Sunday, July 20, 2014

Free eBooks!


*Note - I have no idea how long these will remain free


Title: Betrayal's Shadow (The Guardians of Eden #1)
Author: K.H. LeMoyne


What would you do to save your people from extinction? What if your race held the key to mankind's future? One Guardian will risk hell to change the future. Descended from the race of Guardians, Turen's people have survived the last two hundred years, quarantined and isolated. Living in secrecy with no mates and no offspring, they fail to deliver on their ability to replenish and heal human souls through the birth of their Guardian children. Risking his life, Turen chooses capture at the hands of a comrade-turned-enemy to seek answers to change the future. Mia Bowman has no knowledge of the secret Guardian race. Yet, her uncontrollable, nocturnal summons to Turen's prison cell and her strong sense of justice leave her with little choice but to help him. She can heed his warning and stay clear of his people's problems or she can ferret out the lies and unravel an ancient tale of murder and deceit.


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



 Title: Blood Singers (Blood #1)
Author: Tamara Rose Blodgett


A sub-species of human beings...

Twenty-year old Julia Wade, a young woman tragically widowed, is in the middle of a bizarre bid between two mythical species who are vying for the unique properties she offers; her blood. The vampires need her to balance the food load of the human species and give them their coveted “Lightwalkers.” The Were wish to be moonless changers; a Rare One can make that a reality.

Julia wants to belong to herself.

Can she free herself and begin a new life?
 


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



 Title: Open Minds (Mindjack Trilogy #1)
Author: Susan Kaye Quinn



When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her.


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



 Title: Diary of a Vampueen (Vamp Chronicles #1)
Author: Christin Lovell


Imagine living a human charade for fifteen years and never knowing it. Imagine being provided less than a week to learn and accept your family’s true heritage before it overtook you. Alexa Jackson, Lexi, is abruptly thrown onto this roller coaster and quickly learns that she can’t change fate, regardless of how many lifetimes she is given. She will be transformed into a vampeen on her sixteenth birthday, she will be called upon to fulfill a greater destiny within the dangerous world of vampires, and she will have to risk heartbreak and rejection if she ever wants a chance at love with Kellan, whether she likes it or not.


Free on Amazon



***********************************



  Title: Fallen Crest High (Fallen Crest High #1)
Author: Tijan


Mason and Logan Kade are two brothers who did their own thing. They were rich and expected to attend her school, Fallen Crest Academy. They chose public school and now Samantha has to live with them. The problem is that she doesn't care at all: about them, about her friends, about her cheating boyfriend, or even about her parent's divorce. But maybe that's a good thing. Maybe change is a good thing.

This book contains adult/mature young adult situations.


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



  

 Title: Eternal Vows (The Ruby Ring #1)
Author: Chrissy Peebles


 Never marry a stranger... even if he is a drop-dead gorgeous immortal king.

Never pretend to be a princess.

And most importantly... never slip on an ancient wedding ring you know nothing about.

Sarah Larker returns to a cave where her sister disappeared ten years earlier. She walks through a portal and is mistaken for a runaway princess on the run by a dangerous immortal king in medieval times. Her plan is bold as well as daring-become this princess, wed the king, and slip on an ancient wedding ring that will unlock the portal back home. Then find her sister and run as fast as she can out of Dodge. But taking on the identity of Princess Gloria comes along with dangerous consequences; and slipping on the ruby ring comes with an even higher price.


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



  Title: Bound (Arelia LaRue #1)
Author: Kira Saito


Sixteen year old Arelia LaRue lives in New Orleans where the music is loud, voodoo queens inhabit every street corner, and the ghosts are alive and well. Despite her surroundings, all she wants is to help her Grand-mere Bea pay the rent and save up for college.

When her best friend Sabrina convinces her to take a well-paying summer job at the infamous Darkwood plantation, owned by the wealthy LaPlante family, Arelia agrees.

However, at Darkwood strange things start to happen, and gorgeous Lucus LaPlante insists that he needs her help. Soon, the powers that Arelia has been denying all her life, come out to play and she discovers mysteries about herself that she could have never imagined.


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



Title: Immortal Blood (Immortal Heart #1)
Author: Magen McMinimy


A perfect night on the town turns out to be her worst nightmare. A date with a handsome man is the catalyst for events that she thought only happened in fairy tales. Thrust into a world of danger, Isabelle has no idea what is in store for her as the Light and Dark Fae fight over her future.

Isabelle Moreno is a young woman working her way through life, finding little time for love and adventure. Until she agrees to a date with a mysterious stranger, only to find out the secrets this man holds are something she could have lived her entire life without knowing. The Dark Fae Luck Eater has found something enticing in Isabelle’s humanity.

Bain is an arrogant playboy and an Immortal Light Fae Warrior. He and his four brothers fight for the safety of the human race while remaining something of myth. After weeks of tracking the Dark Fae Luck Eater, Bain comes across yet another victim, Isabelle.

Bain has finally found his match in this feisty human as she fights against him and her ever growing attraction to the Immortal who is bound to protect her.
  


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



  Title: Stained (Stained #1)
Author: Ella James


After a fire destroys seventeen-year-old Julia’s home and kills her foster parents, she chases the half-demon responsible across the country and back, determined to avenge her family and discover why a host of celestial baddies want her dead. With Julia is enigmatic hottie - Cayne, who has his own score to settle with the half-demon, and who might be just as dangerous as the creature he and Julia hunt.


Free on Amazon and B&N



***********************************



  Title: Pariah
Author: Casey L. Bond


What are the things that you need most in life—the things you crave?

Solara longs for freedom. Having been raised under the Kingdom’s lock and key since the age of two, she wants to see the world. Upon turning seventeen and receiving no mark from the Lord, she believes freedom is finally within her grasp. Unfortunately, she is wrong. The Kingdom has been fooled. She is marked by an angel of light and one of the fallen dark ones. Solara is God’s chosen, and with her birth, the new covenant made with mankind is made manifest.

Solara also longs for love, strong enough to last a lifetime, and beyond. Riven loves her. But is one of the fallen prophesied to betray the chosen. Can she trust him? Love him? Prophesy states that she is the key. The fate of humanity rests with her decision. She alone will determine whether the doors of Heaven or the gates of Hell open upon the Earth.

But how can a normal girl, who has been raised with no knowledge of either side, make such a decision? And how can she turn away from finally tasting those things she has craved for so long.
 



Free on Amazon

Review: White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout



 Title: White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Source: Received through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.




Review:




White Hot Kiss is the first book in The Dark Elements series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. It's a young adult paranormal romance about a 17 year-old girl named Layla. She is different from those around her, and she doesn't really feel like she belongs. Layla is half demon, half gargoyle. She lives among the Wardens – gargoyles who fight demons to protect the world. Her best friends are human (and clueless as to what she is).

Layla is a great heroine. She is feisty and brave, and has powers of her own. She has feelings for Zayne, a guy that she has lived with most of her life. They grew up kind of like brother and sister, but now she sees him differently. He might even like her too, but she can't kiss anyone without taking their soul. That's a big problem to have for a teenage girl. She is seventeen, and never been kissed. But then she meets Roth.

Roth is a demon, but he seems to be protecting Layla for some reason. Her job is to tag demons for the Wardens to find and kill. Roth asks her to stop. He has his own reasons, but after all – she is part demon. Roth helps her to see that not all demons are as terrible as she is lead to believe. And she is able to be herself around Roth. She doesn't have to hide her demon side like she does with the Wardens. Roth is a hot, arrogant bad boy – but he can be sweet and is very protective of Layla. They start hanging out in secret, because the Wardens would go crazy if they knew she was friends with a demon. And best yet – Roth has no soul so he isn't on a no-kiss list. However, she doesn't know if she can trust him.

There are quite a few twists and turns in this book to keep it interesting. There is a little action and a little humor, but my favorite is the romance – although I wanted more. I am a romance junkee. There is a lot of sexual tension between Layla and Roth, and also a little between her and Zayne. But things don't get very far. There is an actual plot – even if other reviewers don't think so. There's not a lot of time for romance. There are two great swoonworthy guys in this book, but I wouldn't say there is a major love triangle – though I could see one happening in the future. The ending of this book is a bit of a cliffhanger. I was surprised how it ended, and not exactly happy. It did what it was supposed to though – it left me wanting more. So now I'm curious what happens in the next book, which doesn't come out until October. I suggest reading the book this fall, right before the next book comes out.


Visit the author here:


Find this book at the following places:

Sunday, July 6, 2014

Release Day Blitz: Allure by Lacey Weatherford


“Everyone said he was bad, dangerous, and not a good fit for any respectable girl. But for some reason, I couldn’t seem to resist him. To me, he was perfect . . . in all his wicked glory.”
- Allure by Lacey Weatherford

 
Seventeen-year-old Brooklyn Hall has had her eye on uber sexy tattoo artist, Six Jagger for a while. There’s only one problem—she’s pretty sure he doesn’t even know she exists. A friend of her older brother, Six is five years older than her. Plus, there’s the pesky fact that he’s had a steady girlfriend for months. Still, even though she knows there’s no chance for her, she can’t seem to let the fantasy go.
Six Jagger has had a thing for Brooklyn Hall since the first time he laid eyes on her a year ago. However, after finding out her age, he wiped her off his list of possibilities. That should’ve been the end of it, but for some reason, he can’t stop watching and admiring her from afar. Happy that he’s successfully maintained his distance, all that changes on the night Brooklyn walks into Inked Edges, asking him for an illegal tattoo. After that, all his carefully constructed barriers come tumbling down, taking them on an explosive ride of lust, passion, and desire.
"All’s well that ends well, right? Too bad that wasn’t the end, but merely the beginning…”

Purchase: 


About The Author


 

Lacey Weatherford is the bestselling author of the popular young adult paranormal romance series, Of Witches and Warlocks, and contemporary series, Chasing Nikki and Crush, and Tell Me Why. Lacey resides in the beautiful White Mountains of Arizona. She lives with her wonderful husband and children along with their dog, Talley, and cat, Minx. When she’s not out supporting one of her kids at their sporting/music events, she spends her time reading, writing, and visiting with her readers on her social media accounts.



  Video of Lacey reading a steamy scene from Allure!!

 

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Book Blitz and Giveaway: The V Girl by Mya Robarts


The V Girl
Mya Robarts
Publication date: July 1st 2014
Genres: Dystopia, New Adult

Synopsis:
In post-apocalyptic North America, rape and sexual slavery are legal. Lila Velez, desperately wants to lose her virginity before the troops visit her town and can take it away by force. She makes plans to seduce her only friend, Rey, the most attractive man in her town. Lila does not love him but he is the only man who has shown her true affection, an affection she is willing to take as a substitute of love.

Lila’s coping mechanism to her mother’s rape and kidnapping is her secret. A secret that will bring her closer to Aleksey, a foreign, broody man. Lila does not trust him because his links to the troops and his rough, yet irresistible appearance. Aleksey offers Lila an alternative to her plans, a possibility that terrifies her…and tempts her in spite of herself.

All the while Lila will have to find a way to live in the constant company of death, slavery, starvation, sexual abuse and the danger of losing the people she loves the most.

This book is recommended for readers over the age of 18 due to strong language and sexual content.
Purchase:


Excerpt:

Rey is the only man I can think of who can serve my purpose. He’s the only boy in town who doesn’t despise me. He even protects me. Hopefully, he won’t find a reason to protect me from himself.
I don’t want to develop feelings for my best friend. Because of my plans, Rey has been in my thoughts constantly since the troops announced their arrival, and I hate it. To distract my mind from Rey, I venture a little further in the water current.
Feeling fresh now that I’m clean and shaved, my mood improves. I splash and swim in the water, allowing myself to relax and play.
If I swim to the other side, I might catch Divine and Joey making love in the river beach. Perhaps I should get a little bit of last minute instruction.
A rumble brings me out of my reverie and then I hear some distant shots. My survival instincts wake up and I’m instantly alert.
More shots. It isn’t possible. Nobody in town has access to gun powder or explosives. You don’t get caught with them unless you want to get executed. They have to be soldiers. Patriot soldiers.
Just then I hear sounds above the current noise. Steps on the river beach. I’m barely armed not to mention undressed and unprepared. My razors might keep Starville peeping toms at bay, but they’ll be useless against soldiers.
I hear steps approaching and I wade away. In no time I find myself far from where I left my clothes. My best chance to safely get out of this situation is to avoid a fight. I can remain hidden if I move to the other side of the river behind the rocks. If soldiers see me so vulnerable and naked, I’m doomed.
I need to hurry. I have to head home soon and make sure my dad and siblings are safe.
The steps sound like they come from only one person but I can’t be sure. As they sound closer, I notice they come from my right.
I don’t know what I’m more afraid of: the intruder being an armed soldier or the fact of being caught so exposed.
Trying to not splash attract attention, I put distance between me and the steps. Hiding behind some bushes and rocks, I submerge myself, leaving only my head above the water line.
I stand still. Several minutes pass and I hear nothing. When I consider it safe to leave my hiding place, I swim, splashing as little as I can.
Then I notice something that makes my heart skip a beat.
I’m not the only person here. There’s someone else treading the water. I can’t see how many people are around, but I can hear as someone else splashes.
A feel of panic rushes hot through my veins.
I’m surprised no one’s attacked me yet. Haven’t they seen me? Does the splashing come from Starvillers hiding from the shots as well?
For a moment there’s only silence. Then another shot startles me and I fight my body to keep calm. I swim as fast as I can, not caring about silence anymore. Better to put distance between myself and my possible enemies. The water and the current make my escape slow. I reach a point where the water is only at my knees and I’m hiding behind a trunk.
Then I see him.
A young man, so tall and built that for a moment, I think he’s Sasquatch minus the fur. The water only covers him around the thighs. No one in Starville, not even Rey, is so big or built. His strong muscles reveal years of military training and hint at the drug use that makes Patriot soldiers so inhumanly tall and big. Wet strands of sandy blond hair run down his broad shoulders. A tattoo on his back tells me he has been in combat and is to be respected. A soldier! Something tells me he’s alone.
My stomach clenches in panic. I’m terrified of Patriot soldiers. They are sadistic giants and killing machines. The tonics they take to build their muscles and stature make them extremely dangerous and violent. And horny.
I lose sight of him for a moment. He emerges in a different spot where the water is deeper. He is so tall, the water covers only up his waist while he’s standing. He must be at least seven feet tall. When he moves I can see his most private areas. Every part of him is enormous.
He’s in the very spot I left my clothes. I could wait for him to go, but what if others come to join him? What if they plan to camp here? I want to go home to check on my dad and the twins. The possibility of being discovered with no one to witness when he rapes me makes the hairs on the back of my neck prick. I won’t wait for the coast to be clear, risking discovery and gang rape.
He doesn’t seem to be in attack mode. The soldier is inclined and rubbing foam around his huge torso. He is bathing! I suspect he has a good reason to be unbothered by the shots. If he’s not startled, it’s likely whoever’s making the racket will take his side.
Suppressing the fear that runs through my veins, I force my mind to remain focused. For a moment, I consider attacking him while he’s so naked and defenseless. I’ve been practicing knife throwing with my rebel group. But I’m still learning and suck at it. I rarely hit the target. Besides, Sasquatch’s nakedness and apparent relaxed behavior are deceiving. I’m armed while bathing, so he probably is too. What if he alerts his companions?
I don’t stand a chance fighting against a trained unit of steroid-injected soldiers. At this moment my only advantage is my knowledge of the hiding places of this river. And stealth. I can do stealth.
He’s blocking the only way to get my clothes and the safer spot to get out of the river. There’s a gargantuan rock behind him that reaches not far from where I’m hiding. If I could climb it unseen, I could get back my clothes and escape. The only other option is to swim to the other side, where the current is too strong.
The soldier submerges frequently and emerges several minutes after. I pay attention to the soldier’s face. He looks extremely sad. Sadness isn’t an emotion I associate with soldiers.
When he rubs his face with foam and closes his eyes, I silently approach the low part of the current and climb the rock. I’m still naked and holding a knife awkwardly. If I can pass him, I’ll hide on the other side and then dress completely unnoticed.
I put my foot on the base of the rock. The water has made it smooth and slippery. There are few places to put my fingers and climb on. But I manage to climb my way up.
When I’m almost at the top, I toss my knife over the rock to free my hands. From here I can confirm the soldier is by himself.
Sasquatch is back under the water now and hasn’t resurfaced for a while. In spite of the danger, I’m impressed. He has lung capacity.
The higher I climb, the less visible I become to him. He finally emerges to take air, but I hide until he goes back under.
I’m close to my goal when my feet become slippery traitors.
I fall to the water below me.
Butt first. Straight toward the soldier’s head.




Prologue:


Year 21st of the civil war
Involved parts: Patriot army, Nationalist Army, United Sentinel army.
Number of Nationalist states casualties: 12,954,988.
Number of Patriot states casualties: 3,859,895
Number of United Sentinel casualties: 689,220

Copulation without conversation does not constitute fraternization.”
Say among allied troops during WW2
Prologue
In the barely lit room, there are only some gym mattresses and a couple of mirrors. I’ve set the mirrors so I can watch myself losing the V of my nick name.
My “one-hour stand” climbs up the mattresses and touches my naked trembling body. His breathing becomes ragged, his eyes are dark.
I never imagined my first time like this. In my imagination, having my first time meant I would be in love.
I always thought I would only allow myself to be with someone in that way if I really, really, loved that person. He would also be unconditionally in love with me. He would be someone who would look at me as though I was his sun.
I wanted to lose my virginity to someone who adores me. Preferably someone who had said the five magic words: “Lila, will you marry me?” I wanted to have sex for the first time with someone I’d consider worthy enough to spend the rest of my life with. If I only had more time. Eighteen is too young in my book to have met the person to whom I want to commit my life.
I wish this occasion could have been a romantic spur of the moment situation. One thing leading to other in a natural manner and then...I wouldn’t be a V girl anymore.
That would have been an ideal situation. But I don’t live in an ideal world; I live in a world defined by a civil war.
My deflowering can’t be romantic or spontaneous. I’ve been preparing my first sexual encounter since I heard the troops were on their way to Starville.
I don’t love my sexual partner. He doesn’t love me either. But it has to be him or it is going to be a random guy from the troops…through force.
My “lover” hesitates for a moment. I feel his weight pressing me to the mattress. His body tenses. I wait for him to make the next move. But I’m afraid he has changed his mind.



About the author:

I am a bookaholic and regret nothing.

I spent years trying to become a contemporary dance choreographer. Eventually I realized that I enjoyed writing my stories rather than creating dances for them.

I am obsessed with books that present damaged characters, swoon worthy guys, controversial topics and happy endings.



*********************************


Giveaway!!!


Blitz-wide giveaway

Open INTL - Ends July 14th
3 x eBook copy of The V Girl + 20$ Amazon Gift Card
3 x T-Shirt + 20$ Amazon Gift Card


a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
 
http://xpressobooktours.com/
 

Cover Reveal: Taste by Cambria Hebert

Taste by Cambria Hebert
(Take It Off)
Publication date: July 25th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

 
Synopsis:

A Take It Off novella

One taste is never enough.
Spencer Waller’s main purpose in life is to protect and serve. After spending years in the military he gets a coveted spot on the secret service detail protecting the president. Spence doesn’t have time for women or all the work having a relationship with one requires. But just because he isn’t looking for a lady doesn’t mean he can’t appreciate a beautiful one when he sees her.

And he makes it a point to see one in particular every single day.

Elle Bond has literally chopped and fried her way to the top of the food chain. Earning a coveted position in the White House as the president’s personal chef she figures her professional life can only get better. Her personal life on the other hand could use a little bit of an overhaul and because of that she tries to ignore the charm dripping cookie thief every time he comes into her kitchen. After all, she knows better than anyone that just one taste of something good is never enough.

One night after work Elle is assaulted, threatened and given an ultimatum. She can’t go to the police and she sure as hell can’t do what she was ordered.

But she has to. Or else.

Pale, shaken and scared to death Elle confides in Spence and his protective instincts take over. Together Elle and Spencer have to uncover a sinister plot and stop it before someone ends up dead.


Add to Goodreads




About the author:

Cambria Hebert is the author of the young adult paranormal Heven and Hell series, the new adult Death Escorts series, and the new adult Take it Off series. She loves a caramel latte, hates math and is afraid of chickens (yes, chickens). She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. She currently lives in North Carolina with her husband and children (both human and furry) where she is plotting her next book. You can find out more about Cambria and her work by visiting http://www.cambriahebert.com 

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Goodreads 



http://xpressobooktours.com/
 

Cover Reveal: Alec by L.A. Casey


Alec by L.A. Casey
(Slater Brothers #2)
Publication date: August 17th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

 
Synopsis:
 
Keela Daley is the black sheep of her family. She has always come second to her younger cousin Micah. Even in the eyes of her mother, Micah shone bright, and Keela faded to black. Now, in adulthood, Micah is a bride-to-be and the spotlight is solely on her. Keela is a low priority…or so she thinks.

Alec Slater is a bachelor, never one to bed the same woman, or man, twice. He is a free agent who does what he pleases and answers to no one; that is until a fiery Irish redhead with a temper to match her hair colour knocks him on his arse. Literally.

She hates to admit it, but Keela needs a favour from the cocky Slater brother, a huge favour. She needs him to not only escort her to Micah’s wedding, but to also pose as her boyfriend. Alec agrees to help Keela, but has certain conditions for her to abide by. He wants her body and plans to have it before anyone can say I do.

What he doesn’t plan on is losing his heart as well as the possibility of losing his family when someone from his past threatens his future.

Alec owns Keela, and what Alec owns, Alec keeps.


Add to Goodreads





 About the author:

L.A. Casey was born, raised and currently resides in Dublin, Ireland. She is a twenty two year old stay at home mother to an almost two year old German Shepherd named Storm and of course, her four and half year old (the half is apparently vital) beautiful little hellion/angel depending on the hour of the day.

Her first novel, Dominic, was released on March 17th, 2014, and on March 21st, 2014, it became an international Amazon bestseller.

Website
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads



http://xpressobooktours.com/

Review: Breaking Fences by Juliana Haygert

 Title: Breaking Fences (The Breaking Series)
Author: Juliana Haygert
Source: Received through blog tour in exchange for an honest review


Synopsis:

All Beatriz “Bia” Fernandes wants is to prove herself—to her family and friends—though it’s hard to prove anything with an overbearing father and three famous polo-playing older brothers. After her acceptance into college results in a heated family argument, the Brazilian girl leaves everything behind to find her own American dream.

College life away from home is perfect until the people she believes to be her friends turn on her. With lies and rumors threatening to suffocate her, Bia turns to her only freedom. Riding.

But one thing gets in the way of her escape. Garrett Blackwell and his bad cowboy attitude. Working at the ranch is his obligation, bugging Bia is his newfound hobby. His thick skin and easy grin don’t hide what Bia already knows—this misunderstood and lonely cowboy fights his own demons. Brushing horses’ coats and mucking out stalls shouldn’t be this sexy, and it isn’t long before he becomes a part of her distraction.

However, escaping won’t solve her problems, and it’s up to Bia to break down the fences around her and prove her strength—not to her family and friends, but to herself … and for Garrett. Because standing on her own doesn’t have to mean standing alone.


** Companion novel of Breaking the Reins. Can be read out of order **




Review:





Breaking Fences is the second book in The Breaking Series by Juliana Haygert (however, it can be read as a stand-alone). This is a great New Adult contemporary romance that centers around Bia Fernandes. She is the younger sister of 3 famous polo players. She loves her family, but she feels like she is living in their shadow. She moves to Colorado to attend college, and hopefully make something of her life.

College in Colorado isn't everything that Bia hoped it would be. She's all alone in a world of catty college girls spreading rumors about her being a slut – because she is Brazilian. She is miserable, so on weekends she leaves campus to spend time at the nearest ranch. Luckily, she is a strong woman and tries best not to let all of the negativity at school get her down. She loves horses and riding, and she's not afraid of hard work. She ends up working at the ranch for free. She doesn't need the money and it's something that she loves.

She quickly meets Garrett, a sexy cowboy that works at the ranch. He is also the half-brother of the worst jerk at school who keeps trying to get her into his bed. Bia is very attracted to Garrett, but is worried that he will believe all the rumors. It's hard to tell what he is thinking in this book. Sometimes I like dual points-of-view, but in this case I'm glad that the book was solely from Bia's point of view. It made Garrett seem that much more mysterious.

There is a lot of chemistry and sexual tension between Bia and Garrett. It took a frustratingly long time for their romance to start. Once they got together, it was super steamy! These two characters were great and perfect for each other. I love the New Adult genre. It's the perfect mix of drama and passion. I will definitely read other books in this series. I really hope that there will be a book about Hillary and the rest of the brothers. There were some inconsistencies toward the end of this book, but I was given an advanced copy for a blog tour – so these issues may have been fixed for the final version. If you like the New Adult genre, and/or you are a fan of horses – then I definitely recommend this book (and series).


 Follow the author here:


Find this book at the following places: