Sunday, April 12, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Hard to Be Good by Laura Kaye

Welcome to the Hard to Be Good blog tour! This is part of a great series by Laura Kaye. Keep reading to see my review, learn more about this book, and also to check out an awesome giveaway!
(Note - this will be one of my last posts on this blog. Be sure to follow my new blog Paperback Opinion)

Hard to Be Good (Hard Ink #3.5)

Hard Ink Tattoo owner Jeremy Rixey has taken on his brother’s stateside fight against the forces that nearly killed Nick and his Special Forces team a year before. Now, Jeremy’s whole world has been turned upside down—not the least of which by a brilliant, quiet blond man who tempts Jeremy to settle down for the first time ever.

Recent kidnapping victim Charlie Merritt has always been better with computers than people, so when he’s drawn into the SF team’s investigation of his army colonel father’s corruption, he’s surprised to find acceptance and friendship—especially since his father never accepted who Charlie was. Even more surprising is the heated tension Charlie feels with sexy, tattooed Jeremy, Charlie’s opposite in almost every way.

With tragedy and chaos all around them, temptation flashes hot, and Jeremy and Charlie can’t help but wonder why they’re trying so hard to be good...

My Review:

Hard to Be Good is a great little addition to the Hard Ink series by Laura Kaye. It's a novella about tattoo shop owner Jeremy – a character who has been a fan favorite since the beginning! Jeremy has always been the laid back, funny guy – the one who only seems to own t-shirts with sexual innuendos on them.

I've been a fan of Jeremy from book #1, and was hoping he would get his own story, even though he's not part of the Special Forces team. I had no idea he was bi until it was hinted at recently in another book. It was great to see Jeremy find happiness with Charlie, who has recently been kidnapped and tortured. The guys are complete opposites of each other, with Charlie being so shy, but they are a great pair. Both are great characters and deserve to be happy. I loved how all the other characters in the book were so accepting and happy for them.

The book has some VERY steamy scenes. They were a little outside my comfort zone because I'm not used to reading books with gay characters, but that's ok. This book has sweet and funny moments as well. And I loved that they found a one eyed cat and named it Cyclops. About 10 years ago, I found a cute little black kitten outside my work the night before Halloween. I couldn't resist it, so I took it home. There was something wrong with one of its eyes, and it was obviously blind out of that eye. My husband nicknamed it Cyclops. No joke. It ended up being kind of evil, but that's another story...

I am totally looking forward to Beckett's story next! He is the mysterious one of the bunch. This is a great series and I can't wait to see how it ends.

Find this book at the following places:


About the author:

Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over twenty books in contemporary and paranormal romance and romantic suspense. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. She lives in Maryland with her husband, two daughters, and cute-but-bad dog, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, April 2, 2015

New Blog!!!

Hi everyone!!! Please follow me to my brand new blog! I have changed my name slightly, to Paperback Opinion instead of Paranormal Opinion. When I first started this blog 4 years ago, I was reading only paranormal romances (hence the name). Now, my tastes have changed. Don't get me wrong, I still love a good paranormal romance - but I find that I'm reading a lot more non-paranormal romances. I don't want readers and authors to be turned away by thinking that I only review paranormal books on here. And I was ready for a new look anyway ;) Of course, this means that I have to start all over on followers. So help me out and follow my new blog (and share). I will be hosting more giveaways over there!!! 

New blog:

New Facebook page:

New Twitter page:

Thanks for all your support!

Saturday, March 28, 2015

Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

 Title: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Source: Purchased


When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.


Ugly Love is another wonderful, emotional romance by Colleen Hoover. The heroine in this story is Tate, a young woman who moves to San Francisco to work on her master's degree for nursing. She moves in with her brother Corbin, who is an airline pilot. She meets her brother's friend Miles, who is also a pilot. And he lives just across the hall.

Tate is extremely attracted to Miles, but he is so closed off. He doesn't smile, show emotion, or talk about himself. Miles hasn't been with a woman for 6 years. Tate is the first woman to make him feel something since his life shattered 6 years ago. Miles offers Tate a sex-only relationship. The rules are that she's not allowed to ask about his past or expect a future. Tate agrees, even though she knows deep down that she won't be able to handle not having anything more than just sex from Miles. But that's all he's offering and she will take any part of him that she can get.

The chapters alternate points of view between Tate and Miles. Tate's chapters are told from the present. Miles chapters are mostly told from his past. You know that something big happened to Miles, but it's revealed very slowly throughout the book. You get to know why Miles is the way he is, including why he is so terrified of loving somebody. Every time Tate melts some of the ice around his heart, he pushes her away. He hurts her over and over until she can no longer take it.

This is such an emotional story. I don't want to give too much away, but I just have to say that I hate Rachel. We don't really get to know her, but I hate her for making Miles the way he is. For letting him believe that she blamed him for all those years.

I have to admit, the shift from past to present was distracting to me. It was really hard for me to read about Miles falling in love with Rachel in one chapter, and then read how Tate was falling in love with Miles in the next chapter. I realize it was necessary to show everything Miles went through, to fully understand how hard everything was on him. It was just hard to read.

The sex scenes between Miles and Tate were pretty steamy. I loved it. I knew that Miles was starting to have feelings for Tate, even though he refused to admit it. And I loved the slightly forbidden aspect of their relationship, because they were keeping it a secret from Tate's brother Corbin.

Everything that Colleen Hoover writes is so epic. She invokes so many feelings in all of her books. Corbin totally needs his own book, and so does Miles' friend Ian. I really hope that Colleen isn't finished with these characters!

Visit the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Review: Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover

 Title: Maybe Not (Maybe #1.5)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Source: Purchased


Colleen Hoover, the New York Times bestselling author of Maybe Someday brilliantly brings to life the story of the wonderfully hilarious and charismatic Warren in a new novella, Maybe Not.

When Warren has the opportunity to live with a female roommate, he instantly agrees. It could be an exciting change.

Or maybe not.

Especially when that roommate is the cold and seemingly calculating Bridgette. Tensions run high and tempers flare as the two can hardly stand to be in the same room together. But Warren has a theory about Bridgette: anyone who can hate with that much passion should also have the capability to love with that much passion. And he wants to be the one to test this theory.

Will Bridgette find it in herself to warm her heart to Warren and finally learn to love?


Maybe not.



I'm so glad that Colleen Hoover wrote this follow up novella told from Warren's point of view. I absolutely loved Maybe Someday and wasn't ready to be done with the characters. Warren's character is just hilarious. I was a little curious about his relationship with Bridgette.

Honestly, I hated Bridgette in Maybe Someday. I'm still not a huge fan of her, but I dislike her a little less now. This book shows that she actually has some feelings – she just doesn't like them to show. She's slowly getting better though.

This was such a steamy read. I think these love scenes were steamier than any that I have read from Colleen so far. Colleen – you need to do this more often! I liked it!!! I would have liked to see more steam like this between Ridge and Sydney in Maybe Someday, but that's ok. Oh, and I loved how we got to see why Warren had such a porn obsession. Hilarious!

I definitely recommend reading Maybe Someday first. Find that book here:

Find Maybe Not here:

Monday, March 23, 2015

Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Title: The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend)
Author: Kody Keplinger
Source: Purchased


Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, a biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. But things aren't so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn't such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she's falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.


The DUFF is an interesting and realistic look at teen life. I actually saw the trailer for the movie before I knew about the book. But I always like reading the books first, so I held off on the movie. When I saw the trailer, I just assumed that this was about college life. I love books about college aged students – though I really don't know why because I'm in my thirties... But anyway, I was a little surprised that Bianca – the main character – was in high school.

Honestly, I've been steering clear of young adult books lately because some of them are just too squeaky clean for me. However, The DUFF is not a squeaky clean book. I was actually surprised at how much sex there was in the book. The scenes aren't graphic, but some parents might not want their teens reading this. When a young adult book has sex scenes in them, I'm used to them at least being between two characters who are in love and have been together for awhile. That doesn't apply to most of the scenes in this book, but the characters do eventually fall for each other.

Bianca is a character I really liked. She's a very smart and cynical girl. She's not skinny or beautiful, but her two best friends are. Her confidence takes a bigger hit when Wesley, the school man-whore, tells her that she is the DUFF – the designated ugly fat friend. He is interested in her friends, so his goal is to get in good with Bianca. He thinks that if he is seen talking with the poor chubby girl that nobody is interested in, her friends will think he's a great guy. Bianca's not about to give him the time of day – she throws her drink on him and walks away.

In the beginning I assumed that her friends were using her to make themselves look better. I thought they would be the stereotypical popular mean girls. But they weren't that way at all. They didn't even know what a DUFF was, and they never saw Bianca that way. They were great friends to her.

Things are falling apart at home for Bianca, and she needs some sort of distraction. For some reason, she ends up kissing Wesley and likes it – even though she is convinced that she hates him. She uses him for sex because she doesn't think about all her problems when she is with him. Eventually, she finds out that Wesley's home life isn't so great either. They even sort of become friends. And then more...

In the end, there is a good message about having safe sex and there is also a good message about accepting yourself the way you are. I've been feeling pretty torn about what rating to give this book. I normally don't like books that have sex that doesn't mean anything. And I like some build-up to it – you know, sexual tension and all that. I like the characters to be falling for each other BEFORE they hit the sheets. It bothered me how, in the beginning, Bianca was complaining about all the girls who sleep with Wesley and she talked about how they probably have diseases. So, when she decided to just suddenly have sex with just didn't feel right to me. Bianca seemed to smart for that. However, I liked how Bianca and Wesley changed throughout the book and became better people in the end.

Visit the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Review: Losing It by Cora Carmack

 Title: Losing It (Losing It #1)
Author: Cora Carmack
Source: Purchased



Bliss Edwards is about to graduate from college and still has hers. Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, she decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible-- a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.


Losing It is the first book in the Losing It series by Cora Carmack. This book is about Bliss, a senior in college who is still a virgin. She is determined to lose her virginity, so her friend takes her to a bar to help her find a man that will help her with her predicament. None of the guys are really interesting her, until she sees one in the back of the bar – reading Shakespeare. His name is Garrick and not only is he handsome, he has an adorable British accent.

She takes him home, but then freaks out once she has him naked in her bed. This scene was so hilariously awkward. I felt embarrassed and I wasn't even the one this was happening to. She runs out of her apartment with a stupid excuse about needing to get her cat – a cat that she doesn't even have. And she leaves Garrick naked in her bed.

If things couldn't get worse, the next morning Bliss finds out that Garrick is her new theatre professor. This book is too funny and completely adorable. I loved how awkward Bliss is, and her need to ramble when she's feeling nervous. Luckily, she didn't scare Garrick away. He still wants her, and she wants him. But she doesn't want him to find out that she is still a virgin and doesn't really have a cat. Oh, and also the whole relationship thing is sort of forbidden...

I'll admit, that it took me a little bit to “get into” the relationship between Bliss and Garrick. Bliss has a guy friend named Cade, whom she finds out likes her in a romantic way. I was actually rooting for Bliss and Cade for a little while. He just seems like such a great guy and I felt bad for him. I really liked how the book ended up though. Luckily, I noticed that the second book in this series is centered around Cade. I'd love to see him happy, and can't wait to read his book!

I really thought that this book was going to be more graphic than it was when it came to sex. It had the perfect amount of steam and sweet romance. If you're a fan of New Adult romances, then I definitely recommend this book. 

Visit the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Name Change???

When I first started this blog in 2011, paranormal romances were all the rage. That's all I read at the time, which is how I came up with the name Paranormal Opinion. Now though, I read more NON paranormal books than I do paranormal books. I was thinking about a name change, but I'm not sure. I have a lot of followers and don't want to confuse people. If I change my blog name, then I will need to get a new blog - and that will mean starting all over with followers. However, I don't want authors/readers thinking that I only review paranormal books and I feel like my blog name is misleading now. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

 Title: Maybe Someday
Author: Colleen Hoover
Source: Purchased


At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can't take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.



I have never been more frustrated with finishing a book. I'm so frustrated that I feel like I could cry. Or maybe part of that is because my body is so overwhelmed with the amount of emotions that I have felt while reading this. When I turned the last page, I was wanting more so badly. I didn't know it was the last page. I was scared to look while I was reading, because I knew I was nearing the end and didn't want it to be over.

Don't get me wrong...there is no cliffhanger. The book ended perfectly. I'm just so upset that it is over. I want more. I want to see what happens with these characters. And then I got to the acknowledgments at the end and saw that Colleen had mentioned this being her first stand-alone. Then I was just horrified. I mean, I know that there is a novella about a couple of background characters. And for that I'm happy. I'll take anything I can get. And I'm off to buy that as soon as I get done writing this.

This book took the place of my favorite book of all time. Why did I have it on my shelf for so long before I read it? I can't even do this book justice by writing a normal review and talking about the storyline and characters. I'm just in awe. And feeling a wee bit emotional. I've never had a reaction like this to finishing a book before. And this is why Colleen Hoover is my favorite author of all time. If you like romance at all, you HAVE to read this book. Parts of it are so gut-wrenching, but it's worth it. This will be a book you will never forget.

Now here's the part where I beg and plead Colleen to write a book about Ridge's brother Brennan. I would love to know more about him. And I would love for Ridge and Sydney to make an appearance. My heart won't be able to handle it otherwise. I'm not trying to give Colleen a guilt trip... Well, maybe just a tiny bit... Please. Please. Please.

(Oh. And the soundtrack to this book is wonderful. I haven't listened to the last 2 songs yet. But I will. I'm just afraid I'll start bawling when I hear them. And my husband is sitting right next to me and I don't want him thinking that I have fallen off the deep end.)

Visit Colleen here:

Purchase Maybe Someday at the following places:

And here is the link to the music from the Maybe Someday soundtrack:

Monday, March 9, 2015

Review: Try With Me by Elyssa Patrick

 Title: Try With Me (With Me #3)
Author: Elyssa Patrick
Source: Received from author in exchange for an honest review


There is nothing happily ever after about my life. My mom is dying of breast cancer. I work four jobs just to keep us going.

What I don't need to deal with?

Jamie McAlister.

Yeah. Him. Blond, tall, gorgeous. I had a crush on him throughout high school, but he never knew I existed. I don’t even think he knows my name. I was too shy to say a word to him. It seems that everywhere I go, he’s there. And now? He’s kissed me—a lot. And those hot kisses have led to even hotter nights.

I’m falling for him, head over heels. But I don't know how to fit Jamie into my life. I only know I need him. Which means I have to try for something I never thought was possible. I have to fight for him and a forever kind of love.

New Adult/Contemporary Romance with a HEA - Recommended for ages 17 and older.


Try With Me is the third book in the With Me series by Elyssa Patrick. I love this series, and this book was amazing. I love all the characters in this series. I love how each book focuses on a different person, but all the characters show up in all the books. The hero in this story is Jamie. He's the good looking, laid-back funny guy that has brought a lot of humor to this series. There's more to Jamie than what you see on the surface though.

This book is told from the point of view of Zelda – a young woman who has had a crush on Jamie since high school. She was never part of the cool crowd though, like Jamie, and never thought that he even knew her name. She couldn't have been more wrong.

First of all, I have to say that Zelda's name drove me nuts. Other than that, the book was awesome! I stayed up until 4:30 reading because I couldn't put the book down. Zelda reminded me so much of myself. No friends. No self-confidence. But she has such a horrible life. She has no family other than her mom, who is dying of cancer. Zelda is working 4 jobs and living in a run down apartment to take care of her mom. She finds out that her mom, the only person she has in life, only has 6 weeks left to live. And then Zelda's junker of a car dies, and she doesn't have the money to fix it. Everything that could go wrong does go wrong.

Jamie comes into her life though, and reminds her that she doesn't have to carry this burden alone. Zelda is so inexperienced, so I was surprised that her and Jamie moved so quickly with their relationship. The love scenes were hot. But it wasn't all about sex. I don't like books where the characters have sex without caring about each other. And I normally like more time and sexual tension before the characters jump into bed together. This book worked though.

This book also made me cry. That doesn't happen very often. Parts of this book were so very sad. And Zelda's character made me mad a time or two during her grieving process – the way she treated people... But I had to remind myself that I've never been in her shoes and everyone handles grief differently. I want to add though, that this book DOES have a happy ending. I don't read books without happy endings. Well, I try not to anyway. I hate it when books make me sad, but I knew a happy ending was coming so I was able to get though it.

The author really made me feel the emotions in the book, and that is one of the reasons why Elyssa Patrick is one of my favorite authors. This book was amazing and definitely deserves 5 stars. I am so excited for Griff's book. And I really hope that Griff's brother Jack gets his own book. I loved how Jamie is just so sure that Jack is a secret agent, and Jack's quiet, brooding demeanor and irritation with Jamie was just hilarious.

Visit the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Sunday, March 8, 2015

Review: Deeper by Robin York

 Title: Deeper (Caroline & West #1)
Author: Robin York
Source: Purchased


In Robin York’s sizzling debut, a college student is attacked online and must restore her name—and stay clear of a guy who’s wrong for her, but feels so right.

When Caroline Piasecki’s ex-boyfriend posts their sex pictures on the Internet, it destroys her reputation as a nice college girl. Suddenly her once-promising future doesn’t look so bright. Caroline tries to make the pictures disappear, hoping time will bury her shame. Then a guy she barely knows rises to her defense and punches her ex to the ground.

West Leavitt is the last person Caroline needs in her life. Everyone knows he’s shady. Still, Caroline is drawn to his confidence and swagger—even after promising her dad she’ll keep her distance. On late, sleepless nights, Caroline starts wandering into the bakery where West works.

They hang out, they talk, they listen. Though Caroline and West tell each other they’re “just friends,” their feelings intensify until it becomes impossible to pretend. The more complicated her relationship with West gets, the harder Caroline has to struggle to discover what she wants for herself—and the easier it becomes to find the courage she needs to fight back against the people who would judge her.

When all seems lost, sometimes the only place to go is deeper.


Deeper is the first book in the Caroline & West series by Robin York. It's a good New Adult romance that has an important plot line. It sends a good message to young women – never send anyone pictures of yourself that you wouldn't want others to see...and never EVER let your boyfriends take sex pictures of you.

Caroline is a good girl who was just trying to please her long-term boyfriend. However, when she broke things off with him – he decided to post her sex pictures all over the internet. Caroline is going to college in hopes to someday become a judge, and she is afraid how this will affect her future. She tries her best to have her photos deleted from as many sites as possible, but mostly she just wants to hide and fade into the background.

West is a guy at school who Caroline is interested in – especially after he stands up for her to her ex-boyfriend. West is kind of a shady character though. He is very mysterious, but one thing she knows is that he sells pot. She can't get mixed up with someone like him with the type of future she is wanting. Even her dad has told her to stay away from him. But there is something about him that she is drawn to.

The book is a little slow moving, but a nice romance develops between West and Caroline. Being with West makes her happy, and it makes her realize that she needs to stand up for herself and take action against her ex.

The frustrating thing about this book is the ending. It definitely didn't end the way I wanted it to, and I want to know what happens in the next book. I looked it up on Amazon though and book #2 is $8 – for the ebook. I have a personal rule that I never spend that much money on ebooks. I read so many books, that if I spent $8 on each ebook I would be broke. So, I'm torn. Maybe I will see if my library has the sequel. 

Learn more about the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Friday, March 6, 2015

Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Hurricane by R.J. Prescott

The Hurricane by R.J. Prescott
Publication date: February 16th 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance

Emily McCarthy is living in fear of a dark and dangerous past. A gifted mathematician, she is little more than a hollow, broken shell, trying desperately to make ends meet long enough to finish her degree.

Through an unlikely friendship with the aging, cantankerous owner of an old boxing gym, Em is thrown into the path of the most dangerous man that she has ever met.

Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell is cut, tattooed and dangerous. He is a lethal weapon with no safety and everyone is waiting for the mis-fire. He’s never been knocked out before, but when he meet Em he falls, HARD. Unlike any other girl he’s ever met, she doesn’t want anything from him, but just being around her makes him want to be a better person.

They are polar opposites who were never meant to find each other, but some things are just worth the fight.

My Review:

The Hurricane is a New Adult romance that was recently released by R.J. Prescott. The heroine, Emily, is a college student who is barely surviving on her waitressing job. She has ran from her horrible past, and doesn't have anyone in her life. She is a scared, timid young woman who is trying to start a new life.

She becomes friends with an old man who gives her a job doing the bookkeeping at the boxing gym that he owns. Through him, she meets Cormac – a hot, dangerous Irish fighter that Emily can't keep her eyes off of. Because of her abusive past, she shouldn't be attracted to someone who likes to hit people. Cormac is gentle on the inside though, and she can't resist him. He makes her feel safe.

Cormac is used to women dropping their panties for him, but he seems to like the challenge of Emily. He can tell that she is fragile, and does his best not to scare her off. She is like no other woman that he has been with.

These two are so cute together. She makes him want to be a better person, and he really brings her out of her shell. Emily's character really grows and becomes more confident throughout the book. There are some really steamy scenes in this book, but they take their relationship slowly.

The background characters were great and definitely made the story more lively. I could see a few great sequels being written from these characters, especially Kieran, Tommy and Nikki. I'll be looking forward to more books by this new author. 


 About the author:
I was born in Cardiff, South Wales although I left to study law at the University of Bristol, England. Four weeks before graduation I fell in love, and stayed. Ten years later I convinced my crazy, wonderful fire fighter husband to move back to Cardiff with me where we live with our two equally crazy sons. Juggling work, writing and family doesn’t leave a lot of time, but curling up on the sofa with a cup of tea and a bar of chocolate for family movie night is definitely the best part of my week. “The Hurricane” is my debut New Adult Novel. 

Tour-wide giveaway (INTL)
  • $25 Amazon gift card
  • 2x $10 Amazon gift cards
  • 4 tote swag bags (incl. notebook, pencil, postcards, bookmarks and pin)
  • 8 designer swag items such as bookmarks, key chains and bracelets

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Review: Stepbrother Dearest by Penelope Ward

 Title: Stepbrother Dearest
Author: Penelope Ward
Source: Purchased


You’re not supposed to want the one who torments you.

When my stepbrother, Elec, came to live with us my senior year, I wasn’t prepared for how much of a jerk he’d be.

I hated that he took it out on me because he didn’t want to be here.
I hated that he brought girls from our high school back to his room.
But what I hated the most was the unwanted way my body reacted to him.

At first, I thought all he had going for him were his rock-hard tattooed abs and chiseled face. Then, things started changing between us, and it all came to a head one night.

Just as quickly as he’d come into my life, he was gone back to California.

It had been years since I’d seen Elec.

When tragedy struck our family, I’d have to face him again.

And holy hell, the teenager who made me crazy was now a man that drove me insane.

I had a feeling my heart was about to get broken again.

Stepbrother Dearest is a standalone novel.

**Contains graphic sexual content and harsh language. It is only appropriate for adult readers age 18+


Stepbrother Dearest is a book that I just had to buy after reading all of the rave reviews. The forbidden aspect also helped to spark my interest in this book. However, this romance only works for me because these two characters didn't grow up together and they are not blood related.

Greta is a great character. She is fairly innocent and nice – almost too nice. She kind of reminds me of myself in ways. Elec is a bit of a jerk, but his antics to get under Greta's skin were pretty funny.

After a lot of fighting and sexual tension, these two finally gave into temptation knowing they may never see each other again. The problem is, they ended up falling for each other.

7 years and one tragedy later, they end up meeting again. Elec is in a serious relationship and it's all kinds of awkward. The fighting and sexual tension come back into play, and the book is hard to put down.

These two have a really steamy romance going on and I really enjoyed the book. There were just a couple of things that bothered me a little...

      1. Elec's autobiography that he wrote was a little boring. I mean, I liked reading some of the story from his perspective, but a lot of it was word-for-word storyline that we had already read.
      2. It wrapped up a little too quickly for me.

Overall, it's a good story and if you're a fan of forbidden romances – then I definitely recommend this book!

Find this author here:

Purchase this book at the following places:

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Review: Archer's Voice by Mia Sheridan

Title: Archer's Voice
Author: Mia Sheridan
Source: Purchased


When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer's Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.


Archer's Voice is a stand-alone book by Mia Sheridan. This is a beautiful love story about two people fighting their own internal battles. The heroine, Bree, spontaneously leaves her home to get away from life. She finds a lakeside cottage in Maine to rent, but doesn't know how long she will stay. Soon after arriving in this small town, she runs into a mysterious man. He has a long, unkempt beard (and hair) – and he doesn't speak – but yet Bree feels instantly drawn to him.

Archer has lived a horrible, lonely life. Not only that, he was shot in the neck as a child and cannot speak. He is a hermit and barely leaves his house. He isn't able to communicate with anyone in town, so all the residents don't really have anything to do with him. Bree is the first person to barge into his life wanting to know more about him.

I thought Bree was a little too forward and pushy with him in the beginning. Yet, I think he needed that because his walls were built up so high and he wasn't letting anyone in. She gradually chipped down those walls until she got to know what a wonderful person Archer is. Both of these characters are wonderful in their own way. Also, Bree already knew sign language because her father was deaf – so things just worked out perfectly.

Archer has lived such an odd lifestyle for so long, that there were so many things he hadn't experienced. He hadn't experienced affection since he was a little boy, so a relationship with a woman was hard for him. He was definitely inexperienced in that category, but it was fun seeing him try new things. This book is definitely steamy and will make you swoon. I loved seeing all the great changes that Bree brings out in Archer. He definitely grows as a person. These two are just perfect for each other. If you love romances, this book is a must read!

Visit the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Sunday, February 8, 2015

Free eBooks!

**Note - I have no idea how long these will remain free **

Title: Promisis (Syrenka #1)
Author: Amber Garr

Sometimes following your heart can end up destroying the ones you love.

When seventeen-year-old Eviana Dumahl is faced with the responsibility of an arranged marriage and clan leadership, she is forced to choose between the life required of a mermaid and one of a teenage girl simply infatuated with the wrong guy. Kain, her devoted fiance, would make a wonderful husband except that she's been in love with Brendan, a shape-shifting selkie, ever since they were kids. Choosing to abandon her family, her clan, and her life with Kain will have dire consequences far beyond anything she could have imagined.

A war is brewing amongst the clans and Eviana unwittingly becomes a pawn in the intricate schemes of a twisted mastermind. With Brendan's life on the line, she has no choice but to involve those she once considered friends. Amidst encountering senseless tragedies and immense loss, Eviana discovers that she is more valuable as a clan leader than anyone ever suspected. Her survival is not only dependent upon the loyalty of her friends, but also on her acceptance of a life she so adamantly tried to escape.
Free on Amazon and B&N
 Title: Bound (Dark Reflections #1)
Author: Dean Murray
The only thing worse than having no family at all, is having a family that is out to hurt you. That would all be bad enough for a normal 17-year-old, but it's even worse for Alec Graves. A shape shifter's pack, his family, is the only thing stopping the other preternatural creatures out there from killing them.

Alec's pack isn't just neglectful, he's pretty sure that his father wants him dead. Alec is about to be sent to the front lines of a war between his people and everything else that goes bump in the night. His only chance of survival is to convince everyone around him that he's the perfect soldier, but there are lines that Alec won't cross, not for any price.

Publisher's Note: Dean Murray's ongoing Reflection Series has been a stunning success with hundreds of thousands of copies in circulation, and a rich, complex world where choices—right or wrong—have real, profound consequences. Unsatisfied with the restrictions imposed on him by writing inside of the conventional series structure, Dean has returned to Sanctuary and the characters so many fans have fallen in love with.

Bound is the first in Dean's new Dark Reflections novels, an alternate timeline set in the same world and featuring many of the same characters, but with a profoundly different backstory.
Readers new to Dean Murray's writing can start with Bound in the Dark Reflections Series or Broken in the Reflections Series.
Free on Amazon and B&N
  My Paper Heart (My Paper Heart #1)
Author: Magan Vernon
There are worse things in life than failing out of college- such as having your parents receive the letter that you’ve been kicked out.
Now to appease her parents self-proclaimed sorority princess Libby Gentry is packing up her Prada bag and heading to work for her great aunt’s antique store in tiny Elsbury, Louisiana. She’s pretty sure she can tackle the swamp and deal with her great aunt and tom boy of a little cousin, but what she doesn’t know is if she can handle the local town playboy, Blaine Crabtree.

As Libby's feelings for Blaine grow, so does her need for acceptance and all of the insecurities she has kept inside are coming out. She may have survived the Louisiana swamp, but she may not survive Blaine's reluctance to say the 'L' word. When Blaine finally commits to the three words Libby’s been waiting for, she only hopes they haven’t come too late.

**This book does contain some mild language and sexual content. It is meant for upper YA readers**
Free on Amazon and B&N
  Title: Arouse (Spiral of Bliss #1)
Author: Nina Lane
"One day I'm going to touch you in a thousand different ways and show you how to touch me," he said. And he did.

Struggling with a tormented past, undergraduate Olivia Winter once led a practical but isolated life. Then she met Professor Dean West, a brilliant scholar of medieval history who melted Liv's inhibitions and taught her the meaning of both love and erotic pleasure. But after three years of a blissful, lusty marriage, Liv and Dean now face a crisis that threatens everything they believe about each other. And when dark secrets and temptations rise to the surface, the fallout might break them apart forever.
Free on Amazon
  Title: Crush (Crush #1)
Author: Lacey Weatherford
Cami Wimberley has a plan, and that plan includes no room for boys—especially the big time party animal, Hunter Wilder, no matter how handsome and charismatic he is. She’s beautiful, a senior, extremely talented, gets good grades, and is working her way toward her dream college to be a musical theater major. Everything is perfect.

Hunter Wilder does not want a girlfriend—that would complicate his life way too much right now. He especially doesn’t want this girl, Miss-Goody-Two-Shoes, so how come he can’t keep his eyes off her? He tries to keep her at arms length, but fate seems to keep pushing them together. Before long, it’s obvious to everyone they’re crushing on each other.

As sparks begin to fly, Hunter finds himself sinking deeper and deeper into hot water. Soon he’s scrambling to keep Cami from discovering his dark secret—one that can destroy their entire relationship.
Free on Amazon and B&N
  Title: Chasing Nikki (Chasing Nikki #1)
Author: Lacey Weatherford
A broken heart.
A troubled past.
An unexpected romance that changes everything.
Will love and trust be enough to overcome the ultimate test?

Chase Walker used to be a good kid--charming, athletic, and with a bright future ahead, but that was before travesty struck his life, sinking him into deep despair. Caught up in a world of drugs and alcohol, he doesn't notice time slipping away until he's arrested for underage drinking one night.

Fed up with watching her son destroy his life, Chase's mom relocates him to live in a small ranching community with his ex-military grandfather. Chase is far from happy about the situation until he meets, Nikki, the cute cheerleader who won't give football players like him the time of day.

Chase enjoys a good challenge though and sets out to claim Nikki for his own. He soon discovers she's more than a pretty face--she's a balm to his troubled spirit also. But when tragedy strikes Nikki's life too, suddenly Chase finds himself put to the ultimate test. Can he trust Nikki, and all that she's taught him? Will it be enough?
Free on Amazon and B&N 
  Title: The Trouble with Spells (Of Witches and Warlocks #1)
Author: Lacey Weatherford
Portia Mullins had always lived the life of a normal teenager, up until her sixteenth birthday. She is then informed by her grandma that she is actually a witch who is a descendant of a long line of witches and warlocks. After overcoming her disbelief she finds that being a member of the coven comes with one great perk in the form of the school's handsome bad boy, Vance Mangum. Vance and Portia have an immediate connection as a budding romance begins, only to be threatened by turbulent skies on the horizon as Vance's checkered past rears its ugly head to haunt them. Portia is forced to use her untried powers in defense of everything she loves in a desperate attempt to hold on to the one thing that really matters in her life. 
Free on Amazon and B&N 
  Title: Magnificence (Gwarda Warriors #1)
Author: Madison Thorne Grey
Arturro and Isobel had the kind of love that lasts forever....In the fantasy realm above, known as Vehaven, a heartfelt action of a god inspires the creation of a new race of warriors.....And a love which was lost long ago alters the destinies of many…
Wharick, the leader of a new race of green-eyed warriors finds more than beasts and gypsies to battle when he discovers his stubborn, beautiful mate in the midst of a dark forest he is now to call home.
Born with the same binds around his wrists as his Gwarda brethren, he is the chosen leader: the Gwardian. He must unite and lead the new race of cursed warriors who now live in the black forest of Surchin. He fights with the fire of a god; he kills the roaming beasts, battles the darkness, strives only to fulfill the purpose he is constantly beckoned by the gods to achieve. However, his priorities are altered the day he hears the voice of his Destoul, his soul’s destiny. She is in the forest and she is wounded. He will stop at nothing to find her, possess her, and kill whoever dares to harm what belongs to him.
As regenerated souls find each other once again..
Keirah and her younger druid sisters are all marked with a gem as it magically appears embedded in their bodies. Now they find themselves without parents and forced to live with strangers. They soon flee from the fires of their new home into the forests that hold the most vile, the Karpartha gypsies, and the god of death’s minions, known as Kravens. They are held captive, victimized, and then separated.
Keirah begins her journey to find her beloved sisters and, while doing so, finds the destiny of her heart. She is instantly struck by the intense attraction between the Gwardian and her. Being raised fiercely independent, she struggles to admit her need and desire for the Gwarda male, because in doing so, it threatens to destroy the shields she has built up to protect her heart.

The Gwarda Warriors series
Had Keirah and her sisters known what was set in motion the day their stones appeared and how personally they would be affected by it, they would have still fought the darkness, still battled for what belonged to them. Anguish had fallen upon their people as darkness encompassed their land, but through the darkness there came light.
The new race of warriors would be their hope, their salvation, their loves’ destiny. But they too could be tainted. They too could be seduced by the black forces they had been created to fight against. If measuring by this earthly realm’s time then it’s been years but in the unseen realm above known as Vehaven, it has been but a moment.
Love knew no bounds, knew no limitations. It looked beyond the unseen realm and reached in for a taste, for a moment of regenerated happiness, and in that moment fate was altered and the destinies of many were changed.
Their land, their Northbrook, they discovered, was a very magical place...
Note: Magnificence is an adult fantasy/paranormal romance
Free on Amazon and B&N
  Title: Wicked Sense (Singularity #1)
Author: Fabio Bueno
Witches inhabit our world, organized in covens and hiding behind a shroud of secrecy—the Veil.

Skye’s London coven sends her to Seattle’s Greenwood High to find the Singularity, an unusually gifted witch who may break the Veil and trigger a dangerous new era of witch-hunting. Things get complicated when Skye meets a charming new classmate, Drake. Skye’s job becomes even trickier when she clashes with Jane, an intimidating rival witch.

Drake falls for the mysterious Skye, but odd accidents, potion mix-ups, and the occasional brush with death kind of get in the way of romance. Once he discovers Skye is a witch, he goes to war for her, even though his only weapons are a nice set of abs and a sharp sense of humor.

Fighting off wicked Jane and the other dark forces hell-bent on seizing the Singularity's immense power, Skye and Drake will risk everything to save the covens.

Going on a date has never been harder.
Free on Amazon and B&N
 Title: Give Me Love
Author: Kate McCarthy

Evie Jamieson, a former wild child, is not only a headstrong, smart-mouthed trouble magnet, she is also a lead singer with a plan. That plan involves relocating her band, including her two best friends guitarist Henry and band manager Mac, to Sydney to kick off their dreams of hitting the big time.

Jared Valentine is the older brother of Evie's best friend Mac and also the man determined to make Evie his. They strike up a long distance friendship which suits Evie because she's determined to avoid the distraction of love, not only because it doesn't fit in with her plan but because twice in the past it has left her for dead. Moving to Sydney however, has put her directly in Jared's path and he has decided it's the perfect opportunity to make his play.

Unfortunately Jared, co-owner in a business that 'consults' in dangerous hostage and kidnapping situations, makes an enemy who's determined to enact revenge. When this enemy puts Evie in his sights, Jared not only has a fight on his hands to make her his own, but also to keep her alive.

Is accepting the love he's so desperate to give worth the risk to both her heart...and her life?
Free on Amazon and B&N