released .

Quick Tips:
-Tailor your queries so you’re sending agents/publishers ONLY what they ask for.

Agents almost always list what they’re currently looking for in their profiles. Do you fit in their niche? Do they already represent someone like you? Do your research and mention these things specifically. I queried about 25 agents/publishers with TEMPUS, but I knew that each of them were looking for something like it, and believed I added to or complimented their current list.

-Join a good database like Writer’s Market to keep yourself up-to-date on trends and current marketplace needs.

This is also where you can get connected to agents, publishers, and other writers. I got nearly all my agent profiles off this page.

-Read good books to sharpen your usage and mind.


I learned a ton from reading books like WARM BODIES (Isaac Marion), The DIVERGENT Series (Veronica Roth), and THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS Series (Cassandra Clare). These people have “made it” so to speak, so watching what they do teaches you what gets published.

-And, most of all, keep writing, keep writing, keep writing.

If I had given up after my first book, that would have been it. Rejection is hard. But I made myself a promise: I would keep writing until someone published my book. I was just crazy enough to believe it. And if you’re a writer, my guess is that you’re a little crazy, too.

If you’ve been published before, I’d love to hear about your journey.




**********************************************


 
Holly was born and raised in a small town in North Georgia. The third of four children, Holly grew up telling stories to get herself out of—and her siblings into—trouble. When she was eight years old, she penned her first publication: a newspaper called Sunny Dayz News. While she didn’t sell any actual copies, her sympathetic grandmother did peruse through the edition at least once.

When Holly isn’t dreaming up new plotlines for her next book, she enjoys breakfasting at Picnic Café in Dahlonega, Georgia with her (handsome) husband and their two (adorable) daughters.

**********************************************

Giveaway!!!
Enter below to win one of 5 e-copies of Tempus!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
 

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Book Blast and Giveaway: I Found You by Jane Lark

Title: I Found You  
Author: Jane Lark  
Genre: New Adult  
Publication Date: December 5, 2013 
Publisher: HarperImpulse  
Event Organized By: Literati Author Services, Inc.  

 

Synopsis

“Dark, gritty and wholly mesmerizing, I Found You is a haunting and compelling read you will not easily forget!” – Bookish Jottings “So interesting, so versatile, so exhilarating… It kept me up all night.” – Goodreads “A fabulous book. Definitely not like any other romance…” – Goodreads “It’s a romance, but so very, very different to the norm.” – Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews ‘Emotional, romantic, and heartbreaking’ – Imagine a World
~
Tomorrow is for regrets. Tonight is for being together. On a cold winter night, Rachel and Jason’s lives collide on Manhattan Bridge. She’s running from life, he’s running toward it. But compassion urges him to help her. His offer of a place to stay leads to friendship and trouble. There’s his fiancée back home in Oregon and a family who just don’t trust this girl from the wrong side of the tracks. But when the connection between them is so electric, so right… everyone else must be wrong. And as the snow begins to settle on the Hudson, there’s nothing but the possibility of what could be – of this, right here, right now. Them.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo



*************************************
Excerpt:

Jason

The beat of the music pounded through my earphones, drowning out the loud rattle of the subway trains. I was in the zone. My heart was racing, my feet striking the pavement with the rhythm of the baseline, as I ran.
The monotony of city life swamped me in the day, but running brought me back from it at night.
God, I missed home, and fuck it was cold.
Too cold to snow. I heard the words Dad always repeated. I’d always thought it a myth. Was it ever too cold to snow? I didn’t know, but people had been saying it all day.
The pavement was dry, not icy. Dry with cold. There was no moisture in the air, only the cloud of my breath, as my lungs filled and then exhaled with the pace of my strides.
Maybe it was true. God, there were so many myths in the world. Like, New York was the place to be. It still felt like new shoes to me, like it just didn’t fit.
The tarmac felt firm beneath my sneakers.
I looked forward, trying to increase my pace and energy, burning away the doubts and disappointments I’d felt since I came to the city.
At the end of the bridge there was a figure, caught in the middle of a beam of orange lamplight, like some illuminated angel. I generally only saw other guys jogging on the bridge path. It was rare to see anyone else.
It was Thanksgiving in little over a week and Christmas in a few weeks. Lindy was pissed I wasn’t going back home, but she’d made up her mind to come to me for Christmas.
Was that good or bad?
The figure was facing the Brooklyn Bridge, probably looking at the reflection of the lights glinting and shifting on the dark water. It was mesmerizing when you focused on it.
The Manhattan Bridge was never busy, probably because of the noise of the trains. The environment didn’t inspire pleasure, so it wasn’t a place for tourists. But it was a good path for running, long and straight, and normally empty.
I ran harder, my eyes focusing on the figure.
The person hadn’t moved. They held their hands up, gripping the metal grill above them.
The pose seemed odd. A little desperate. It wasn’t casual.
My imagination shifted, no longer picturing angels but a horror movie. The way the lamplight shone down on the figure, could be like they were in the sights of a hovering helicopter, or a beam from a UFO.
I thought of Christmas again, and ached for home. But I wasn’t going home. I had to conquer New York.
The light shining down on the stranger, suddenly took the form of a Godly benediction once more. The person’s arms shifted, stretching out, similar to a crucifixion pose, hands wide and high, as they looked upward.
I was getting nearer.
My fingers were numb with the cold, even inside my gloves, and my ears burned as jack-frost nipped beneath my hood. Running should’ve kept me warm, but it was twenty-one degrees Fahrenheit, way below freezing point.
Fuck, now I could see the person ahead was standing in a t-shirt. Their out-stretched arms were bare.
Hey!” My heart rate thundered as I ran on, wondering what sort of city-nutter I was running toward. What were they doing wearing a tee in this weather? It didn’t look like a homeless dude, but…
My breaths grew more uneven.
The guy ahead hadn’t heard me.
I pulled my earphones out. “Hey!”
Still no recognition. It was like they were in some sort of trance.
My feet pounded on the concrete.
It wasn’t a guy, it was a girl. I’d seen the long hair way back, but hadn’t been sure. Plenty of guys had long hair. Now, I could see.
I knocked my hood back. I didn’t want to scare her. “Hey!”



************************************* 



About the Author

Jane is a writer of authentic, passionate, and emotional Historical and New Adult Romance, and a Kindle top 25 bestselling author. She began her first historical novel at sixteen, but a life full of adversity derailed her as she lives with the restrictions of Ankylosing Spondylitis. When she finally completed a novel it was because she was determined not to reach forty still saying, I want to write. Now Jane is writing a Regency series and contemporary, new adult, stories and she is thrilled to be giving her characters life in others’ imaginations at last. You might think that Jane was inspired to write by Jane Austen, especially as she lives near Bath in the United Kingdom, but you would be wrong. Jane’s favourite author is Anya Seton, and the book which drew her into the bliss of falling into historical imagination was ‘Katherine’ a story crafted from reality. Jane has drawn on this inspiration to discover other real-life love stories, reading memoirs and letters to capture elements of the past, and she uses them to create more realistic plots. ‘Basically I love history and I am sucker for a love story. I love the feeling of falling in love; it’s wonderful being able to do it time and time again in fiction.’ Jane is also a Chartered Member of the Institute of Personnel and Development in the United Kingdom, and uses this specialist understanding of people to bring her characters to life.

Connect with the Author: Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Website

 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Review: Sweet by Erin McCarthy

 Title: Sweet (True Believers #2)
Author: Erin McCarthy
Source: Net Galley

Synopsis:

Jessica Sweet thought going away to college would finally make her free of her parents’ constant judgments and insistence she play chastity club role model for their church events, but if anything, the freedom has made her realize she can’t go home and be a hypocrite anymore. Tired of dodging their questions, she stays at school over the summer and lands in an unexpected crash pad: Riley Mann’s house.

Sarcastic, cocky, and full of opinions, Riley is also sexy personified with tattoos and biceps earned from working as a roofer all day. Not the right guy for her even if Jessica was looking for a relationship, which she is definitely not. But Jessica knows that Riley hides the burden of having to raise his younger brothers behind that grin and as she helps him get his house in order for a custody hearing, they begin to fall hard for each other, and she is forced to question what she’s hiding herself.

Jessica has never had a problem getting naked with a guy, but when it comes to showing Riley how she truly feels inside, her fear of rejection may just ruin the best thing—the best guy—to ever happen to her…


 



Review:





Sweet is the second book in the True Believers series by Erin McCarthy. I really liked the first book in this series, but I enjoyed this one even more. It's a New Adult book about a college student named Jessica Sweet. Her parents are rich, judgmental, and try to make her live a life that she doesn't want. Over summer break, she decides to stay at school instead of going home to visit her parents.

During this time, she ends up spending a lot of time with Riley. Jessica is friends with Riley's older brother, and he invites her to stay at their house for a week while she is waiting for an apartment to open up. She's never really liked Riley – he is tattooed and sexy, but he is also cocky and completely wrong for her. Their views of each other change, and they end up being friends. Neither of them want a relationship, but there is tons of sexual tension between them.

Jessica wasn't my favorite person in the first book. Her view on sex was way too casual. I liked her a lot better in this book though. And Riley was great. He has a bad temper, and tends to say the wrong thing – but he really is a great guy.

I like the writing and humor in this book. I loved the romance – it was really very sweet in its own way. The characters and surroundings just seemed very real to me. This is a must read series if you are a fan of the New Adult genre. I'm really looking forward to reading book #3. 


Visit the author here:


Find this book at the following places:

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Control You by Jennifer Snyder


Control You by Jennifer Snyder
Publication date: March 4th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult

Synopsis:

Kind hearted and naive, Paige Jacobs wants what every girl craves…to be loved. She uses this need to make excuses when her current boyfriend goes from being a tad jealous and slightly overprotective to stalker-ish. She isn’t that girl and Craig isn’t one of those guys. Things are fine. Perfectly fine. Until the moment a dark-haired, tattooed hottie with a snarky mouth walks into her life and tells her she deserves better.

Confident and boldly spoken, Cameron Green has always been the guy bad girls can’t get enough of and all the good girls want to tame. He’s lived a lavish lifestyle filled with drugs, women, and alcohol up until his destructive path finally caught up with him. Now Cameron isn’t sure what to do with himself or how to dampen the longing for something more festering inside of him since coming out of his drug-induced haze. But when he meets a doe-eyed girl who gets past his walls like no other, everything about him clicks into place.

Together the two learn there are emotions that hold within them all the power to control you…




Purchase at the following places:


***********************************************

Excerpt:

I folded the skinny jeans in my hands and chuckled. “How do you fit in these? Don’t your legs feel like they’re lacking circulation when you wear them?”
Eva shot me a go-to-hell look. “Are you calling me fat?”
Placing the jeans on top of the other pairs I’d managed to fold, I laughed. “You know that’s not what I meant.”
She grinned. “Yeah, I know, but you walked right into that one. And, no, they don’t cut off my circulation. They’re stretchy.”
“Stretchy, right, and that makes them seem to fit better? Some women need to realize that just because an article of clothing is made of stretchy material it doesn’t necessarily make them look good in it.” I picked the jeans back up and held them out to her. “Here, go try these on and let me make sure you don’t fall into that category.”
She smacked me across the chest. “Shut up. You know if anyone should be giving someone hell, it should be me giving you hell. I mean, you’re folding laundry on a Thursday night with me. Since when did you become so domesticated?” She grinned.
I pursed my lips together; she was right. It was Thursday night and I had nothing better to do besides stay at her place and help fold her freaking laundry. What the hell was the world coming to?
“Yeah, well, I could be asking you the same thing, sweetheart.”
“Don’t call me sweetheart. You know how much I hate your little pet names,” she grumbled. “And you know why I’m home. The loser I chose this time was just that, a loser. What’s your excuse?” She arched an eyebrow at me.
“I’m a recovering addict; becoming a homebody is logically my next step. If I don’t cut myself off from fun, I might relapse.” I was kidding, slightly. The last week or so had been tough, and thoughts of using to escape the mental anguish I’d found myself in had been tempting.
“Not funny.” Eva frowned.
“I wasn’t trying to be.”


***********************************************


About the author:

Jennifer Snyder lives in North Carolina were she spends most of her time writing new adult and young adult fiction, reading, and struggling to stay on top of housework. She is a tea lover with an obsession for Post-it notes and smooth writing pens. Jennifer lives with her husband and two children, who endure listening to songs that spur inspiration on repeat and tolerate her love for all paranormal, teenage-targeted TV shows.

Find out more about her latest novel by visiting her blog:
http://jennifersnydersblog.blogspot.com

Other ways to connect with Jennifer:
Email: Jennifersnyder04(at)gmail(dot)com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorjennifersnyder
Twitter: http://twitter.com/jennsnyder04


 ***********************************************


GIVEAWAY!!!



Blitz-wide giveaway






Prizes:
-- a Control You necklace + Swag (US only)
--2x eBook of Control You (INTL)

a Rafflecopter giveaway



http://xpressobooktours.blogspot.ca/

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Release Event and Giveaway: Playing Pretend by Juliana Haygert

Title: Playing Pretend
Author: Juliana Haygert
Expected release date: March 3rd, 2014
Category: New Adult (NA)
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Synopsis: 
As the Governor’s daughter, Charlotte McClain is an expert in playing pretend. High society, the men her mother shoves in her direction and a Pre-Law major are all a part of her perfect pretense. But when she pretends to be a nobody during Spring Break, she meets someone who rocks her world.
Mason Rowell knows heartbreak and Spring Break don’t mesh well, so he allows the mysterious Charlotte to seduce him. What should have been a fling, results in something deeper. After Spring Break has long since passed, he moves to Washington to pursue his graduate degree, but what he never expected to find living among the rich and pompous, was the girl who gave him the strength to change and the desire to start anew.
When the guy Charlotte can’t forget goes from a sensual memory to temptation in the flesh, her facade is put to the test. If she surrenders to his charms, she risks ruining her mother’s perfect career and master plan. Playing pretend is what Charlotte does best, but how long can she pretend she doesn't love the man who made her proud of her true self?
**A light, sexy NA Contemporary Romance (17+)**


Links:


About the author:


While Juliana Haygert dreams of being Wonder Woman, Buffy, or a blood elf shadow priest, she settles for the less exciting—but equally gratifying—life of a wife, mother, and author. Thousands of miles away from her former home in Brazil, she now resides in Connecticut and spends her days writing about kick-ass heroines and the heroes who drive them crazy.


Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Pinterest | Goodreads
 
 
 
******************************
 
 
 
Giveaway!!!
 
Prizes:
• One (1) $10 Amazon or B&N gift card {INT}
• Two (2) eBook copies of Playing Pretend by Juliana Haygert {INT}
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
 
 
Visit the Playing Pretend release event page for a list of participating blogs with more Playing Pretend content!

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Free eBooks!



**Note - I have no idea how long these will remain free**

Title: Dead Radiance (Valkyrie #1)
Author: T.G. Ayer


Bryn Halbrook had always seen the glow. But it is only when her best friend dies that she discovers the meaning of those beautiful golden auras — Death. Alone, lost in the foster system, she struggles to understand who she is and why she was cursed with the ability to see the soon-to-be-dead.

The new foster kid, Aidan, isn’t helping any. Mr. Perfect seems to fit in no matter what, making her feel even more pathetic. But when his affections turn to her, Bryn finds him hard to resist. Impossible actually. A mystery himself, Aidan disappears, leaving behind a broken heart and a mysterious book that suggests Bryn might not be entirely human.

Bryn stands at the threshold of a journey of discovery. Will destiny help her find herself, find her purpose and her place in a world in which she’d never belonged?


Free on Amazon or B&N 


**********************************


 Title: Rae of Hope (The Chronicles of Kerrigan #1)
Author: W.J. May


How hard do you have to shake a family tree to find out the truth of the past?

Fifteen-year-old Rae Kerrigan has never questioned her family’s history. That is until she accepted a scholarship to Guilder Boarding School in England. Guilder is a very unique, gifted school.

Rae has no idea what she is getting herself into or that her family’s past is going to come back and taunt her. She learns she is part of an unparalleled group of individuals who become marked with a unique tattoo (tatù) on their sixteenth birthday. The tatù enables them to have supernatural powers particular to the shape of their marking.

Both her parents were marked though Rae never knew, as they passed away when she was young and never told her. Learning about her family’s past, her evil father and sacrificial mother, Rae needs to decide if there is a ray of hope for her own life.


Free on Amazon and B&N


**********************************


  Title: A Twist of Fate (Lexi #1)
Author: T. Gephart


Lexi is a successful PR manager for a multinational firm, based in Melbourne, Australia. She is an energetic and impulsive soul whose passions sometimes control her life. Through a twist of fate she is chosen to represent a famous client, catapulting her into a new life in New York – fulfilling her in a way that she had never imagined.

When Lexi meets Alex, sparks fly. Their chemistry is explosive and they can’t get enough of each other. Her role as the PR manager for his band, Power Station, means that they have to keep their arrangement secret and this proves to be a complication for both of them.

The story follows the twists and turns of six months in Lexi’s life, exploring the complicated rules she creates to govern her relationships and the friends that help her realize that life is more fun when you throw out the rulebook and that love is a major part of being happy.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N


**********************************


  Title: The Difference Between Night and Day
Author: Melissa Turner Lee


Nathaniel Taylor was a Christian who thought believers were exempted from "dark times." That was until he entered his own long time in the dark. When he meets Lilly, a young woman in danger, it sends him on a journey to discover the difference between night and day and that during dark times, the light is hidden, not gone. 


Free on Amazon and B&N


**********************************


  Title: My Familiar Stranger (Knights of the Black Swan #1)
Author: Victoria Danann


WHAT IF YOU SUDDENLY LOST EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE YOU KNEW? In a matter of minutes Elora Laiken lost everything familiar. She escaped assassination by being forced into an experimental device that left her broken, physically and emotionally, in another world. She woke up to find modern day knights, elves, vampires, werewolves, witches, demons and fae. This is the story of how they became her allies, friends, and family.  


Free on Amazon and B&N


**********************************


  Title: Alpha Moon (Silver Moon #0.5)
Author: Rebecca A. Rogers


A Silver Moon prequel/novella.

First love.

First kiss.

First . . . werewolf bite?

Five hundred years ago, brothers Alaric and Ulric worked tirelessly on their father’s farm to keep mouths fed and sell remaining crops for scanty wages. With a rebellion stirring in northern England and a country at war over the throne, the heavy gloom felt for so long by Alaric and Ulric finally dissipates when a new family settles into town.

Daciana’s parents uproot her from London to begin a new life in Colchester. Here, she won’t be whisked off to decorative parties and elegant balls; she’ll have to put forth effort into back-breaking labor. But her thoughts of eloping from the quaint town subside when she meets Ulric. Together, it’s as if they’re exactly where they should be.

During a late-night hunt for a wolf, Ulric and Daciana are attacked. Before their bodies can fully succumb to the wild animal inside, the town witch claims she holds the cure. Instead of healing their wounds, she places a curse on Ulric and Daciana, so they must live with who they truly are. In a town where secrets can’t be kept and betrayal runs thick, Ulric and Daciana are hunted for the monsters they’ve become, even by those they love.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N


**********************************


  Title: The Conduit (Gryphon #1)
Author: Stacey Rourke


All 18-year-old Celeste Garrett wants is to head off to college and make those fun, yet ill-advised, choices college kids are known for. And maybe to spend some time with the hot cameraman she just met. Instead, because of a pact her ancestors made in the 17th century with a mythical creature, she has to save the world.

While normal kids are slamming energy drinks and cramming for exams, Celeste will get her adrenaline rush fighting a fire breathing dragon. She wants to meet friends in the quad to exchange lecture notes, but first she must exchange blows with a shapeshifting demon on the rooftop. Life isn’t always fair for a superhero, but at least she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her brother and sister as sidekicks, they alternate between saving lives and getting on each others’ nerves. Together the trio encounters unspeakable odds, mystical forces and comes face-to-face with an image that will haunt them forever—their grandmother in a leopard print bikini.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N



 **********************************


 Title: Growl (Lacey Hannigan Trilogy #1)
Author: Elaine Pierson

Seventeen year old Lacey Hannigan knows that she's different from other people. Her ability to move things with her mind has made her an outcast, even in her own home. She hates the power that she has and wants nothing more than to be normal like everyone else. But when she is forced to run away from home or be sent to a hospital to be studied like some kind of science project, she has no choice but to rely on her telekinesis in order to survive on her own. She soon finds herself in more danger than she ever thought possible when she discovers that there are even stranger people than her in the world. Like Cole, a man with a deadly secret who has vowed to stop at nothing until he has her. And Jesse, who seems like the perfect man until she learns that he may not be who she thinks he is.

The unbelievable becomes reality when seemingly normal people shed their human skin for that of fur and prowl the streets at night looking for their next victim. Will Lacey's power be her saving grace or her doom?


Free on Amazon and B&N


**********************************


  Title: Coexist (Keegan's Chronicles #1)
Author: Julia Crane


Sixteen-year-old Keegan is struggling to keep her huge secret from her friends--she's an elf, descended from a long line of elves that live in secrecy alongside humans.

In elfin society, mates are predetermined but not allowed to meet until they are eighteen. Against tradition, Keegan's brother Thaddeus told her Rourk's name because his visions warned him she'd need Rourk's protection, especially since Keegan will play a key role in the coming war between the dark and light elves.

Rourk finds himself drawn to Keegan's side every time she thinks his name. He wants to talk to her but remains in the shadows, silently guarding her every time she mentally beckons him. A twist of fate thrusts the two of them together when Rourk is forced to step up his protection and make his presence known.

An ancient prophecy deeply entwines Keegan's family and the future of their society. Somehow they must find a way to thwart fate and win the battle...without losing Keegan. With war brewing, and dark forces aligning, will Keegan and Rourk ever have the life together that they both desire?
 




**********************************


  Title: Silent Orchids (The Age of Alandria #1)
Author: Morgan Wylie


A dying realm.

The ancient evil of the Droch-Shúil has been unleashed.

The Orchids have been silenced… but for how long?

Daegan, elite of the Ferrishyn warrior tribe of Faeries, is charged with a mission to find the Sol-lumieth, a mysterious new power that could change the fate of all in the realm of Alandria. But he is conflicted by his purpose, and he cannot trust the motives of those he serves. He has too many questions and they must be answered.

Kaeleigh, a girl abandoned as a small child just outside Missoula, Montana, is now 18. She is trying to discover who she is and where she belongs. In her heart, she feels she has family out there… somewhere. Desperate to unravel the mysteries of her past, she embarks on a journey that will forever change her along with her two best friends, Finn and Chel—who have secrets of their own.
 


Free on Amazon and B&N