Sunday, December 18, 2011

Review: Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor



Synopsis:

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages--not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out.

When one of the strangers--beautiful, haunted Akiva--fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?



Review:




Daughter of Smoke and Bone is the first book in a new(ish) series by Laini Taylor. This is a fantasy story about a teenage girl named Karou, who attends an art school in Prague. She lives a fairly lonely existence. The only people she has in her life to call family are Chimaera, otherwise known as monsters.

I really don't know how to rate this book. It's wonderfully written and imaginatively creative. This world is different from any I have read about in any other book. On the other hand, I felt bored a lot of the time. It was just slow moving for me. Also, I suppose that I am not really into mythical creatures in the way that I'm interested in the paranormal. Sometimes I wonder, what's the difference? I'm not sure what line divides the mythical genre from the paranormal. I supposed the attraction to paranormal is the fact that these creatures are often considered beautiful or sexy. I just can't feel myself connect with a character that has antlers and hooves on their otherwise human looking form. Oddly enough, I can connect with characters who turn furry every full moon. But...moving on...

Karou leads a sad life. She is really nothing more than an errand girl for her guardian, Brimstone. She is sent on dangerous and/or illegal missions at her young age, which can make a girl feel uncared for. She doesn't really feel like she has a choice though, so she lives her days running “errands” while trying not to get too close to other humans. It's not a life that I would want to lead, but Karou is more brave and outgoing than I am. Her potential love interest isn't introduced until about half way through the book if I remember right (but don't hold me to that, I got done reading this book a couple of days ago and facts flee my mind rather quickly). Akiva notices Karou and is quickly intrigued by her, but also considers her to be the enemy. During their first encounter, they try to kill each other. I mean, really, who doesn't love that? It wouldn't be interesting if it was all sunshine and rainbows from the beginning, would it? I love seeing how the dynamic changes from trying to kill each other, to being attracted to one another.

A lot of the characters in this book were just bizarre to me, so I had trouble relating. I did really, really like Karou and Akiva though. These are great characters. Throughout much of the book, Karou is trying to figure out who and what she is. Nobody will answer her questions about how she ended up with the Chimaera – it's sad to not know where you came from. Akiva has this ice cold outer shell, but it melts away around Karou.

As the book goes along, the mystery and intrigue grow. Not until I got toward the end, did I realize how wonderfully written this book is. Once you see how things fit together, you'll be in awe. Then, you're hit with a frustrating cliffhanger ending. So, how to rate this book? The first half, I would give 3 stars. The last ¼ or so, I would give 5 stars to - so I think I will meet in the middle and go with 4. I am very interested to see how this story plays out, and am looking forward to the second book in this series.


Visit the author's website here:
http://www.lainitaylor.com/

Find this book at the following places:
Amazon (hardcover)
Amazon (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Review: Paranormalcy by Kiersten White


Synopsis:

Weird as it is working for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, Evie’s always thought of herself as normal. Sure, her best friend is a mermaid, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she's falling for a shape-shifter, and she's the only person who can see through paranormals' glamours, but still. Normal.

Only now paranormals are dying, and Evie's dreams are filled with haunting voices and mysterious prophecies. She soon realizes that there may be a link between her abilities and the sudden rash of deaths. Not only that, but she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.





Review:



I'm sure everyone already knows this, but Paranormalcy is the first book in Kiersten White's Paranormalcy trilogy. It's a young adult paranormal romance, and I'm sure that I'm the LAST person on the planet to read this. But... if you didn't already know, it revolves around 16 year old Evie. She doesn't know who or what she is, and she has been living at the International Paranormal Containment Agency for most of her life. She is the only one that has the ability to see through the glamours of paranormals. It's this ability that leads her to capture a shape-shifting paranormal that Evie later develops feeling for.

Sadly, I have to admit that I was a little disappointed with this book. I'm not sure what I expected but I've only heard great things about this book so I think that set my expectations too high. I guess I expected an amazing romance for one thing. There weren't really even any sparks. The character of Lend, who Evie falls for, is a nice guy but lacks something... I felt like he was a weak character, and there wasn't really much storyline for him. He was stuck in a room throughout most of the book and that was a little bit boring.

Evie is a typical teenage girl, except for the fact that she traps vampires instead of going out with friends on a typical night. The author did a good job at setting a teenager tone throughout the book. Actually, I thought it was a little bit on the cheesy side but I guess I was probably a little bit cheesy when I was 16 too. I feel like I'm being way too hard on this book. I guess since I am 30, it feels weird to read from a teenage point of view. Many young adult books seem to have an older tone throughout, but this book sticks to the age group it was intended for.

I think Evie is a character that lots of girls can relate to. I would have no problems with my young teenage daughter reading this (though I don't have a young teenage daughter yet, I'm just saying). Overall, this is a well written and well structured book. Even though it didn't quite live up to the hype in my opinion, I am still interested to know where the story goes and I will soon be reading the next.


Find this author here at her blog:
http://kierstenwrites.blogspot.com/

Find this book at the following places:
Amazon (paperback)
Amazon (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Review: The Ylem by Tatiana Vila

Title: The Ylem
Author: Tatiana Vila
Source: received from author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:

An ancient book, a seventeen-year-old girl and an exotic boy from a supernatural world hold the key to freedom for a long-oppressed race, but that freedom could come at the cost of the human world.

Seventeen-year-old Kalista is suffering from a broken heart, so when her playwright father proposes they move their lives from New York to New Mexico because he is in need of inspiration Kalista is 100% on-board with him. New Mexico proves to be the perfect balm for her wounds and she is just starting to feel some of her old spunk when Tristan Winfield comes into her life and pulls all of her barriers down. Kalista is captivated by Tristan's unusual silver eyes and feels an inexplicable connection to him, which begins to manifest itself in her dreams with bizarre images of a waterfall and an orb.
While searching for an explanation for her troubling dreams, Kalista discovers an ancient book which holds the secrets of a supernatural race of creatures. But when Killings hit town, she realizes her finding has come at a high price. She's in the middle of a power struggle now, and a secret seems to be wrapped within the pages of that book. A secret she and Tristan are part of...



Review:



17 year old Kalista and her father move from New York to a small town in New Mexico. Most teenagers would probably be upset about this disruption in their lives, but Kalista is suffering from a broken heart and thinks that a fresh start might be just what she needs. Things seem to be going well – she makes friends quickly and even meets a handsome boy who intrigues her. Her life gets a little crazy though, when she finds out that some legends are actually true and paranormal beings are living amongst humans.

Tristan and Kalista both feel drawn toward one another, yet they both go back and forth from acting hot to cold toward each other. Kalista seemed to have a big issue with Tristan lying to her, yet she lied to everyone around her. Other than that, I really liked these 2 characters. There were definitely some sparks between these two and they seemed really good for each other.

There were some chapters devoted to a character named Caleb that had me confused throughout most of the book. The connection was revealed at the end though, and I'm really interested to see what happens with that storyline in the next book. I still feel a little confused though. Tristan still seems to have a lot of secrets and I never did figure out exactly what a ylem is.

The last chapters were great and definitely left me feeling surprised. It looks like we have to wait until April 2012 for the next book in this series. I'm dying to know what happens next, the wait just might kill me.


You can find this author at her website:
http://tatianavila.blogspot.com/

Find this book at the following places:
Amazon (paperback)
Amazon (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Review: Galaxy Girls by Edie Ramer

Title: Galaxy Girls
Author: Edie Ramer
Source: Received from author in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

Genetically created to be broodmares, Phyrne Galaxy and her mother, aunt and cousin don't need men, they need freedom. They escaped from the warring planet of Kergeron to Earth, where Phyrne’s aunt's vision of winning money in a New Jersey casino comes true. Too bad her aunt's precog didn't show the hoods waiting outside with guns. But Phyrne has her own weapon, more powerful than bullets. She's ovulating.

Phyrne turns up the heat, taking out more than the crooks in her wave of sexual torture. FBI Special Agent Hawk Higgens, running to protect the women, is brought to his knees, too. Caught in her procreative spell, Phyrne ravishes Hawk.

Being seduced by an alien and left half naked and unconscious in the back of a surveillance van changes Hawk's life. He joins the Foundation, a privately funded agency that hunts aliens. Six years later, the reason for his career change pops back on the radar in a tea shop in Kentucky. The woman whose face still haunts his dreams has an addition to her family – a five-year-four-month-old daughter.

At the same time, two Kergeron warriors are sent to Earth bring the women back to their home planet. With an ex-FBI agent and two alien warriors on her trail, Phyrne's calm life running the Tea & Comfort shop is about to get shaken, stirred and screwed.




Review:




This is a cute story about 4 women who escape from their planet Keregon to find freedom on Earth. The main character in this story is Phyrne, whose superpower is her ability to make men mega-horny with her strong ovulating hormones. After seducing Hawk, an FBI agent, she ends up pregnant with his baby.

One of my favorite characters is Hawk, who is an all around great guy. He spends 6 years looking for this woman who seduced him – he can't get her out of his mind. When he finds out that he is a father, he stops at nothing to keep Phyrne and his daughter safe. The characters in the book are very likeable, I was even interested in some of the secondary characters.

My main issue with this book was that I didn't feel fully satisfied. For starters, there are 2 steamy sex scenes in this book but they are quickies. There isn't any romantic love making where the characters connect. Also, during the whole book, the women are all in danger so there really isn't time for any romance between Hawk and Phyrne. There was a potential romance for Phyrne's mom (which I was very interested in), but nothing ever came about it. Another issue is the ending, I just felt like it was rushed and there were some loose strings. I really don't know if this book is part of a series or not – if so then these things may get tied up in the next book.

Not only was this book about finding love, it's about family and that unbreakable bond. The women in this story are family and I enjoyed the interactions between them. I recommend Galaxy Girls to anyone that likes sci-fi or paranormal romances.

Find out more about the author at her website:
http://edieramer.com/

Find this book at the following places:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords

Monday, November 21, 2011

Review: Blood Eternal by Marie Treanor

Title: Blood Eternal
Author: Marie Treanor
Source: received through blog tour in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

Despite the growing passion that unites them, all is not well between Elizabeth and Saloman. She refuses to follow him as he builds his influence among the human population and consolidates his rule over the vampire world. A shocking revolt is just the latest crisis that's call him away.

But under Saloman's regime, vampires have become less concerned with secrecy. And after he joins forces with vampire hunters, Elizabeth begins to understand the inevitable collision of the two worlds. She could be a conduit between humanity and the undead-is she can manage to play both sides and stay alive...




Review:




Blood Eternal is the third book in Marie Treanor's Awakened by Blood series. In this book, Saloman's cousin Luk has been awakened. Saloman is the one who killed him so needless to say, Luk is out for revenge. Elizabeth still struggles between her love for Saloman and her duty as a vampire hunter.

First I have to say how bothered I am about the appearance of the book. It's a different size from the rest, and the cover doesn't look like it belongs in the same series at all. I do understand that the author probably had no say in this issue though.

I thought this book seemed rather slow, which is the main reason for me giving it 3 stars instead of 4. I was a little bored with the plot, and I just don't really have much interest in the secondary characters. I love Elizabeth and Saloman though, and I love reading the parts where they are together. Saloman comes to realize just how much Elizabeth means to him, and it was sweet to see this softer side of him. If you liked Saloman in the other books, you will love him in this one.

I don't think this would be a good stand-alone book. I think the two previous books would need to be read in order to fully enjoy this one. I'm not positive, but it appears that this is the last book in the series. That saddens me because the ending of Blood Eternal is great and there is so much potential for more.


Find the author at her website:
http://www.marietreanor.com

Find this book at the following places:
Amazon (paperback)
Amazon (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Review: Fate Fixed by Bonnie Erina Wheeler

Title: Fate Fixed
Author: Bonnie Erina Wheeler
Source: received through blog tour in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

When Lexie Anderson’s mother suddenly announces she is marrying a Romanian immigrant, Lexie willingly leaves behind her busy life in Connecticut for her penance in “The Moose Capital of the World.” Small town living is strange enough, now Lexie must cope with her overbearing stepfamily monitoring her every move. They disappear into the woods at night and keep a strange secret locked in their shed. Her once calm mother is now having violent outbursts and Lexie’s little sister is hearing sinister sounds coming from the forest behind their new home.

Lexie’s biggest surprise comes when she discovers the boy she has been dreaming about since her accident is living in Maine. Despite Torin’s questionable reputation, Lexie cannot resist the physical and emotional attraction pulsating between them.

Animals and people in town are turning up dead and Lexie learns the strange new world she lives in has real life monsters. Just when she decides she wants to be with Torin forever, she must fight to protect her mother and sister from being harmed a formidable evil.






Review:



Fate Fixed is the first book in Bonnie Wheeler's Erris Coven series. It's a YA paranormal romance about a teen girl named Lexie. Lexie's mother suddenly marries a guy that has three sons, and her life spins out of control. Lexie's mom isn't the same person anymore, she has to move to a new state, 2 of her new step brothers are infatuated with her, and she discovers that not everyone she knows is human.

The one good thing that has come out of all of this is Torin – the boy she has been dreaming about for months. Imagine Lexie's surprise when she first sees him in her new town. Torin has been dreaming about Lexie as well and has been waiting for the moment that she comes into his life. When they first meet, it's instant attraction. It's more than that really, it's like love at first sight. Things get pretty intense between them very quickly. Unfortunately, she has a step-brother or two trying to interfere...

I enjoyed this book very much! It actually kind of reminded me of Twilight – and that's ok with me because I'm a big fan. It's edgier than Twilight though. There is a love-making scene, but it was nicely done. It felt right, even though the characters are fairly young – and it wasn't detailed. There is also some mystery, suspense and gore. The author keeps you on your toes wondering what will happen next.

I had a hard time putting this book down. I was captivated from the very beginning. Lexie is very likeable, and is somebody that readers can connect with. I really liked Torin and his tortured soul. I was even interested in reading about the secondary characters – and that doesn't happen to me very often. I am looking forward to book #2 very much!

Find the author at her website:
http://fatefixed.blogspot.com/

Find this book at the following places:
Amazon (Kindle)
Amazon (paperback)
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Cover Reveal - Lauren Kate


Here are a couple of new covers in case you haven't already seen them - both are Lauren Kate books. I absolutely love all the covers in the Fallen series, and these are no different:


The sky is dark with wings. . . .
In RAPTURE, the highly anticipated fourth and final novel in the FALLEN series, Luce and Daniel are together . . . but for how long? Can history be rewritten? Or are some punishments eternal?



What makes your heart race a little faster? Just in time for Valentine's Day, it's FALLEN IN LOVE, four wholly original new stories collected in a new novel set in the Middle Ages by Lauren Kate. FALLEN IN LOVE gives fans the much-talked about but never-revealed stories of FALLEN characters as they intertwine with the epic love story of Luce and Daniel.

The stories include: Love Where You Least Expect It: The Valentine of Shelby and Miles; Love Lessons: The Valentine of Roland; Burning Love: The Valentine of Arriane; and Endless Love: The Valentine of Daniel and Lucinda


Click HERE for a sneak peak at Fallen in Love!!!

Review: The Lost by Caridad Pineiro

Title: The Lost
Author: Caridad Pineiro
Source: received through blog tour in exchange for honest review


Synopsis:

Adam Bruno is no ordinary millionaire. The heir to an ancient race possessing a dark, powerful magic, he can shapeshift and create energy. His gifts make him a living weapon and have forced him to live in seclusion. But now an inhuman force hunts down Adam-just when he finds someone who makes him feel more human than he ever imagined possible . . .

Home from combat in Iraq, Bobbie Carerra wants only peace, yet soon joins Adam in a terrifying battle against paranormal enemies who hide in plain sight. She's drawn to his strength of mind and body; he's attracted to her courage and intoxicating energy. Their scorching passion can either transport them to the heights of ecstasy or-if Adam's powers rage out of control-destroy them. But when an invisible brotherhood tightens its nets and someone Adam trusts betrays him, only a heartrending decision can save them.




Review:




The Lost is the first book I've read by author Caridad Pineiro, and I really enjoyed it. It's the first book in a series called Sin Eaters. This is a paranormal romance about a man named Adam Bruno. Adam doesn't really know who or what he is. Adam was adopted as a boy and doesn't know his family history, but he knows he's not completely human.

Adam meets Bobbie as he is coming out of work and is attacked. Bobbie helps Adam kick some butt by using her cane. She is such an awesome heroine to have in a story. Bobbie was seriously injured while in combat in Iraq. She barely survived, and has many physical and emotional scars. I love how flawed this character is. She uses a cane to help her walk, but she is a strong and independent woman. I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis when I was 11. By looking at me, you wouldn't know that I have it – but I worry about being disabled one of these days. I'm scared of not being able to do things for myself. I already have to get my husband to open bottles and jars for me and it's frustrating. I really loved seeing how sexy Bobbie is in Adam's eyes – even though she's disabled.

That says a lot about Adam's character – the fact that he can overlook Bobbie's faults and only see beauty. These two have great chemistry together! The lovemaking was very steamy – intense actually. I liked how these two fell for each other so quickly, but yet it didn't seem like it was too quick. I think that things happened at a good pace. I was a little distracted by the change of viewpoints. I don't mind a mix of viewpoints from the hero and heroine, but when secondary characters jump in there as well it can get confusing.

The book didn't end with a cliffhanger, but there were some loose strings at the end. I am looking forward to the next installment to see what happens, and I will also be checking out some other books by this author when I get the chance.

Find this book at the following places:
Amazon (Kindle)
Amazon (paperback)
Barnes & Noble

Find the author at her website:
http://www.caridad.com/

Friday, November 4, 2011

Review: Somewhere in Between by Stacey Kennedy

Title: Somewhere in Between
Author: Stacey Kennedy
Source: received from author in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

U.S. Marshal, Wyatt Tanning is in a race to catch a serial killer who has evaded the authorities. Just as the case hits a dead end, an unexpected email gives him a lead. As much as he wants to share the surprising message with his lover, Rye Daniels, he must hunt a killer first.

Darby Grant never expected that one night would change her life forever, but that’s exactly what happened. Not only has she been abducted, but she is in a situation that nightmares are made of. As she begins to lose all hope, fate steps in to offer her aid, but she’s well aware things will never be the same again. Soon, though, Darby begins to realize that might not be such a bad thing…

*warning - contains m/m and a ménage love scene.




Review:



Somewhere in Between is a novella that follows Stacey Kennedy's book Takedown. In Takedown, we meet Wyatt and Rye – which is a male/male erotic romance. In Somewhere in Between, Wyatt and Rye meet a woman named Darby who they instantly feel a connection with. This book contains both a male/male love scene and a threesome.

These books aren't for everyone. I know that a lot of people are squirmish when it comes to M/M love scenes, but Stacey Kennedy makes it HOTTT. There's more to it than just sex, the characters have a connection that takes it to another level. There is also an interesting story involved. Wyatt is a U.S. Marshall who is trying to catch a killer. Darby is a victim that Wyatt feels compelled to protect.

The story is sweet, sexy, and suspenseful. This novella is a quick read – you can easily finish it in one setting which makes is really convenient. Stacey Kennedy writes a great story. If you are on the fence about trying books like this, I suggest you try this one – I bet you'll like it!

Find this book at the following places:



Thursday, November 3, 2011

Review: Jenny Pox by JL Bryan

Title: Jenny Pox
Author: JL Bryan
Source: received through blog tour in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

Jenny has a secret. Her touch spreads a supernatural plague.

She devotes her life to avoiding contact with people, until her senior year of high school, when she meets the one boy she can touch, and she falls in love.

But there's a problem--he's under the spell of his devious girlfriend Ashleigh, who secretly wields the most dangerous power of all.

Now Jenny must learn to use the deadly "Jenny pox" she's fought her entire life to hide, or be destroyed by Ashleigh's ruthless plans.

Not recommended for readers under sixteen due to mature content.




Review:




Wow, I must say that I think this is the strangest book I've ever read! That's not necessarily a bad thing. The story centers around Jenny – who has what people call the Jenny pox. She is basically lethal to touch. Her whole life, she has had to keep her body covered – including wearing gloves wherever she goes – so she doesn't accidentally kill somebody. How awful would that be? I connected with Jenny in a lot of ways. Not the lethal touch part, but the fact that she is an outsider. She's lonely, she keeps to herself, people think she's weird so they make fun of her, etc... I think there are a lot of girls out there who could identify with that.

During Jenny's senior year in high school, she finally meets the one boy she can touch. Because of Seth, she isn't alone for the first time in her life. I liked seeing the unpopular girl get the boy. Life is looking up for Jenny, but it doesn't last. Seth's ex-girlfriend Ashleigh will stop at nothing to get what she wants, including revenge on Seth and Jenny. Ashleigh really is the worst kind of villain – and she has this ability to manipulate people. The things that she is capable of is scary

The things that happen in this book are just bizarre. There are some gross, disturbing, and gory moments. It will definitely keep your attention. I honestly don't recommend this book to most teenagers. There's a lot of adult content involved – one of which is sex. I really don't mind reading about teen sex usually – especially if it's between 2 mature teens who are in love and it's tastefully done. However, there is one scene in this book that I think goes over the line in calling this young adult. I will leave it at that – I don't want to give too much away. Also, there is a lot of drug use in this book. It's not just a few random people – it's everyone. Even the heroine in this story is a druggie. In my opinion, the book made it seem like you weren't normal if you weren't doing it – and I don't think that's the best image for teens.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Paranormals blog tour & Giveaway!!!

Welcome to the Paranormals blog tour! This tour ends November 4th, but you're not too late for some awesome giveaways! There are a lot of stops on this super cool tour, with amazing giveaways you can still enter! Today I have a blog post from author JL Bryan that includes his playlist from Alexander Death!

******************************************

It’s Wednesday, so it must be time for the final playlist reveal. These are the songs I put together to represent Alexander Death. Here are why I chose some of them:

Pursuit of Happiness” by Kid Cudi featuring MGMT. I think this catches the mood of Jenny and Alexander’s situation early in the book.

Time to Pretend” by MGMT. Yeah, that’s two songs with MGMT, but that’s how it goes sometimes...I really couldn’t decide between these, so I used both. This is also about the time they spend at Alexander’s place. It really catches that mood of “Hey, let’s drop all our problems, and run off to Mexico for sex, drugs, and parties!” Of course, there’s already a worm of despair and destruction in a choice like that...

Falling Down” by Tom Waits, performed by Scarlett Johansson. This reflects Jenny’s spiritual state, though not necessarily her emotional state.

Schism” by Tool. A dark, tense song, good for the zombie-filled climax of Alexander. (The video goes well with a zombie story, too.)

Not to Touch the Earth” by The Doors. And this goes after the climax.

Not to touch the Earth,

Not to see the sun,

Nothing left to do but run run run

Let’s run

Run with me...

This Old Road” by Kris Kristofferson. I wanted to include this song for some mixed reasons that I’m not sure I can explain. But I do think it’s nice to have a much younger Kris Kristofferson in “The Highwayman” video on the previous soundtrack, and now this fairly recent, solitary song here. A song about a highwayman, and a song about a road. Hm.

Lullaby” by the Dixie Chicks. Well, it’s a lullaby, and it’s a simple expression of eternal love. Which is really the best kind.


View the complete playlist HERE on Youtube.


About the author:

J.L. Bryan studied English literature at the University of Georgia and at Oxford, with a focus on the English Renaissance and the Romantic period. He also studied screenwriting at UCLA.

He enjoys remixing elements of paranormal, supernatural, fantasy, horror and science fiction into new kinds of stories. He is the author of The Paranormals trilogy (Jenny Pox, Tommy Nightmare, and Alexander Death). Fairy Metal Thunder is the first book in his new Songs of Magic series.

He lives in Atlanta with his wife Christina, his son John, two dogs, and two cats.

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

******************************************
Find out more about The Paranormals trilogy:


Jenny Pox:
Jenny has a secret. Her touch spreads a supernatural plague. She devotes her life to avoiding contact with people, until her senior year of high school, when she meets the one boy she can touch, and she falls in love. But there’s a problem–he’s under the spell of his devious girlfriend Ashleigh, who secretly wields the most dangerous power of all. Now Jenny must learn to use the deadly “Jenny pox” she’s fought her entire life to hide, or be destroyed by Ashleigh’s ruthless plans.
Not recommended for readers under sixteen due to mature content.

Paperback
Kindle (currently FREE!!!)


Tommy Nightmare:

While Fallen Oak recovers from the Jenny pox, someone new is hunting Jenny. Like Jenny, Ashleigh Goodling belonged to a pair of opposites with powers that mirror each other. Now Jenny and Seth must face the opposite of love…

Paperback
Kindle



Alexander Death:

While Seth searches for Jenny, Dr. Heather Reynard of the CDC unravels Seth and Jenny’s secrets. Alexander opens Jenny’s mind to her deep past, and to the full horrific extent of her powers. Torn between her feelings for Alexander and Seth, and between her past lives and her present, Jenny must prepare to face her enemies in the final, catastrophic battle…
Paperback
Kindle

GIVEAWAY: an Alexander Death inspired Bracelet with a skull for Alexander's powers! One lucky person who comments on this blog post will win!

The next giveaway is a Kindle Fire - skinned in the winner’s choice of Paranormals artwork and loaded with an AMAZING indie library! Simply fill out the form below (just once during the course of the tour) and you’re entered to win the latest and greatest from the biggest name in eReaders: an Amazon Kindle Fire! Open US/Canada. See full contest rules here.











Visit the other stops for more chances to win awesome giveaways! You can find a complete tour schedule at Kismet Book Touring.

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Author Spotlight and Giveaway with HK Savage!



Guest blogger, HK Savage, published through Staccato Publishing:

Like most of us, I love books. Give me a good character and I don’t care if they are from the past, in space or living in an alternate dimension, I love a great story. The Path is my 6th published book and I’m getting some great feedback on it. It was fun to write because, like everything else I write, it is a stretch of the imagination and let’s me play “what if?” That is my favorite premise. Whether I am writing about supernatural creatures (The Empath Trilogy), stretches of modern medicine (Life Blood and Blood Bound), or as in this case, magick. I know, I waffled on the “k” in magick but in the end, it has become readily accepted as the way to differentiate between manipulating the energies and creating an illusion that you’ve made The Statue of Liberty disappear.

Much like my peers and of course those far more famous than I, I thoroughly enjoy exploring alternate realities and seeing where that lets my characters roam. So far it’s been great fun and I already have another book, Whispers, that I’m hearing great things about due out around the first of the year. I’ve been asked why I still like stories that couldn’t be true and I always say, “how do you know?” Though really, I love stories that stretch my mind to places it doesn’t normally go because I don’t want to read a book about a woman who comes home, makes dinner and handles homework. Isn’t that what we’re reading to escape? My stories are always about adventure, character growth and a fun cast of characters. And of course some romance.

Writing has been so much fun and apparently didn’t keep me busy enough that in March I gathered some very talented people and we opened Staccato Publishing to help other writers fulfill their dream of seeing their books in print (or on some digital device). Our happy little band is growing with our third author having just joined us for publishing, and many manuscripts being received inhouse for straight editing for those choosing to self publish.

One of our authors, Jay Mims, has just released his debut novel The Five Santas and we’re looking forward to seeing him at his first signings coming up in October and November at bookstores in South Carolina. As soon as he is done promoting this one he’s promised me a peek at what he’s written for book two. And our third author is a great woman still working on her pen name and her latest round of edits to her paranormal romance, Bella Notte.

Without any further shameless plugging (believe it or not I actually hate that part), here is a snippet of The Path. Happy reading!



The Path by HK Savage

“What does that mean? I can make people like me? You said that before and that’s not magick by my definition.” He wasn’t impressed.

Cassie hadn’t explained it right. Puffing up her cheeks, she blew out in a big gush and tried another tack.

“Not just like you.” She clarified. “You can make people do things for you. It’s an incredibly useful tool for manipulating people, and yours is really strong.” Cassie watched him carefully. “You could make someone rob a bank for you, kill for you, fall in love with you, anything.”

She didn’t know why she said the last she must have been tired. But Cassie saw his misgivings; he was not excited about his magick. In what was becoming a sick cycle, Cassie felt the pleasure and pain associated with her mission. If educated on how to wield his magick she was sure Drew wouldn’t use it to hurt anyone though an ability such as his would have tempted even the morally incorruptible Sir Galahad. “I think you should go to the Academy Drew. I really think you would be a great Investigator and what a fantastic place for a talent like yours.” Too anxious to stop talking, Cassie went on. “Julia’s that way too. She can get almost anyone to tell her things. Except you, but that was the stone. You should have seen the look on her face when she told us not only did you block her out but you were charming her.” Cassie guffawed at the memory. “No one has ever fought her off before but you did. It might have been different if she’d touched you or gotten something of yours, then she might have had you.”

He was running his hands through his hair feeling sticky and gritty at the same time, focusing on the tactile preferring it to the less visible things Cassie was going on about. “It was the ring, that’s all.” He objected weakly, remembering back to his childhood when he’d been able to do no wrong. Teachers loved him, friends’ parents and coaches, it was always the same thing; if Drew wanted it, he got it. Luckily his parents had been well grounded and the only ones able to say no. Looking back he wondered if they hadn’t had a little magick of their own to be able to keep him at bay. He wished he could see them one more time if nothing else than to thank them for keeping him from turning into a monster.

“Only part of it was the ring. It had to get its direction from you.” She wouldn’t listen to his objections. “If I were wearing it, it would do something different maybe bend the metal in the bar or something.” She referred to hers being a physical magick. “But on you it brought out your strengths, getting people to trust you and to like you. It’s something you do naturally.” Her voice was more subdued. “You’re doing it now, that’s why I pushed you out of my head.”

Comprehension lit in his eyes. “That was what I felt? You pushing me away?”

“Yes.”

“Why didn’t it happen like this before? Have I ever ‘influenced’ you before, you know, made you do something you didn’t want to do?” Drew worried for the first time he’d taken advantage of her, of any of the women he’d been with. Here he had been worrying whether he should be with her when it was possible he’d not left her any choice in the matter. That he would only have to snap his fingers to bring her to his bed.

“No, I was able to guard against your influence before.” She shook her head.

“Aren’t you guarding yourself now?” He asked the question awkwardly, the concept felt strange.

Cassie’s sagging frame answered better than words. “I’m tired. It’s harder now and I’m slipping.” She watched all of this new and heady information sink in. He stared at his hands, fingers running over the back of the finger where the stone used to sit whether out of habit or if he was thinking back and questioning everything he’d ever done, every friend and woman he’d ever had. Wondering if any of it had been real.



About the author:

HK lives in the frozen hinterlands of the far North. The long, cold months provide ample opportunity to hunker down with her computer and create adventures far more enticing than scraping ice and getting frostbite.


Between books, HK reads voraciously. Anything with a good plot and compelling characters are her broad parameters. One is as likely to catch her with a copy of Don Quixote as with the latest in Gail Carriger’s steampunk series.


HK practices martial arts, rides her horse, gardens and plays with her family every chance she gets. Next winter she intends to brush up on her spanish and escape the cold for somewhere more tropical.



Synopsis:

Cassie Porter’s family pushed her to be an agent for Veritas, the agency responsible for policing witches who live side by side with "regulars". Veritas promised her a life off the Reservation with a way to support her father and Grandmother. The problem is, Cassie is on probation due to the volatility of her mixed magick, a byproduct of her mixed blood.

Julia Decartes, a matronly Vodou practitioner and Quan Long, an elemental witch from the headwaters of the Yangtze are entrusted with bringing along Cassie’s magickal ability while attempting to keep her from killing anyone including herself in the process.

Investigating a witch and cult leader in Tampa, Cassie meets Drew Carter and discovers the powerful abilities both he and his brother are hiding as well as the terrible plan the witch has set into motion.

Drew pairs up with Cassie when his brother goes missing. It’s through their joint effort that Cassie untangles her power and Drew finds the world where he really belongs.

Available at the following places:

Amazon
Barnes & Noble


Giveaway!!! HK is generously giving away 5 ecopies of The Path! To enter, leave a comment on this blog post with your email address. The giveaway is open through November 6th.

Saturday, October 29, 2011

Cherished blog tour & Giveaway!!


Welcome to the Cherished blog tour! I have an interview with author Belinda Boring, aka The Bookish Snob, that you won't want to miss - as well as a giveaway! You can read my review for this wonderful novella HERE.

***********************************

How long have you been living in America?

I’ve been living here almost 12 years. Wow … that seems like such a long time, no wonder I’ve been feeling so homesick. I came here for a vacation to visit some friends and never went home. Instead, I fell in love, got married and I’ve been living my happily ever after ever since. Well, as happily as you can be when you’re living in the desert! LOL


What kinds of things do you miss most about Australia?

Is it okay to say EVERYTHING? I obviously miss my family. That’s been one of the most difficult things about moving to another country. I left behind people who loved and knew me and it’s hard not being able to get in the car whenever I want to go visit. Thank goodness for phones and Facebook or I’d go crazy!

I also miss the food, the beaches and surprisingly the transportation system. I lived in Sydney and for $20 a week; I could ride all the buses and trains I wanted within the grid and go wherever I wanted. There was no car maintenance, worry about gas prices etc. I just got on board, pulled out a book and read. Hmmm… only bad thing was on summer days and packed buses. Nothing screams ICK than sweaty pits near your face LOL


Tell us how you came up with the name of your blog, The Bookish Snob.

It was actually my best friend Lacey who came up with it. I’m pretty sure it’s because I only read a specific genre of books and very, very rarely venture outside of it. I love reading romance and urban fantasy! People would tell me “Hey, you should read this book.” And the first thing I’d ask was “Is it a romance?” If they said no, I replied “Not interested, thanks anyway.” Lacey called me a book snob because of it, and the name stuck. She was also the one who created my blog. She was forever saying I needed to become a blogger and I kept side stepping her with excuses. I came home one day to a text, “Bels, I’ve created a blog for you. Here are the passwords. Go have fun!” The rest was history.


When did you begin writing?

It was about two years ago. I’ve always liked to write but never had the confidence, leaving it to the essays I would do in college. A friend suggested I try writing for fun and I laughed so hard at him. I vowed no one would ever read anything I’d done but next thing I knew I started writing a fan fiction. I brought it in for him to see and expected him to laugh. He smiled and said “Keep going.” Next, I wrote a short story about my fan obsession with the Jonas Brothers. I was hooked and it went from there. I fully intended to just finish each book, have it printed and then put it on my book shelf. It wasn’t until I met Lacey, that I realized “Why not share it with everyone?”


How do you find time to organize blog tours along with reading, writing, and reviewing?

I have a time turner. Hermione found a spare one and sent it to me because I didn’t have enough hours in the day to do everything I wanted. Just kidding! Man, it looks like a lot, doesn’t it? I don’t know where the time comes from. I have a schedule I try hard to stick with and I try to be as flexible as I can with it. So far everything has worked out and it helps a lot to have an office where I do all my work. Before, I was constantly attached to my laptop because I was forever working on it. I give myself a time limit for everything and do the best I can.


Do you have any hobbies?

I like doing a few things with my spare time (Hahaha what’s that?) I LOVE going to the movies and watching some of the latest releases. My husband has me addicted to some of the recent comic movies and it’s been a lot of fun to see. He thinks I understand his passion but for me, it’s all about the sexy hero!

I also LOVE, LOVE, LOVE going to the local high school football games. I’m not ashamed to admit I used to think American football was a game for wusses because of all the padding and taking breaks between plays. I’ve been going with my BFF to watch her son play and have been completely converted. When I’m not cheering and screaming loudly, I have people explaining plays to me and thankfully, it hasn’t been too hard to understand. Now I count down the days to each game.


Did anybody in-particular inspire the main characters in the Mystic Wolves series?

Not to begin with. The idea for Mystic Wolves came from a dream I had and initially, Without Mercy was going to be a stand-alone in an anthology. It wasn’t until I released it that I started thinking of it as a series. Going into Cherished though, the more I wrote Mason, the more I realized I was channeling my husband, Mark. Both of these men have incredible patience and compassion, doing whatever it takes to show the woman they love just how important they are.


How many novellas will be in the Mystic Wolves series?

Right now I have 5-6 loosely outlined storylines. I’m not sure what will happens after that but I’m sure if Mason and Darcy have more to share, they’ll let me know and I’ll keep writing.


What would your ideal career be if you couldn't be an author or organize blog tours?

This has changed so many times. Up until the last year, my ideal career was being a therapist and working in the Mental Health field. It’s what I went to school for and I had big plans. Then I started reading which turned to blogging which turned to writing and promoting. If I couldn’t do any of that, I would still want to be in the book world. I’ve talked with my husband about opening up a book store with a café. It would be something we could do together and at nights, we could host writing workshops. Who knows what the future holds?


What are you working on now?
I’m currently working on two projects – Blood Oath, which is the next installment in the Mystic Wolves series, and Broken Promises, the first book in the Brianna Lane series. Broken Promises will be a full length novel and involves the Fae. I’m excited to share both of them with everyone, especially Blood Oath because you get a closer look at Devlin, the sexy vampire enforcer. Talk about a character that talks your ear off! He’s a lot of fun to write and he’s the perfect addition to the series.

About the author

A homesick Aussie living amongst the cactus and mountains of Arizona, Belinda Boring is a self proclaimed addict of romance and all things swoon worthy. When she's not devouring her latest read, you can find her celebrating her passion for books on her blog The Bookish Snob.

With all that excitement, it wasn’t long before she began writing, pouring her imagination and creativity into the stories she dreams. Whether urban fantasy, paranormal romance or romance in general, Belinda strives to share great plots with heart and characters that you can’t help but connect with. Of course, she wouldn’t be Belinda without adding heroes she hopes will curl your toes.

Surrounded by a supportive cast of family, friends and the man she gives her heart and soul to, Belinda is living the good life. Happy reading!


For a moment, Darcy almost convinced herself the last twelve hours didn’t happen. As image after image hits her, the sinking realization of all she’s lost overwhelms her and all she can think of is to run. Run far away where her shame can’t find her, and most of all, where she’ll never have to see the look of blame in Mason’s eyes. Feeling like a complete failure, she scrambles to make plans. But the voice of her mate-to-be penetrates her frantic thoughts, asking for the chance to show her just how much she is loved.

It hurts Mason deeply to hear Darcy’s thoughts, knowing the events of the previous night have completely rattled her. Grieving over the death of his beloved sister Jasmine, Mason knows he has to act fast. Darcy is all he’s ever wanted and the idea of life without her is unacceptable. Armed with his unswerving love and wolfish charm, he sets out to remind Darcy just how valuable she is and why there is no one else for him but her.

Can Darcy let go of the shame of failure consuming her or will Mason convince her that after all is said and done, she truly is… Cherished?


Find this book at the following places:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Smashwords

***********************************

Giveaway!!! One lucky winner will receive an ecopy of Cherished! To enter, just leave a comment on this blog post with your email address. Contest open through November 5th!

Keep following this tour, because there is an AWESOME giveaway on the final stop:


Next stop: Oct. 31st - The Worm Hole

To view a complete list of all tour stops, visit The Bookish Snob Promotions.

Friday, October 28, 2011

Review: Expendable by Maggie Jaimeson

Title: Expendable
Author: Maggie Jaimeson
Source: received through blog tour in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

After a bitter fight, Jenna Mosier's pregnant sister ran away. Now, ten years later, Tanya is dead—murdered. A bloody note clutched in her hand pleads for someone to rescue her baby—a child Jenna must find to make up for not saving her sister.

Former Marine Reed Adler thought he left danger behind when he retired from Special Ops command. But faced with a dead body and a terrified ten-year-old boy in his backyard—and a mesmerizing woman who’s tied to both—Reed finds himself pulled into his most complex mission yet.

Ensnared in a dangerous mystery involving biogenetics research and children with no identities, Jenna and Reed must rely on each other for survival. Yet the closer they get to danger, the more intense their feelings for each other become. The cost of saving her nephew may be their hearts…and their lives.




Review:




Expendable is a story full of mystery, suspense, and romance. Jenna and Reed are 2 middle aged individuals brought together by a dead body and a lost child. Jenna finds out that her sister – whom she hasn't seen in 10 years – is found dead. Jenna also finds out that her sister had a child, and it's up to her to find and protect this little boy.

Reed is a former Marine who just recently retired. Not only does he find the body of Jenna's sister and Jenna's nephew David, he also rescues Jenna from the same people who murdered her sister. When Reed and Jenna work together to figure out the murder mystery, they find that there is so much more going on than they could have ever imagined.

I haven't read a book quite like this before. I mostly stick with paranormal romances, and I don't believe I've ever read a book in the mystery/suspense genre. Romance pulls me in every time though, and a nice romance takes place in this story. Reed struggles with having PTSD. He has flashbacks that interfere with his life. I like how both of these characters are flawed, but they both have wonderful qualities as well that help strengthen each other. They are a good fit and they have good chemistry.

The plot in this book is really interesting. The villain in this story is a sick and twisted individual that adds to the complexity of the plot. There's a variety of elements in this book that will attract a variety of readers. If you're a fan of action, mystery, suspense, romance, or even erotica – then this book has something you will enjoy.


Find this book at the following places:
Amazon (paperback)
Amazon (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble
The Wild Rose Press

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Fate Fixed blog tour!


Welcome to the Fate Fixed blog tour! I am excited to be part of this tour - I've actually had my eye on this book for awhile now :) Keep reading for more on this book, and an interview with the author!

***********************************

When did you begin writing?

Other than the occasional poem or journal entry, I began writing in May of this year. I had the idea for the Erris Coven Series and just knew I wanted to write Fate Fixed.


What is your biggest challenge of being an author?

I’m new to writing so I still have many challenges. I think the biggest is making time to write. I wish I could write every day, but I have a busy life that doesn’t want to slow down.


What do you love most about being an author?

I love hearing from readers who loved my novel! Whether they write me on Facebook or on Goodreads, I love when they are passionate about my story. I especially love it when they tell me they loved my characters. It makes me so happy.


What do you do in your spare time?

In my spare time I take care of my family and attend the University of Connecticut where I am

in my senior year.


What are some of your favorite movies/tv shows?

My favorite shows are usually supernatural in nature. The Vampire Diaries, True Blood, Being Human, Haven and The Nine Lives of Chloe King are probably my favorites. For movies, I love Life as a House, The Twilight Saga, Requiem for a Dream, and Charlie St. Cloud, to name a few.


Who are some of your favorite authors?

I love Jane Austen, Christopher Pike, Megg Jensen, Frank McCourt, and Melissa Marr.


How many books have you written?

The only book I have published is Fate Fixed, although I have a few more in the works.


What would your ideal career be, if you couldn't be an author?

I would be a social worker in an adoption agency. My youngest is adopted and I would love to help make families happy and complete each day!


Do you have any advice for other writers?

Only to give yourself permission to write the story only you can tell. Flick the critic off your

shoulder when it tries to tell you that you do not have a story to tell.


What are you currently working on?

I am currently putting the finishing touches on Blood Twist: Book 2 in The Erris Coven Series.


About the author:

Bonnie Wheeler lives in Torrington, Connecticut with her husband and three children. When she isn’t writing or spending time with her family, she is attending classes at the University of Connecticut. Bonnie loves cooking, writing, reading, and shopping. Fate Fixed was released in July and is the first novel in The Erris Coven Series. She is hoping to release the sequel later this Fall.

Find the author at her blog:

http://fatefixed.blogspot.com/

When Lexie Anderson’s mother suddenly announces she is marrying a Romanian immigrant, Lexie willingly leaves behind her busy life in Connecticut for her penance in “The Moose Capital of the World.” Small town living is strange enough, now Lexie must cope with her overbearing stepfamily monitoring her every move. They disappear into the woods at night and keep a strange secret locked in their shed. Her once calm mother is now having violent outbursts and Lexie’s little sister is hearing sinister sounds coming from the forest behind their new home. Lexie’s biggest surprise comes when she discovers the boy she has been dreaming about since her accident is living in Maine. Despite Torin’s questionable reputation, Lexie cannot resist the physical and emotional attraction pulsating between them. Animals and people in town are turning up dead and Lexie learns the strange new world she lives in has real life monsters. Just when she decides she wants to be with Torin forever, she must fight to protect her mother and sister from being harmed by a formidable evil.

Find this book at the following places:

Amazon (Kindle)

Amazon (paperback)

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords


Keep following this tour for chances to win! On the last stop of the tour, Bonnie will be giving away 3 ecopies and 1 signed copy of Fate Fixed! Visit The Bookish Snob Promotions for a complete list of tour stops.