Saturday, April 30, 2011

Destiny Divided Giveaway Winner!

I know, I know... I'm a couple days late with announcing this winner - sorry! I've just been so busy the past couple of days! Anyway, here goes - the winner is.....

Sue @ Satin's Bookish Corner

Sue, I will be giving the author your email address! Congrats :)

Friday, April 29, 2011

The Buzz #2

"The Buzz" is something I started to let readers know what's going on out in book-land. Basically, it's just some random babble that I mix all together and serve at once :)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

This past week, I won a $10 Amazon gift card from 4 Corners Press. I was so excited! I had such the dilemma - I couldn't decide what to buy! I ended up going with She Smells the Dead by E.J. Stevens:

I just love this cover, and I can't wait to read it! Anyway, please check out 4 Corners Press - they are a new blog and they need some followers :)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I am a big fan of Indie authors, and lesser-known authors. I know there are some readers out there who don't give these authors a chance - and they don't know what they are missing! I have come across some great books that I otherwise wouldn't have known about. Also, with a lot of these authors, you don't have to wait a whole-freaking year for the next book in a series to come out! Without dealing with big-name publishers, these authors are able to get the books out there on their time - however quickly or slowly they want. I just love finding new-to-me authors. Here is a really cool website where these authors can challenge each other for the most comments. Readers win free e-books, authors get more publicity - it's just awesome all around!

Blog Tour de Force

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Giveaways I've found:

Mark of the Stars
The Crazy Bookworm
Were Vamps Romance
Black Lagoon Reviews
A Myriad of Books
Amethyst Dreams
Candace's Book Blog
One Page at a Time
Stacey Kennedy
Girls Without a Bookshelf
Seeing Night Book Reviews

Follow Me Friday!

(To participate in this weekly event, visit

Q. Keeping with the dystopian and apocalypse theme that seems to be running rampant on, I have one very hard question for you: If you were stocking your bomb shelter, what books would you HAVE to include if you only had space for ten?

This is a very hard question to answer! I don't usually like reading the same book twice, so I will go with some books I haven't read yet... I think I would take books from Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed series, and Rachel Vincent's Shifters series. There are so many books on my shelf though that I haven't read yet, so I'm not positive about this yet!

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Review: Flash of Dark by Sara Brookes


As a member of the immortal Tuatha Dé Danann, Ana was sent to the human realm three hundred and fifty years ago by the Fae council to keep tabs on the self-banished High King. Once a Celtic god with a talent for stealing souls, she does her best to keep her life on as even of a keel as possible, despite the fact that her best friend, Lucas Edwards, is a vampire. Keep as low a profile as you can, that’s Ana’s motto while she’s here. After all, she can live vicariously though Lucas.

Her tranquil life is thrown into a tailspin when an incident outside of her club points to her as the prime suspect in a high profile murder. As if that wasn’t enough trouble, handsome, rich and a media darling, Stark Grantham walks into her life she can see her peace and calm being chipped away one precious chunk at a time. Not to mention, Stark’s very, very human, as high profile as they come and everything Ana’s spent her life trying to avoid.

Given Ana’s Fae ability, a toxic touch that can be lethal to mortals, will his choice to be with Ana cost Stark his life?


Flash of Dark is the 1st book in the Rebirth series by Sara Brookes. It was the first book I've read by this author, and it was really good! The main character Ana, who is fae, has a touch that can kill other immortals, let alone humans. Because of this, Ana keeps to herself and tries to keep her emotions locked down. Ana owns a bar and tries to keep a low profile - which leads to a sort of lonely life. When rich and handsome Stark walks into her bar one night, she does her best to hide the sudden attraction she feels for him. Stark, who is human - and very persistent - won't take no for an answer. He knows that she feels just as strongly as he does. He can also tell that there is something very different about her.

I like the strong chemistry that Stark and Ana share. There is a lot of sexual tension in this book, and when Ana finally gives in to her feelings - there is a lot of passion between these 2 characters. I really liked Stark - he was a little too confident and cocky, but there was just something about him that you can't help but like. He's the only mortal who seems to accept Ana for who, and what, she is. How can you not like that? Ana has a lot of things about herself that is hard for her to accept, so it's definitely a surprise for her when Stark so easily accepts these things about her.

Ana is sort of a mystery through a lot of this book. Even though the story is told from Ana's point of view, the details about her are gradually revealed. Along with romance, there is a lot of suspense and danger as well. Not wanting to have any spoilers, I will just say that there are some emotional scenes toward the end. This was a really good story, and I would definitely recommend this book to adult fans of paranormal romance/urban fantasy.

You can find this ebook at:
All Romance

Also, stalk Sara Brookes at the following places!

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday #1

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine to highlight an upcoming release you cannot wait to read.

This is my first time participating. This week, I'm choosing Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris - which comes out next week!! I wish I didn't have to wait so long between books! I was a little disappointed with the last book in the Sookie Stackhouse series, I hope this one will be better!

"With her knack for being in trouble's way, Sookie witnesses the firebombing of Merlotte's, the bar where she works. Since Sam Merlotte is now known to be two-natured, suspicion falls immediately on the anti-shifters in the area. But Sookie suspects otherwise and she and Sam work together to uncover the culprit - and the twisted motive for the attack. But her attention is divided. Though she can't 'read' vampires, Sookie knows her lover Eric Northman and his 'child' Pam well - and she realises that they are plotting to kill the vampire who is now their master. Gradually, she is drawn into the plot -which is much more complicated than she knows. Caught up in the politics of the vampire world, Sookie will learn that she is as much of a pawn as any ordinary human - and that there is a new Queen on the board . . . "

Anybody else been impatiently waiting the past year to read this? Anybody else been impatiently waiting for the next season of True Blood? I cannot wait!

Sunday, April 24, 2011

A Tale of Two Goblins blog tour!

I'm excited to have H.P. Mallory here today for the Tale of Two Goblins blog tour! H.P. Mallory is a great author, and I think that any paranormal fan will like the Dulcie O'Neil series. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to interview the author. Read on to learn more about this author and her wonderful series:

Hi, I'm HP Mallory and I've written two series, the first about a fairy in law enforcement (To Kill A Warlock and A Tale of Two Goblins) and the second about a witch who can bring back the dead (Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble and Toil and Trouble).

I'm a mongo fan of anything that goes bump in the night and Halloween is one of my favorite holidays! (Quick tangent--the best costume I've ever worn was last year when I went as the Headless Horseman and my baby was my Jack-O-Lantern head!) I've always loved the Twilight Zone Marathons and if I ever saw a ghost, I think I'd wet myself.

I grew up in California although I've lived abroad in the UK (England and Scotland--woo hoo, gotta love those kilts!)

I'd categorize my writing as a blend of suspense, humor, light horror, and romance with a sprinkle of fantasy to tie everything together! If you are all about fairies and witches and vampires (oh my!), you love a good alpha warlock and you like men who get a little hairy during a full moon, I got the goods.

Visit the author at her website:

What drew you to the paranormal genre?

H.P. - I love reading anything paranormal so I think it was a natural fit that I would want to write paranormal stories as well.

How do you come up with the ideas for your books?

H.P. - Well, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble sort of came to me. I just had this story I wanted to tell about an average girl becoming extraordinary! For To Kill A Warlock, I wanted to write a story about a very strong woman who has to learn to trust again.

Who designs your adorable book covers?

H.P. - Thank you! Well, I do but I do purchase the art as stock art and then I splice them together in photoshop and change hair and eye colors and add the text.

Do you have any hobbies?

H.P. - Well, it seems like lately I've just been writing because I have so many books I need to get out! LOL But when I'm not quite as busy, I love to travel.

How long does it take you to write a book?

H.P. - Luckily, I can write pretty quickly. Depending on the length of the book, maybe 2-3 months.

What your favorite book that you have written?

H.P. - Ooo man, that's a tough one. I do love Toil and Trouble but I also am very proud of A Tale of Two Goblins so I would have to say those two.

When does your next book come out?

H.P. - The next Dulcie book will be out in July. Then there will be a Jolie novella out in December. Then another Dulcie book out in Winter 2011 and the last three books of the Jolie series out next year.

What are you working on now?

H.P. - Now I'm working on the Jolie novella.

Awesome Opportunity:

The next stop on this tour is:
The Wormhole

To see the full blog tour lineup:
The Bookish Snob Promotions

Happy Easter Everyone!

Friday, April 22, 2011

The Vampire Relationship Guide Tour!

Today is my day to have author Evelyn Lafont here during her blog tour for Vampire Relationship Guide! This book is just hilarious! You can find my review just one post below this one. Check out this guest post from the author herself:


From Paranormal to Parahormonal

Okay, I don’t want to tell you how old I am, but I do want to say this: When I was a kid, most paranormal books didn’t have romance in them, they had death, attempted murder, spooks, and big ol’ houses built on ancient Indian burial grounds.

But some time during the late 1990’s to early 2000’s, the paranormal genre—that one which had previously featured scary paranormal goons ready to feast on your eyeballs and kick you out of their ancestral homes—moved into a whole new realm that I like to refer to as parahormonal. In the parahormonal genre, the big scary goons added a whole heap of sexy to their plate and made us normal chicks want to run screaming right into their arms, instead of away from them.

Luckily, this shift was completely innocent and had no victims…right? Okay, yeah, it definitely did. You wanna know who?

Mortal men.

When romance was a little less imaginative, regular old dudes had half a chance of keeping up with our alpha male heroes. But now? Oh, nuh-uh, men are so screwed. Let me tell you, if my husband tries to bite my neck during sex, I can pretty much guarantee I’m going to get really pissed off and that’s probably going to be a mood kill.

In addition to not being able to bite me like the heroes of my favorite paranormal romance novels bite their heroines, my husband also cannot defend me against a werewolf attack, fly, read my mind, invade my dreams to some sexy end, take me to an anti-gravity plane for anti-gravity sex, and so on.

So paranormal romance lovers, give your insignificant other a little extra lovin’ today to show him or her how much you appreciate his or her insufficient and pathetic attempts at sexing you up. Then, go open up your favorite paranormal romance novel and commence to swooning.

Evelyn Lafont is an author and freelance writer with an addiction to Xanax and a predilection for snark. Her debut novella, The Vampire Relationship Guide, Volume 1: Meeting and Mating is available on Amazon , Barnes and Noble and Smashwords .

Visit The Bookish Snob Promotions to find out what other stops are along this tour:
The Bookish Snob Promotions


For those following this tour, Evelyn is giving away an AMAZING opportunity for one lucky reader -

The chance to be a BETA READER for her
next installment of this fun series!

(For those unsure what a beta reader is, you get a sneak read BEFORE the book is released!)


Thank you for being here Evelyn, and I really enjoy your take on the parahormonal :)

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Review: Vampire Relationship Guide - Volume One

Josie wants what she's never been able to have--sex with a vampire. When she receives an invitation to a party thrown by one of the world's richest vamps, she doesn't stop to question her luck; she just jumps into her favorite stilettos and heads out to the event of a lifetime, secretly hoping that she'll come home with a party favor in the shape of a sexy coffin dweller.

But the great undead, much to Josie's chagrin, aren't just pale sexbots with pointy teeth waiting to satisfy her carnal desires; they are dangerous--and sometimes cranky. With a single-minded focus on fulfilling her sole sexual longing, Josie unwittingly entrenches herself in the twisted and sometimes antagonistic world of vampire relationships with no one to guide her, but herself.


This is a very funny, novella-length book. At only 90 pages, it is something that's great to read when you don't have a lot of free time. Josie is hilarious, I just love the way she thinks and they way she talks. She is a 32 year old bridal shop worker who is just dying to jump in the sack with a vampire. She suddenly lands herself dates with 2 different, sexy vampires. Unfortunately, when you date someone for what they are instead of who they are - you are probably going to end up very disappointed.

Josie is a little too ignorant, and a little too trusting - and lands herself in some deep trouble. She finds out that people, or vampires rather, aren't always what they appear. I wouldn't exactly call this book a romance, but it was very entertaining. There was one sex scene, so I would recommend this for ages 18+. I think that fans of the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris will enjoy this book. Be sure to come by on Saturday, because the author Evelyn Lafont will be here during her blog tour and I hear that there is an awesome opportunity that you won't want to miss!

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Review: Destiny Divided and a Giveaway!!


After fleeing her native city - and nightmares of a traumatic childhood - Sage Peterson meets the overbearing, pretentious, yet haunted Professor Elias. He's the only one who knows about her mysterious powers, which seem to be spiraling out of control. When he convinces her to train with him, she finds herself thrust into a five hundred year war and on the run from vampires, werewolves, and even worse - her budding feelings for James Elias.

James had been living a dull and empty existence for the past century and a half. When a fiery half-sorceress, half-witch with a stubborn streak and sharp wit enters his life, he sees her only as a potential weapon to use against his greatest enemy. But when he discovers the vulnerable woman beneath the angry mask, instinct screams to keep her safe. To protect and provide. And to claim her as his.

But will it be too late? As passion and lust ignite between them, vengeance is slipping away. And when Sage is confronted with fulfilling an unexpected destiny, will she choose to trust James with her heart?


This is a really good book, I really enjoyed it. I just love finding new authors and was lucky enough to have Leia Shaw contact me for a review. The character of Sage is not exactly a likable character at first. She has a major attitude problem, she lies, and she's a thief. However, these traits are due to a rough childhood. After she meets James, her attitude slowly tones down and she slowly warms up to him. Very slowly actually - which lead to some frustration on my end. There is a lot of sexual tension and you start to wonder if these two are ever going to get together. Of course, that is what kept me from putting down the book because I was just sure in the next chapter they were going to admit their feeling for each other, lol... Sage and James have a lot of differences, but somehow it just works. They are really good for each other and both bring out positive characteristics in the other. It's a fun book really - Sage's snarky comments bring out a lot of humor in the book. I'm really looking forward to the next book which comes out this summer. It features Marcello, who is a vampire in Destiny Divided that we got to see a little bit of, and I enjoyed his character. I really think that anyone who is a fan of paranormal romance would like this book, though because of some sexual content I would recommend this for ages 18+.

You can purchase this book at the following places:

Amazon (Kindle)
Smashwords (all other e-readers)
LuLu (print)

Find out more information about the author at her website:

Leia is generously offering a copy of her ebook Destiny Divided to one lucky winner! Just comment below with your email address, between now and April 27th. A winner will be randomly chosen on April 28th. Good luck!

New(ish) releases

I haven't had a lot of time lately to talk about new releases. Here are some of the many great new releases that have come out in the past month. The images are linked to Goodreads so you can add them to your TBR list if you haven't already :)

Forever Vampire by Michele Hauf


Vail the Unwanted is a pure-blooded vampire. But raised by Faery, he has neither home nor peace, and when his aid is sought in the recovery of a priceless diamond gown, his price is information. Specifically the whereabouts of his accursed father. His goal is revenge, and the supernaturally sexy Lyric, the icy blond vampiress with whom he must work, is a distraction he can't afford.

Outwardly as cold as the diamond dress in which she was kidnapped, Lyric has her own secrets. Desperate to break free from her criminal family, she aligns herself with the brooding Vail. Together they seek justice while each secretly works for freedom and a fresh start. For Lyric that means holding herself apart, even from the smoldering blue-eyed Vail. For Vail, it means a battle to the death for revenge—and for a temptress he can't deny.

All Romance

Fierce Dawn by Amber Scott


Snarling teeth, glowing eyes. Someone--something--is after her.

The man who haunts her dreams enters her reality, claiming she's transforming into a changeling--not quite immortal but no longer human.

Battlelines are drawn and blood spills as the two fight not only for her life, but for mankind's as well.


The Darkest Secret by Gena Showalter


Keeper of the demon of Secrets, Amun can manipulate the darkest thoughts of anyone nearby. But when new demons possess him, the immortal warrior must be chained and isolated to protect those he loves. Death is his only hope of release—until he meets Haidee, a fellow prisoner whose beauty and hidden vulnerability draw him into a reckless test of his loyalty…

Haidee is an infamous demon assassin, raised to despise Amun’s kind. Yet how can she hate the man whose touch sets her aflame? But to save him, she must give herself body and soul…and face the wrath of a powerful adversary sworn to destroy her.


Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach


A haunted castle, a handsome young man dead for four hundred years, one heck of a scary portrait of a witch, and a treasure hunt -- not to mention a princess for a roommate! -- all await 15 year old American girl Caitlyn Monahan when she earns a scholarship to a French boarding school.

There are secrets behind the stone walls of Chateau de la Fortune, buried for centuries along with the mystery of who killed Raphael, the charming ghost who visits Caitlyn at night. But as Caitlyn unearths the history of the castle, nothing scares her as badly as the secret she learns about herself, and the reason she was chosen to come to the Fortune School.

And nothing breaks her heart as badly as falling in love with a dead guy.


Date with Death by Eve Langlais


She never expected to fall in love with Death.

Marigold has a date with Death, but when she foils his plan to take her soul back to Hell, she invites him to dinner instead.

Mictain, an Aztec god who now collects the dead for Satan, is baffled at his interest in the plump human who can see him. Intrigued--and in lust--he can’t help pursuing her. But things are never simple when gods are involved.

Lucifer, Lord of Hell tries to warn him away and even Marigold’s long lost father decides to butt in. But, despite the opposition, things heat up between them, and Marigold learns, when Death comes calling, it’s best to get naked and invite him into bed—and her heart.

All Romance

Betrayal by Mayandree Michel


At seventeen, Cordelia is an ordinary teen with an extraordinary and frightening secret. A secret that induces vivid dreams which she not only experiences true love, but crippling fear while barely escaping with her life each night.

After a life altering event, Cordelia has an unexpected encounter with Evan, the mysterious boy from her dreams, who reveals who and what she is; a descendant of the Greek gods. At that moment everything she knows of her world is a lie, and she must leave the present and go into the past to assume the role she was put on this earth for; safeguarding her ancient empire amidst evil forces that toil hastily to destroy it.

In a race against time, Cordelia must decide if she is truly a part of this dangerous world, or risk defying the gods, and ultimately lose the boy who has put a claim on her heart.


The Geek Job by Eve Langlais


Protect the geek, that’s the job she’s been hired for, but little did this shewolf expect to fall for a man of science.

As a werewolf who hires out as a bodyguard, Lexie is paid well to perform dangerous jobs that sometimes involve taking off her clothes. When she takes on the protection of a science geek for a vampire clan, she doesn’t expect her temporary girlfriend status to come with lots of pleasure. But a geeky human who pushes all her right buttons—and plays her body oh so right—isn’t
reason enough for her to break the rules and fall in love.

Everything changes after an incident in the lab, but before she can decide if it’s safe to give him her heart, she has to help him survive.

Warning: Experimenting with a geek at home may cause uncontrollable lust.

All Romance

His Teddy Bear by Eve Langlais


Chubby Teddy, who is ironically enough a bear shifter, has finally found her mate. There’s one big problem though. He doesn’t like what he sees.

Reece never imagined his chosen mate would be a woman with extra curves, but all it takes is one taste to realize the benefits and turn his world upside down.

Their arguments are many, their lust for each other fiery, but while he’s ready to for the next step, Teddy keeps running. What will it take to win her trust and heart?

And an even better question; will they ever make it to a bed?

All Romance

Whatnots & Doodads by Stacey Kennedy


For Bryanna, a witch from the Asheville Coven, magic is on the fritz. Shunned by her coven and her boyfriend Layton for her unruly magic, she seeks a new life for herself. It just so happens, fate steps in and brings her to Strange Hollow--a place where being different is not only acceptable, but encouraged.

When Bryanna arrives in Strange Hollow, Zeke, a demon gone good, is burning with Hell’s fire over her. Not only has she set his world ablaze, but he’s found one soul he can save. He’s determined to free her from the insecurities that have damaged her soul.

Together they experience lava-hot passion as they weave their way through a tornado of emotions. But when Layton returns for her, will Zeke’s attempts to break the unworthy cage woven around her be enough to keep her in Strange Hollow forever?

Liquid Silver Books

The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong


Sixteen-year-old Maya is just an ordinary teen in an ordinary town. Sure, she doesn't know much about her background - the only thing she really has to cling to is an odd paw-print birthmark on her hip - but she never really put much thought into who her parents were or how she ended up with her adopted parents in this tiny medical-research community on Vancouver Island.

Until now.

Strange things have been happening in this claustrophobic town - from the mountain lions that have been approaching Maya to her best friend's hidden talent for "feeling" out people and situations, to the sexy new bad boy who makes Maya feel . . . . different. Combine that with a few unexplained deaths and a mystery involving Maya's biological parents and it's easy to suspect that this town might have more than its share of skeletons in its closet.


Sunday, April 17, 2011

Review: The Beast Within

With Nick’s secret now exposed, he and Ellie must run for their lives, pursued by the Governor and his Time Keepers. Will they be able to stay hidden or is their time nearly up?


The Beast Within is part 2 of The Time Keepers - a 4-part short story. Last month I reviewed part 1, which you can find HERE. These stories are really good - they just aren't long enough! I keep wanting to read more. In this part, we find out what Nick is but I won't spoil it by saying any more than that. Ellie is still being pursued, and they are still on the run. There is definitely an attraction building between these 2 characters and I can't wait to find out what happens between them. The Beast Within also ends with a cliffhanger, and part 3 comes out in May. The author was born in England and currently resides in Australia. This makes the story interesting for me because some of the words used in these stories are not what I'm used to hearing. Also, since the story isn't based in America, it's a nice change of pace for me.

You can find out more about Nicki Markus at her website:

You can also find her books on Amazon HERE

Friday, April 15, 2011

Autism Giveaway Hop Winner!

The Winner for the Autism Giveaway hop is...

Kristen @ Fun Being Frugal

Congrats Kristen, and thanks so much to everyone who participated in this hop!

Follow Me Friday!

Question of the week:

Do you have anyone that you can discuss books with IRL? Tell us about him/her.

Nope, I don't really have anyone in real life to discuss books with. Sometimes my husband and I talk about the books, we read - but we read completely different types of books. His favorite author is Vince Flynn. Anyway, I pathetically don't really have any friends. Because of my social anxiety, I tend to stay away from people. It's my own fault really. I can't help it though. That's why I love the blogging community and social networking sites like Facebook.

Review: A Tale of Two Goblins


A Dreamstalker— a creature that stalks and kills its victims in sleep.
A fairy in law enforcement determined to stop him.
A potions smuggler who possesses something she wants.
A vampire with his own agenda.
And a partner who couldn’t possibly be sexier or more frustrating.
Dulcie O’Neil is a fairy working in law enforcement for the Netherworld.
When Knight Vander approaches her with a case regarding comatose victims, she agrees to help him, imagining the most difficult part will be combating her attraction to him.
But, what Dulcie isn’t betting on is the fact that the case becomes personal when she learns all the victims are somehow linked to her.
When her best friend falls victim to the Dreamstalker, Dulcie must do everything in her power to ensure her friend’s survival, including associating with criminals and accepting the fact that desperate times do definitely call for desperate measures.


Another great book from H.P. Mallory! There is non-stop action and suspense through pretty much the whole book. Dulcie seems to get herself into quite the situations! She definitely proves what a great friend she is in this book by risking her life and doing some crazy things. She has also finally begun to see what a great catch Knight is. I liked him a lot more in this book. He wasn't as cocky, and he showed a caring side to him.

Now, one piece of advice: When reading a book about a Dreamstalker, who can kill their victims in their sleep, you might not want to read this right before going to bed. Just sayin' ... Anyway, this series actually kind of reminds me of Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series. Well, in the early days anyway when they were more about suspense and horror than sex. The heroine in both series are strong, stubborn women who work to solve cases, and both series contain a lot of thriller aspects. However, the Dulcie O'Neill series also incorporates a lot of humor to make them more of a light, fun read.

Here is a paragraph that just struck me as funny, and shows you the way that Dulcie thinks:

"Hydras were water serpents and they were known for their foul tempers, as well as their
multiple heads. Luckily, this nurse just had one—I’d never been comfortable making
conversation with more than one head—I never knew which one to focus on. And Hydras with
two or more heads—they could argue with themselves for hours. Trying to interview one
about a case wasn’t easy, much less, fun."

Just when the book was going in the direction I wanted, it ended! Authors are just cruel, huh? They either leave you with a cliffhanger, or end it once it gets really good. What am I supposed to do until the next book comes out??? Read her other series, I suppose :)

Oh, and make sure you stop by on April 24th - H.P. Mallory will be here as part of her blog tour!

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Winner of the Edie Ramer giveaway!

The Winner of the Edie Ramer giveaway is.....

Mandy @

Mandy, look for an email from Edie! For the rest of you, thanks so much for entering!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Review: To Kill a Warlock


The murder of a dark arts warlock. A shape-shifting, ravenous creature on the loose. A devilishly handsome stranger sent to investigate. Sometimes working law enforcement for the Netherworld is a real bitch. Dulcie O'Neil is a fairy. And not the type to frolic in gardens. She's a Regulator-a law-enforcement agent who monitors the creatures of the Netherworld to keep them from wreaking havoc in the mortal world. When a warlock is murdered and Dulcie was the last person to see him alive, she must uncover the truth before she's either deported back to the Netherworld, or she becomes the next victim. Enter Knight Vander, a sinfully attractive investigator sent from the Netherworld to work the case with Dulcie. Between battling her attraction to her self-appointed partner, keeping a sadomasochistic demon in check, and fending off the advances of a sexy and powerful vampire, Dulcie's got her hands full. As the body count increases, Dulcie finds herself battling dark magic, reconnoitering in S&M clubs and suffering the greatest of all betrayals.


This was a really good book! It contained a lot of different paranormal creatures, including a fairy, witch, goblin, vampire, etc... I liked the character of Dulcie, who is a fairy. She got out of a bad relationship, which has caused trust issues. Because of this, she hasn't even gone on a date during the past year. She somehow ends up having 3 different guys drooling after her. My favorite of the 3 is Knight, though Dulcie is reluctant to get too close to him (or anyone). I found myself wanting to see more happen between the two of them, I'm not sure why - half the time he was a jerk or cocky. Sometimes sparks just fly between 2 characters and you just have to go with it.

Not only does Dulcie work in law-enforcement, but she is also a writer. When her historical romance novel was turned down by publishers, it was suggested that she try the paranomal genre. I loved her reaction to that:

"Paranormals, I mean, come on. Who the hell reads those?"

Ha, ha, ha.... I think that was my favorite line. I'm not sure I've read a book where the main character is an author. I mean, it's the perfect thing for an author to write about. They know first hand about all the ups and downs of writing and getting published. It gives the reader a small glimpse of what being an author is like - all the rejection and feelings of discouragement. Anyway, Dulcie's main job is in law-enforcement - and because of that, there was lots action and suspense. There was a lot of humor in this book as well. Dulcie's sassy attitude contributed to a lot of entertaining moments. I absolutely love the covers of H.P. Mallory's books. I know you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, but when I saw this one I just knew it would be a fun and sassy read. I wasn't wrong!

Monday, April 11, 2011

Autism Awareness Giveaway Hop!!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Welcome to the Autism Awareness Giveaway Hop! Autism awareness is really important to me, because we have recently found out that our 7 year old son has Asperger's - which is a high functioning form of Autism. We didn't catch it early on - we just thought he had a lot of odd quirks about him. As he gets older, we are seeing just how differently he acts compared with other kids his age. His school is great - they have set up an IEP for him (Individual Education Plan). He sees a few special education teachers throughout his day, but most of his time is spent in his classroom. The one-on-one time that he has been getting is really helping. Considering that Autism affects 1 in every 70 boys, many of you may know families affected by it. Sometimes it's really tricky coming up with ways to help your child cope. The older my son gets, the more I'm afraid that kids are going to start making fun of him for acting different. Kids can be really cruel. I don't personally know anyone else with a child on the Autism spectrum and this hop is a wonderful way for us to connect! I am also up for hearing any tips or tricks you may have for helping your child cope!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

My giveaway is a $10 gift certificate to
This store has apparel and other autism related accessories

Just leave a comment here, along with your email address so I can get ahold of you if you win! The giveaway is open through April 14th. Please pass along and help us advertise this hop!

Good luck to everyone! Here are the other blogs that are participating in the hop:

Friday, April 8, 2011

Of Witches and Warlocks Blog Tour!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Guest Post: Love Letter

I have always pondered over what things Vance would have wanted to tell Portia during the two years he was secretly falling in love with her but unable to have contact with her. I often imagine him sitting down at his desk to write things to her, as a way to talk to her, since he didn’t really have anyone else he felt he could confide in about it at the time. Writing would have been a way for him to be completely open and honest about all of his feelings, without fear of repercussions. I don’t see him doing it everyday, but maybe once in a while when something struck him as being particularly poignant, and he felt he needed some sort of outlet. So, here is one of those letters for your enjoyment.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Dear Portia,

I passed you in the hallway today at school, something you don’t know that I occasionally go out of my way to do, just so I can hear the thoughts running through your head. I often feel like I live for those few moments. Even though I could, I try not to listen to your thoughts the rest of the time, though it’s hard not to. A lot of the time your energy just washes over and envelopes me. It’s an incredible feeling. I don’t want to invade the privacy of your mind, but when you see me, you think of me, and that’s a treat I can’t seem to make myself walk away from. I hope you’ll forgive me for that someday.

Today when I saw you I noticed that it’s becoming increasingly harder to pretend that I don’t recognize you. I want to stare at you. I want to drink you in from the top of your pretty black-haired head, to the tips of your cutely painted toenails. You’re so beautiful, so young and full of life, so untainted by the evils of the world. When you smile the whole room lights up like the sun just moved out from behind the clouds. It almost makes me believe that there still are good things to live for. Looking at you makes me wish for days filled with happiness and a life that could be normal. I don’t know if that will ever be a possibility for me, but for just one minute I’d love to live in your carefree world.

I almost laughed out loud at the thoughts I heard in your head today when I passed by you. You thought I looked “hot today, as usual,” and you wondered what I’d do if you gave into your baser instincts one day and just pushed me up against a locker and kissed me. Please, baby, give into that baser instinct! You might be surprised at what you get back! I’m not as indifferent to you as I’ve led you to believe.

Your thoughts monopolized mine for the rest of the day. All I could think of was how I would react if you ever actually did do something like that to me. Portia, you’ve had me tied up in knots for hours now and you don’t even know it.

My first thought was that I would grab you, turn you around and slam you back up against the lockers myself while I devoured your plump little lips. But then I figured we might draw a pretty big crowd with our hallway display, so I thought maybe I’d just scoop you up and kidnap you for the rest of the day, perhaps take you to my favorite little spot in the canyon. It’s beautiful there and then I could just lay you on the ground and kiss you for hours, taking my time about it, like I really want to do.

Now, as I sit here tonight, I’m wondering how you would react to my reaction. I wish I could ask you. Would you be surprised? Would you trust me enough to let me whisk you away without any warning? Or would it scare you, to find that I want you so badly that it nearly consumes me at times?

That’s right Portia, baby. I want you more than you could possibly know. Everyday I’m tempted to give in, to show you exactly how I feel, but I gave my word that I wouldn’t. If I’d have known at the time who you were, and how I’d connect with you, I’d have never spoken such a vow. But I did, so I’ll honor that promise because doing so will keep you safer from the evils that taint my life for that much longer. For now, I’ll just be content to bask in your innocence and to watch you from afar. But only for now Portia….

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Lacey Weatherford has always had a love of books. She wanted to become a writer after reading her first Nancy Drew novel at the age of eight. She resides in the White Mountains of Arizona , where she lives with her wonderful husband, six beautiful children, one son-in-law and their energetic schnauzer, Sophie. When she's not out supporting one of her kids at their sporting/music events, she spends her time writing, reading, blogging, and reviewing books.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Win a Kindle Treasure Hunt!

We want to reward all the wonderful followers of this blog tour, so what better way to do that than to give away a free Kindle and Of Witches and Warlocks Swag! Being entered to win is easy! All you have to do is follow the tour each day and search for the highlighted words in the post. There may be only one word on some days or two or more on others, so be sure to read the whole post. They could be anywhere…even in this description! Keep collecting the words each day to build a certain phrase. At the end of the tour on April 22nd, bring your completed phrase to The Delusional Diaries and submit it into the form to be entered into the Kindle drawing! Did you miss a day? No worries! Just follow the linky list on The Delusional Diaries to the post for that day and search for it. After you have submitted the special phrase, add up all the times you commented on the different posts during the tour and add that number for extra entries! Lots of chances! So come join in the FUN!

Click HERE for the next stop on this tour!

I'm really excited to be a part of this tour! I loved the first book - The Trouble With Spells. Read my review in my prior post below!

Review: The Trouble With Spells


Portia Mullins had always lived the life of a normal teenager, up until her sixteenth birthday. She is then informed by her grandma that she is actually a witch who is a descendant from a long line of witches and warlocks. After overcoming her disbelief she finds that being a member of the coven comes with one great perk in the form of the school's handsome bad boy, Vance Mangum. Vance and Portia have an immediate connection as a budding romance begins, only to be threatened by turbulent skies on the horizon as Vance's checkered past rears its ugly head to haunt them. Portia is forced to use her untried powers in defense of everything she loves in a desperate attempt to hold on to the one thing that really matters in her life.


This book was a nice surprise. Being almost 30 myself, I often feel that I am too old to read books in the Young Adult genre. I love them anyway though! This particular book had me hooked from the beginning. Portia finds out that she is a witch on her 16th birthday. Vance, who is a warlock, has fought an attraction to Portia for 2 whole years - waiting until she found out about her heritage before even approaching her. Poor Vance had such a tough childhood, and is such a lonely person. There is just something about him that makes your heart melt - he is perfect boyfriend material. Portia and Vance are both really mature for their age and are waiting for marriage to become intimate.They fall in love very quickly though, and there are plenty of romantic and passionate scenes in this book. There is also plenty of danger lurking
around to make things exciting. The ending has left me almost heartbroken. I absolutely cannot wait to read the next book in this series! I'm dying to know what happens next!!!

Through tomorrow, April 9th, you can get this ebook for free! Just go to and use promo code: VH57D

Tomorrow, Lacey Weatherford will be on my blog for part of her blog tour so make sure you come back and check it out!

Review: The Familial Witch


Lucien Lemione the clan leader of the feared and revered Eternals is faced with the ultimate betrayal. His second in command for two centuries has not only created the most grievous of offenses but also commissioned the creation of liquid silver. When poisoned by this toxin, an immortal suffers a fate much worse than death, frozen in an internal prison. After being wounded when found spying, he hides deep within the eerie woods that encircle the Triad Mountains. Desperate and in pain, he prays to an offended mother goddess for help. Her answer: a woman, but not just any woman. A witch.

After losing her entire coven at the hands of the Eternals, Aisleen is the last of her kind. She retreats from the world to Trinity Forest where she is giving the opportunity of a lifetime, or perhaps a test of principles. It’s there she discovers the man she heals is the Eternal that wiped out her people. Although she is bound as a healer, she could be creative in her revenge. Aisleen knows who and what Lucien his…but does not speak of it. There can be no future with Lucien for she can only be with a mortal man. Even if she wanted to be with him, can she forgive the man that caused the genocide of her people?

Lucien must act quickly for the survival of his clan is at stake. However, Aisleen’s ethereal beauty and emerald eyes keep pushing those thoughts far from his mind. Determined to find out what secret she hides, he prolongs his time with her. When his people need him most what will he choose…duty, desire, or will he make his own fate?

You can choose love but you can’t choose destiny.


This is a short, novella-length book. Way too short, if you ask me, lol... I didn't wan't it to end. It's about a beautiful, lonely woman named Aisleen - who is a witch. She comes across a man who needs her help, but comes to find out that this man is responsible for the execution of her coven.
Being the wonderful person that she is, she saves his life and tends to his needs. She lets him stay with her not only so he can recover, but because there is a storm coming that eventually keeps them stranded inside her home. During this time, they develop feelings for each other - even though there are so many reasons they cannot be together. This is a beautiful story of forgiveness, trust, and a budding romance. The book ends all too soon - leaving you begging
for more and wondering if love can overcome any obstacle. Actually, in a panicked moment - I emailed the author asking if there is going to be a sequel, lol... I was happy to find out that the sequel is a full length novel that will hopefully be out in the Fall. I really loved Ms. Clark's writing, and I will definitely be reading more of her books in the future.

You can stalk, I mean find, Bri Clark in the following places:

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Follow Me Friday!

Yay, it's that time of week again where bloggers can connect with other bloggers. Today's question is:

Do you judge a book by it's cover?

Ok, yes...I confess! I am such a sinner, I don't know how I live with myself. If I'm at a store and I see a cover that doesn't appeal to me - I don't even pick it up and read what it's about. I have, however, bought books just because the cover was pretty. Why? It's hard to explain. Maybe it's partly because I am a member of the female species and therefore I am attracted to shiny pretty things. Reason #2 - I, being the book nerd that I am, collect books not only because I love to read but because they make my bookshelf look more attractive. Reason #3 - I am an aspiring Graphic Designer. I cannot help but be drawn to attractive things. My goal is to make things look good and I dream of designing book covers one day. Now to defend myself a little, I'm not as vein as this sounds. Really. Books are really the only things I judge. Heck, most days I throw my hair back in a scrunchie, wear jeans with men's t-shirts, and I have an aversion to makeup and jewelry. So, I'm not that much of a girlie girl - but when it comes to books I can't help but want pretty looking ones :) I can admit though that some of the "pretty" books I've bought ended up being really boring. Do I learn? No. Hey - look at that book over there! What a pretty cover! I have no idea what it's about but I'm gonna buy it anyway!

Review: Shepherds (King's X: Episode 3)


As the stories of two lifetimes converge, the two Shepherds begin to close in.

A great sacrifice keeps Broussard, Khali and Captain Shahin only one step ahead as they struggle to cross the Sinai.

While intrigue and unfathomable betrayal catch Molly and Detective Book in a fatal snare.

"Shepherds" is the 3rd of 4 episodes in the Crusades era story arc. Here is the final lead up to the explosive conclusion, when all questions will be answered in King's X Episode 4: "Thieves"


Episode 3 picks up from the end of episode 2. I like how these episodes smoothly pick up where the last left off, like it's a new chapter instead of a new book. The action, adventure, and mystery continue with this installment. This episode definitely keeps you on your toes - when you think you've figured it out, there comes a twist that keeps you guessing. A lot of things come to light in this episode that force you to look at different angles in the storyline, and keeps you wondering who's who. I have to admit, that a lot of the books I read don't require that much intellectual thinking. I normally choose books that are a fun, light read that you can just relax and get lost in. These books really make you think, which is a nice change of pace sometimes. When this episode ends, I am left feeling pretty confused - but that just makes me look forward to the next (and last) episode in this series that much more. I'm really excited to know how this story concludes.

You can find author Stephen Harper at the following places:

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Interview with Edie Ramer and giveaway!

Edie Ramer is an indie author of paranormal romances. Her ebooks include Cattitude, Dead People and Dragon Blues. I recently got the opportunity to ask her some questions! Here is the interview:

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Usually, the characters come first or the plot stems from something that fascinates me. The cat changing bodies with a woman plot in Cattitude came because I love my cat, and I wondered what that cat attitude would be like in a woman. For Dead People, I’ve been reading books about life after life for years, and I think that interest is why I wrote about a woman who talks to ghosts.

Dragon Blues started with my fascination with dragons. I think they’re glorious creatures. They flame plumes of fire and they fly. Hot and sexy. It took me three years to find a plot and a heroine to fit my dragon who turned into a man.

What do you like to do when you're not writing?

Mostly, I spend too much time on the internet. It’s an addiction. I also read, watch favorite TV shows, walk my two dogs. Go out to eat, movies, see friends and family. The usual. (Reading this, I think I should make something up that makes me sound more exciting.)

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

About twenty years ago. I was a voracious reader, and one day I started to write and write and write. And I didn’t stop. I was like Forrest Gump when he started to run. Unlike Forrest, I’m still writing.

Along the way to being an indie author, I sold short stories, nonfiction and greeting card verses. I had four agents, writing contest wins, and close brushes with traditional publishing. Self-publishing is the best thing I’ve done for myself.

What is the hardest part of writing?

For me, it’s the beginning of the book. I usually start a book with a premise, main characters and a sketchy idea of where the story is going. Some days writing is like trying to catch a sunbeam. When I reach the middle of the book, I normally have a better idea of the second half, and it goes more smoothly.

How long does it to you to write a book?

About four months, and that usually includes a couple of major revisions and minor ones. I’d love to get books out faster, but I don’t want to skimp on quality. My goal is to make every book better than the last.

Who are your favorite authors or books?

I have so many. In historicals, I love Loretta Chase and Mary Balogh. My critique partner, Michelle Diener, has her first historical suspense coming out in August, In a Treacherous Court, based on real people in Henry the VIII’s court. She’s brilliant, and I’m sure the series will be a huge success. I’m a friend of Lori Brighton, and I love her paranormal historicals and contemporaries. For romantic suspense, I’m a Cynthia Eden fan. Women’s fiction, Marilyn Brant. I just read an ARC of the first book of Jennifer Estep’s new YA Mythos Academy series, Touch of Frost. I loved it! I predict it will be a big hit.

What are you working on now?

I’m working on the second Haunted Hearts book (the first was Dead people). The hero is Joe, who was the heroine’s ghost best friends in Dead People. He’s fun to write, not as tortured as my usual heroes.


Thanks so much for answering my questions Edie! I always love to find out how authors get ideas for their books. I would love to be an author but I just don't have a very good imagination, lol... I think I'll stick with reading!

Edie has generously offered to give one lucky commenter an ebook of their choice. You can choose from one of the books below:


Dead People

To enter - leave a comment below and let us know which book you would like to win. Contest open through April 12th - a winner will be randomly chosen and announced on April 13th.

You can find Edie Ramer at: