Thursday, November 20, 2014

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: Bulletproof by Melissa Pearl


Bulletproof by Melissa Pearl
Release Day Blitz

November 20, 2014

Morgan Pritchett doesn't need anyone. Strong-willed and confident, she's the master of organizing and looking after everyone around her. In her mind, she's bulletproof.
But she has one weakness - men. She can't seem to live without them, yet is unable to find her perfect match. After yet another break up, Morgan promises her sister and best friend that she'll write off men for the rest of the year...but then she meets Sean Jaxon.
Sean Jaxon has worked hard to become a Hollywood actor, scoring minor roles and slowly making a name for himself as an action sidekick. After a chance encounter with the stunning Morgan Pritchett, he decides to take a risk and put his dancing skills to the test by signing on for the lead role in Superstar, a TV musical. He never thought he'd reconnect with the girl who urged him to ignore his manager and be honest with himself, but when Morgan shows up on the set as a production assistant, he realizes he's found his ultimate weakness - her.
Their passion for dance and music will bring them together, but will their relationship be able to withstand the forces determined to pull them apart? As Morgan comes face-to-face with her long-buried demons and Sean decides just how much he's willing to risk for love, these two songbirds discover something...they're not as bulletproof as they thought.


BUY IT AT:
Amazon: http://bit.ly/BulletproofAM



******************************************


My Review:





Bulletproof is the second book in the Songbird series by Melisa Pearl. This book is about Morgan, a young woman who recently graduated college – but yet is still waiting to find a job in the field she wants to be in. She gets hired as a producer's assistant, but the producer is a jerk to her and she hates her new job. The only ray of light is getting to see Sean, the handsome actor in this TV musical.

This book is kind of hard for me to review. I absolutely loved the first book in this series, but this one was a little hard for me to get into. I really don't know why. I think this is one of those instances where I can say, “It's not you, it's me”. There was nothing wrong with this story – it was a nice romance. I just couldn't connect to Morgan and Sean's relationship. I think their relationship started off too quickly to me instead of building up to it.

Both characters are great people. Morgan is a strong, independent heroine who is always helping everyone else. Sean is a sweetheart, but was too caught up in his career. The struggles of having a romance in Hollywood was interesting, and it was nice seeing an interracial couple. There were some love scenes, but not very descriptive. Still, I would gear this book toward the 18+ audience.

Overall, this was a good story. I would recommend that contemporary romance readers give this book a chance. I suggest starting with book #1 – Fever ( I gave that one 5 stars). I am looking forward to Jody's book – Morgan's sister. I think there is potential for a great story there. 





******************************************



~*~ABOUT MELISSA PEARL~*~
 
Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan... not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. "Best. Year. Ever!!" She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books. Recently she signed with Evatopia Press and her first Evatopia book was released in February 2014 - True Colors, The Masks Series #1. She is very excited to be trying out new things this year while continuing to publish under her own name as well. She has six books releasing in 2014 and is excited about writing each and every one of them.

"I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love."

GIVEAWAY:

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Chancing on You by Melinda Ellen


Chancing On You by Melinda Ellen
Publication date: May 13th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance


Synopsis:

I had a plan.
It was a good one as far as plans go but like everything in my life, it went to shit.
My name’s Hope Andrews and I’m an orphan.
I’ve been trying to find my place in the world for the past seventeen years but it’s not that easy. Especially when I get homed with scum like my current foster carers who prefer to get high rather than giving a shit about me.
I thought I had my plan all figured out. Sing, earn some money and then high tail it out of there on my eighteenth birthday. Then he waltzed into my life and turned it upside down. I felt things I’d never felt before. He infuriated me, messed with me and yet my body reacted to his presence regardless. But like all things, there’s an ending.

I had a plan.
No relationships. Forget my past.
My name’s Jaxon Broad and my plan went to shit as soon as I laid eyes on her.
She reminded me of everything that I was trying to forget – a past that haunted me. Just when I thought she was the light to my darkness, it was all ripped away. Like all things, there’s an ending.
But with endings, there’s always a new beginning. They just had to discover it.

*Due to sexual content, graphic language and drug references this book is intended for readers 17+*





Excerpt:



Since that day I’ve been torn. A part of me wants to fall to my knees and beg her forgiveness and the other half congratulates me on doing a job well done. I wanted her to stay away and that’s exactly what she was trying to do. So why the hell did I keep arguing with myself?

Today was no exception, I strolled into English and slipped straight into my seat and kept my eyes peeled on the door. I knew exactly who I was looking for when my heart beat picked up and I fidgeted in excitement. Hope walked in, her hair for the first time was pulled back into a braid that fell over her left shoulder leaving her face uncovered and allowing her dark blue eyes to shine. She wore black jeans that hugged her swaying hips flawlessly and I couldn’t help imagining them wrapped around my waist. I glanced away quickly as she neared, not wanting to be caught out but I let my leg fall to the side so she had no choice but to brush up against me as she slid into her desk.

The thin material of her shirt skimmed my arm and the friction from her denim clad leg caused me to break out in goose bumps that I quickly tried to cover up. I was torturing myself.

“Hey.” I murmured over to her. She didn’t reply as usual and I mentally kicked myself. This girl was driving me crazy. I just wanted to hear her voice. “Are you going to Rebecca’s party this weekend?” I swear I saw an eye roll when it occurred to me how stupid that question was. Of course she wasn’t. She was on pretty much everyone’s blacklist which I still didn’t understand.

I tapped my fingers on my desk when I thought of only one other thing that’d get a rise out of her. “You know you’re being pretty childish, ignoring me.” I taunted. I hid a victory smile as she turned to face me, her eyes narrowed into slits as she glared. Oh yeh she was pissed.

“Me, the childish one?” She seethed. “Wasn’t it you throwing out the childish remarks Tuesday?”

“Wasn’t it you having a little tantrum because I was sitting in your seat.” I air quoted for her benefit.

Hope looked at me like I was venomous. “You’re a dick.” I couldn’t help but smile back at her choice of words which only pissed her off more.

I liked this game.

“And you have a sharp tongue.”

“You don’t know anything about my tongue.” Hope hissed.

I let my eyes linger on her plump rosy lips long enough to make her squirm before I responded, “Not yet.” I had the pleasure of watching her cheeks burn red, something that seemed to happen quite frequently.

“You’ll never get to know the likes of my tongue – anywhere.” She emphasised as she glanced down at my crotch making my mind run wild as I imagined her on her knees as she wrapped her mouth around me, taking me full and suckling me hard. Damn, my dick got hard at the image and strained against my jeans.

“Besides you have Sasha and I’m sure she’s more than happy to share her STD’s with you.”

And there goes the hard on. “Don’t worry I used a condom, always do.” I scrutinized her as she looked at me in disbelief before she turned away and concentrated once again on her book. It seemed my admission that Sasha and I had sex bothered her and I couldn’t help but feel pleased.

“What no retort, princess?”

She huffed out a sigh but didn’t look at me. “What do you want me to say? Congratulations on banging one of the easiest chicks in the school. Bet that was a real milestone for you.”

“I sense sarcasm.” I leaned my head into my hand as I studied her closely. “I think you’re jealous.” Hope tensed, her body going rigid at my words. She was silent only a moment before she shifted her gaze to me.

“The fact that you’d think that, means you’re arrogant and I really don’t find cockiness attractive.”





About the author:

Melinda Ellen resides in Australia, living out her days by the beach. When she's not reading, she's writing, when really she should be working. It's addictive. It's a passion that has stemmed from her teenage years when she started off writing poetry and short stories. Now she's taken a chance and released her debut novel Chancing On You, and hopefully many more to come.

Author links:

***************************

Giveaway!!!
Win an ecopy of Chancing on You! Just fill out the form below to enter:
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
 
 
http://xpressobooktours.com/
 

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Cover Reveal: Feel by Karen-Anne Stewart

01_Feel Cover 
Publication Date: December 15, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Paranormal Romance

Add to GR Button 

The one whose emotions I can't feel is the one who makes me feel the most.
I was a sensitive, at least that's what I was told by the boy who saved me from the overwhelming emotions that consumed my soul, the boy who saved me from myself when my gift became stronger. Through the years, he was my redemption, my reason to take my next breath...then, he was gone.
Jensen always told me I was strong, but I didn't believe him until I was forced to be strong on my own, and I kept breathing without him. I've taken 42 million breaths since the moment he sent me away. Now, four years later, he's standing in front of me, and I can barely breathe.
This isn't just a story about the abilities I possess; it's a story about something much stronger...the love of the man who possesses every part of me.
***Disclaimer - Feel is intended for readers 18+ due to strong language, mature scenes, and some violence.


Praise for Karen-Anne Stewart

"Karen-Anne Stewart’s writing always captivates me from the word go….Every character, even the secondary characters are so well developed, that they become so much more to me than characters in a story, and instead feel like long-lost friends. It is the sign of a really good author that they can invoke this feeling in their readers, and Karen-Anne Stewart never fails to deliver." Sorcha O’Dowd – Old Victorian Quill
"Karen-Anne Stewart writes with grit. There is a boldness to her style that cuts through the social niceties with hardcore dialogue, brutal physical violence and sizzling passion. Ms. Stewart will sucker punch you with scenes that will make you cringe, melt your heart and frustrate the heck out of you, all within a few pages. She colors her main characters in vivid tones…each supporting character gets their own unique shade and together the effect is a kaleidoscope of colors. The world she has invented is often dark, sometimes frightening, but always memorable as she reveals each nugget of detail with precision, notching up the tension, heat and emotion. If this author can think it, she can write it, so expect to be taken completely out of your world and to walk on the wild side in hers." Dianne – Tome Tender
"Ms. Stewart develops top-notch bestseller list quality work! NO JOKE! The way that she can weave words together easily sucks you right into the story." Jamie Roberts – Reading, Eating, and Dreaming

About the Author

03_Karen-Anne Stewart 
Author of New Adult Romance who doesn't shy away from writing about sensitive issues and hot heroes.
Karen-Anne Stewart has always adored reading and has now fallen in love with writing. Her written works are The Rain Trilogy: Saving Rain, Healing Rain, and After the Rain, and the newly released stand alone novel, Ash to Steele. Her debut novel, Saving Rain: The First Novel in The Rain Trilogy, was a nominee for the Book Junkie’s Choice Awards, and Saving Rain and After the Rain were nominees for the 2014 RONE Awards.
When Karen-Anne isn’t writing, she enjoys spending time with her family and friends, hiking, and visiting new places. She fuels her addiction of creating new stories by her only other addiction, caffeine, and listening to a myriad of musical genres. Tucked away near the Blue Ridge Mountains, Karen-Anne lives with her husband, daughter, three dogs, and their cat. She plans on writing new adult romance as long as her fingers maintain dexterity.

Author Links

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Blog Tour, Review & Giveaway: #Nerd by Cambria Hebert

Synopsis
Two people from completely different worlds are about to be thrown together…

In more ways than one.

She wants to keep her scholarship. He wants to stay on the team. An awkward alliance doesn’t even begin to cover Rimmel and Romeo’s relationship.

But that’s about to change.

It starts with a dare. An initiation. A challenge. 

Quickly, it turns into more. But when you’re a victim of your status, there is no room for anything real. The rules are clear and simple. 

Stick to your circle.

And never fall in love with anyone on the outside.


Buy Now




*****************************************




My Review:







#Nerd is the first book in a brand new New Adult series by Cambria Hebert. It's a cute story about a college romance between two unlikely people – the nerd and the star of the football team. The story has some predictability to it, but there were several things about the story that made it its own.


Rimmel was a great character that I identified with. Luckily, I've never quite been that klutzy – but I definitely know what it's like to be awkward and not have friends. The way Rimmel dresses is because she doesn't want to be noticed. She hasn't always been this way, but she has a past and she doesn't want her heart broken again. So, she pretty much does everything she can to not be noticed and she keeps a distance between herself and everyone else. She volunteers at the local animal shelter because of her love for animals. She relates better to animals than people, and I totally understand that feeling.


Rimmel is given the duty of tutoring the football star, Romeo. Between classes, his constant football schedule, and partying – Romeo hasn't devoted much time to his schoolwork. His grades are going downhill, and he will be kicked off the football team if he doesn't go through with this tutoring.


Romeo is really a good guy, but he has a big ego. He is the most famous guy on campus. All the women want him and all the guys want to be him. His determination to join an elite fraternity causes him to make some stupid decisions. He agrees to do things that he knows is wrong just to get into this fraternity. One of the things he is supposed to do is to have sex with his tutor, Rimmel. By the time he gets this task, he has already spent a little time with Rimmel and knows what a great person she is. Instead of telling the fraternity off though, he charms his way into her life until he starts having feelings for her.


Rimmel changes a little throughout the story so that people start taking notice of her, but she doesn't completely change – and I love that. She does her hair and starts wearing clothes that aren't completely baggy on her, but she doesn't go overboard with it. She still doesn't wear any makeup, and she keeps wearing her black-rimmed glasses. I was glad that the author didn't start dressing her in provocative clothing and lots of makeup so she would look like all the other college girls.


I was afraid that all the trendy hashtags would add a layer of cheesiness to this book, but I actually found it kind of charming. I enjoyed the school BuzzFeed hashtag statuses at the beginning of every chapter.


I also liked the dual points of view. I think it was important to get a look at what was happening from Romeo's prospective so you could see how deep his feelings for Rimmel actually were. Along with Rimmel, Romeo went through a lot of change in this book – all very good things. He found that popularity isn't the most important thing. He was a very sweet leading man and it was nice to see that he didn't care what others though about him dating a “nerd”.


The plot in the book progressed at a perfect speed. There was no insta-love, but the book also never got boring or slow paced. There was a couple of “adult” scenes in this book, but nothing overly descriptive. I had a hard time putting this book down and I'm looking forward to the next one. We will get more Romeo and Rimmel in the next book titled #Hater – coming out Winter 2015. I really hope that means January and not next December! Sounds like Romeo's friend Braeden will be getting his own story, and I'm very happy about that. He seems like a great character and I was hoping he would get his own book.


*****************************************


Teaser

MeetTheAuthor

Cambria Hebert is a bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. 

Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house). 

Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: Text, Torch, Tryst, Masquerade, and Recalled.

Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC.










HOSTED BY:
EJ Button

Cover Reveal and Giveaway: Salt & Stone by Victoria Scott

Salt & Stone (Fire & Flood #2)


What would you do to save someone you love?

In Fire & Flood, Tella Holloway faced a dangerous trek through the jungle and across the desert, all to remain a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed for a chance at obtaining the Cure for her brother. She can't quit--she has to win the race, save Cody, and then fight to make sure the race stops before it can claim any more lives. In the next legs of the race, across the ocean and over mountains, Tella will face frostbite, sharks, avalanche, and twisted new rules in the race.

But what if the danger is deeper than that? How do you know who to trust when everyone's keeping secrets? What do you do when the person you'd relied on most suddenly isn't there for support? How do you weigh one life against another?

The race is coming to an end, and Tella is running out of time, resources, and strength. At the start of the race there were one hundred twenty-two Contenders. As Tella and her remaining friends start the final part of the race, just forty-one are left--and only one can win.





New paperback cover for Fire & Flood:

 Fire & Flood #1

Time is slipping away....

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

Victoria Scott's breathtaking novel grabs readers by the throat and doesn't let go.
 



Amazon


 *************************************

 
Giveaway!!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Review: Unteachable by Leah Raeder

 Title: Unteachable
Author: Leah Raeder
Source: Received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

Maise O’Malley just turned eighteen, but she’s felt like a grown-up her entire life. The summer before senior year, she has plans: get into a great film school, convince her mom to go into rehab, and absolutely do not, under any circumstances, screw up her own future.

But life has a way of throwing her plans into free-fall.

When Maise meets Evan at a carnival one night, their chemistry is immediate, intense, and short-lived. Which is exactly how she likes it: no strings. But afterward, she can’t get Evan out of her head. He’s taught her that a hookup can be something more. It can be an unexpected connection with someone who truly understands her. Someone who sees beyond her bravado to the scared but strong girl inside.

That someone turns out to be her new film class teacher, Mr. Evan Wilke.

Maise and Evan resolve to keep their hands off each other, but the attraction is too much to bear. Together, they’re real and genuine; apart, they’re just actors playing their parts for everyone else. And their masks are slipping. People start to notice. Rumors fly. When the truth comes to light in a shocking way, they may learn they were just playing parts for each other, too.

Smart, sexy, and provocative, Unteachable is about what happens when a love story goes off-script.





Review:




Unteachable is a contemporary romance by author Leah Raeder. I'm not really sure if this qualifies as New Adult or what, the main character is 18 – but she is still in high school. Due to the subject matter though, I wouldn't gear it towards young adults. In this book, Maise meets a man named Evan at a carnival during the summer before her senior year. She lies about her age, and they sleep together. At the time, she doesn't know that he will be her high school teacher.

Maise sleeps around a lot, especially with older men. She doesn't like to have relationships, she sleeps with them and leaves. After having sex with Evan though, she can't get him out of her mind. He was different than all the other guys. When Maise starts her senior year, she is very surprised to see Evan in her classroom. Despite the student/teacher relationship, they can't keep their hands off of each other. The forbidden aspects turns these two on even more.

At the time of writing this review, I am unsure what rating to give this book. I have mixed emotions. The writing was really good – poetic even. But it was almost too much...too descriptive. I know that lot of people love this type of writing though.

I expected to love this book because of all the rave reviews, and because I like to read forbidden stories. However, I think I would have liked it much more if there would have been a build up to the relationship. There was sex at the very beginning, and then again soon after meeting again in the classroom. They didn't try very hard to stay away from each other when they found out he was her teacher. So, then it became a little boring because all that stuff was done and out of the way early on. There was nothing to build up to.

Evan seemed like a weak person to me. He didn't seem strong and manly like I prefer male characters to be. He was sensitive...and weird. None of the story was told from his point of view, so there is so much we don't know about him. I was half expecting for some big, creepy secrets to start coming out – like, that he was hiding bodies or something. There was just something unsettling about him (besides the fact that he was attracted to teenagers). If falling for a teenager was a one time thing, because it was about the person and not about the age, it might have been different. But Maise wasn't the first student, and I just felt that he had a young-girl-fetish which made it seem creepier. I felt that he liked Maise because of her age, not in spite of her age.

Maise wasn't much better. Yeah, she had a troubled childhood but I was tired of her using not having a dad as an excuse to be a slut. People act like she is really mature for her age, but I found the opposite to be true. She just wasn't very likable. I did admire her for not doing drugs and turning out like her mom, because she grew up with drugs all around her. I think her friend Wesley was probably the most interesting person in this book. I think the author should give Wesley a few years to grow up, and then write a story about him.

The ending was odd to me – very abrupt. Though, I think maybe the ending went well with the type of writing style that was used. I wanted to know more though. I'm not the type of person that likes to imagine what happens. I just don't have a good imagination. I think I needed an epilogue to tie things up for me. Things were just left too open – life was just really getting started for Maise when this book ended.


Visit the author here:

Find this book at the following places:

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Release Day Blitz: Play With Me by Lisa Renee Jones



RELEASE DATE: October 28th

Blurb:
Novella

The warmth of Thanksgiving gives a dedicated reporter and a powerful businessman a chance to count their blessings in this tender, sensual novella from Lisa Renee Jones.

Kali Miller has spent three years reporting fluff stories for a small-town Texas paper, waiting for the opportunity to pen the article that will launch her career to new heights. That dream has never felt further away when she suddenly finds herself out of work, forced to take a job as an executive secretary at a Las Vegas casino. But that’s exactly where Kali meets the subject of what will surely be a shocking exposé: her boss, Damion Ward, the casino’s arrogant and undeniably sexy CEO.

Watching Damion make his cold, calculating business maneuvers, Kali is positive she’s doing the right thing. But after Damion invites her to help him plan a Thanksgiving charity event, Kali begins to see another side of the man. And when she surrenders to the exhilarating tension that’s been simmering between them since day one, Kali becomes part of her own story, which she hopes will have a happy ending.




Excerpt:

Lisa Renee Jones Play with Me Copyright 2014

“We need to talk,” he says, as if this is a casual event requiring nothing more than a chat, as if I’m not being treated like a felon.

“Talk?” I demand, all the emotions of hours of confinement rising up in me to near bursting. “We needed to talk seven hours ago. Now? Now we don’t need to talk.”

He steps forward, crowding me, forcing me to give him space or let him become a part of mine. I have a rare violent urge to shove him, but I retreat into the room instead. He steps closer and kicks the door shut behind him, and damn him, that delicious scent of him tickles my nose, and the teasing eruption of sensations in my body only serves to make me more angry. I don’t want to feel the way he makes me feel. I don’t want him to be the one man who sparks something in me that no one else does.

“I couldn’t call,” he has the audacity to say. “Just like I couldn’t tell you I knew we had a security breach when you told me what the computer was doing in my office.”

“So you knew what was happening and didn’t tell me?”

“There’s a procedure to—”

“I don’t give a damn about procedures, Mr. CEO, especially from the one who sets the rules I’ve suffered with.” The edginess in me results in me poking my finger at his chest, heat dashing up my arm. “Just tell me one thing. Am I free to leave?”

He looks down at my finger and then his gaze lifts, but there is no anger in his face. There is something else, something I can’t identify. “I got you cleared, but—”

Relief is instant, and I cut him off. “That’s all the talking you need to do.” I try to turn away, intending to gather my things, but he shackles my wrist, more heat ripping up my arm and over my chest.

“Let go,” I snarl, hating a man I barely know who has put me through hell. It’s like I’m a masochist. Why else would I be drawn to yet another powerful asshole?

His lips thin, and I wish I didn’t notice how sensual and perfect they are. “We have to talk.”

“No,” I assure him. “We do not.”

“We’re going to talk.”

“You aren’t my boss anymore, which translates to the end of all conversation.”

His eyes glint hard steel. “What does that mean, I’m not your boss anymore?”

“I quit. Find someone else to treat like crap.”

“I had no choice—”

“There’s always a choice. I just want out of here.”

“You’ll regret this later.”

“I’ll take that risk.”

“You’ve had a rough twenty-four hours, Ms. Miller. You aren’t thinking straight.”

I all but growl at him. “Let me guess. I’m a woman and my emotions must be controlling me.”

“Because you’re human.”

“Why do you even care if I stay?” I demand, and I don’t know how or why, but the air around us shifts and thickens.

“Because I do.”

“You don’t even know me.”

“I want to know you.”

I swallow hard. “Well, I’m sure you’ll know every piece of my DNA after seven hours of being trapped here. Goal achieved.”

“Ms. Miller—”

“Stop with the Ms. Miller. I’m not your damn employee anymore. Let go of me.”

He doesn’t let go. His gaze flickers to my mouth, then lifts. “I won’t let you quit.”

“Call Natalie. I’m sure she’ll come back.”

He tugs me close, his hard body aligned with mine, and I can barely breathe. “What do you know of Ms. Duncan?”

“If you mean Natalie, she was in HR when I was.”

“There were circumstances.”

“Yeah. I get that. Believe me, I get it.”

“No. You don’t. She has nothing to do with you or us.”

Us? What does he mean, us? And why is my hand on his chest? Why can’t I move it? “I’m done. Let me go.”

“You won’t change your mind about quitting?”

“No.”

His fingers tangle into my hair, dragging me closer. “Then why would I let you go?”

Both of my hands have now found the wall of his chest, and I intend to push him away, but I just . . . don’t. “What are you doing?”

“What do you think I’m doing? Finding out if you taste as good as I think you do.” And then his lips are on mine, his tongue licking seductively into my mouth, sending erotic sensations spiraling through my body. I tell myself this is insanity. To push away. We barely know each other. I don’t even like him. Except I know it’s a lie. I know that in the short time we’ve known each other, every shared moment, every mutual look, every touch and tangled word exchange, has been leading to this.

Another lick of his tongue and I am unable to hold back a moan or the desperate need to be closer to him. I arch forward, desperate to feel him against me. Desperate to have him naked and touching me. Me touching him. Desperate to be naked and have him inside me. He is a drug, a wicked, wonderful drug that will finally be the end of my sanity if I allow him to be.

That idea sends a burst of panic and adrenaline through me, and I shove at his chest. “Stop. We can’t.”

His mouth leaves mine, and I am one part relief, one part painful need to pull him back. “Why?” he demands, and his voice is rough, affected.

“You’re my boss.”

“You quit.”

“Right. Which means I leave now.”

“You want to leave?”

No. “Yes.”

His eyes darken to deep pools of green fire and stormy torment, telling me he knows this is a mistake. He knows. I know. Why are we still here? “Tell me you really mean that and I’ll let you go,” he vows. “But just know this: If you stay, I absolutely will fuck you senseless and then do it again.”

“I . . . you . . . we can’t . . .”

“We can. I’m going to kiss you now, Kali.”

“Kali?” I whisper, unbelievably aroused by my name on his lips.

“Yes. Kali.” And then he is kissing me, his tongue caressing into my mouth, seeming to touch every intimate part of my body, stroking deep, and burning through me. Sensations roll through me, teasing my senses, torturing me with how much I want him and how wrong I know this is. But then his hand caresses my backside, pulling me closer, hard against his hips, his thick erection pressed to my belly, and I can’t remember why exactly it’s wrong. I am lost. Lost in him. Lost in what I feel, and I don’t want to let anything else in. Not the past. Not the last few hours. I don’t care anymore.

I wrap my arms around his neck, crushing my breasts to his chest, and gasp as he tears his mouth from mine. Then he is staring at me, searching my face for something I don’t understand. And I don’t know what he sees, or what he finds, but his eyes soften, and he strokes the hair from my face. “I was right. One kiss isn’t even close to enough.” His mouth comes down on mine again, and my fingers curl into the fabric of his shirt, holding on to him, willing him not to stop. This time the kiss is deeper, a dark demand that I answer willingly, eagerly, my tongue stroking against his.

Suddenly his fingers wrap my waist and he lifts me, setting me down on the wooden dining room table, spreading my legs to step between them.

“What are you doing?”

He reaches up and tugs on the front zipper of my dress. “Undressing you.”

A moment of clarity comes to me, and I grab his hand. “You need to know this changes nothing. I’m still furious about today. I don’t even know if I like you.”

“But you want me. That’s a start.”

He tugs on my zipper and I don’t stop him, my hands going to the table, trying to stabilize myself, though I’m not sure that is possible. This man is shoving my bra down and ravishing my breasts with a hot inspection that makes my sex clench and my thighs ache.

“I . . .” I pant, and forget what I was going to say. He’s cupping my breasts, pressing them together, and stroking my nipples with his thumbs.

“You what?”

“I don’t know.”

He nudges me backward. “Let me try to figure it out,” he offers, lowering his head, his dark hair tickling my chin, his tongue flicking against my nipple, sending darts of pleasure through me.

I squeeze my eyes shut, fighting for sanity, but his mouth closes down over one of my nipples, sucking deeply, and I am arching my back, offering myself to him. Silently begging him for more. It’s just been so long, I tell myself. So very long since someone touched me like this. So long since I felt like a woman. This isn’t me radiating toward men who like to hurt me. This isn’t me torturing myself. It’s him torturing me in all the right ways.

My hands go to his hair, but he slips away, going down on a knee and caressing my dress up my thighs. “Now I’m going to officially apologize for what happened today,” he vows




******************************


Additional Release:


Kindle Only: http://amzn.to/12txhcz

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1tkZ0at



RELEASE DATE: October 28th




Blurb

Life is hard. Life leaves you beaten, broken...alone. Then one day, a stranger touches your hand and you feel something intense, unforgettable, but yet, you want to forget. You need to forget. It’s safer than believing in things you’ve decided don’t exist. You know all about shattered promises and lost hope. You know them so much better than you know this excited, warm, wonderful feeling, and it scares you. He scares you, but he also makes you feel alive again. He makes you realize you haven’t really been living. You’re surviving and you fear he’s the one who’ll make you forget how to keep doing it. But what if he’s the one who changes everything?



 About the author:

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones is the author of the highly acclaimed INSIDE OUT SERIES, and is now in development by Suzanne Todd (Alice in Wonderland) for cable TV. In addition, her Tall, Dark and Deadly series and The Secret Life of Amy Bensen series, both spent several months on a combination of the NY Times and USA Today lists.

Watch the video on casting for the INSIDE TV Show HERE

Since beginning her publishing career in 2007, Lisa has published more than 40 books translated around the world. Booklist says that Jones suspense truly sizzles with an energy similar to FBI tales with a paranormal twist by Julie Garwood or Suzanne Brockmann.

Prior to publishing, Lisa owned multi-state staffing agency that was recognized many times by The Austin Business Journal and also praised by Dallas Women Magazine. In 1998 LRJ was listed as the #7 growing women owned business in Entrepreneur Magazine.

Lisa loves to hear from her readers. You can reach her at on her website and she is active on twitter and facebook daily.


STALK HER: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads

Giveaway!!!

Yankee candle, Belong to You Tote Bag 
Belong to You Tote Bag 
2 ecopies of If I Were You

a Rafflecopter giveaway